Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

New roof, realign dish?


  • Please log in to reply
3 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jane8851

jane8851

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2011

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:38 AM

My husband put a new roof on the garage where the dish is. He put the dish back in the holes where it was and we get reception on all 3 satelites but I think maybe the signal is a little lower. Should I have someone come out and realign? Or does the fact that we get reception mean it's already where it's supposed to be?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,499 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:48 AM

If you get signal, it is close, but probably not the best it could be.

If your husband is handy, he could tweak the dish settings (azimuth and elevation only), but first check that the mast is perfectly vertical in the north south and east west planes.

You should only make very small adjustments to the AZ or EL and wait a couple of minutes for it to stabilize, then see if the signal is stronger or weaker on the point Dish screen.

If you do not feel comfortable doing this, call Dish, get the Home Protection plan, then call back and schedule a dish realignment (w/o HPP the service call would be $95 I believe its $15 with HPP).
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   boba

boba

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,580 posts
Joined: May 23, 2003

Posted 05 July 2012 - 06:50 AM

My husband put a new roof on the garage where the dish is. He put the dish back in the holes where it was and we get reception on all 3 satelites but I think maybe the signal is a little lower. Should I have someone come out and realign? Or does the fact that we get reception mean it's already where it's supposed to be?


Satellites are located 22,300 miles above the equator, new shingles under the foot of the dish change the locatipn of the dish. Even if it is mounted in the same holes that dosen't mean the new location is a perfectly aimed dish.
Yes you need a professional realignment. Reusing the same holes also may not give the strongest mounting that wood has already been used and the dish really should go into fresh wood.

#4 OFFLINE   jane8851

jane8851

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 13 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2011

Posted 05 July 2012 - 07:05 AM

Thanks all for the advice. I have the protection plan so I called for a realignment. Guy is coming tomorrow.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...