Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Transponder Maps: Domestic, LatinAm and SkyMex New Data 12/19/2012


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
417 replies to this topic

#326 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,051 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 05:55 PM

HoTat2 -
The best answers we now have:

1) Not just until D14 lights up, but for long, long, term - PR will be a part of Directv 'Domestic'

2) All the Beam PR resources on GLA will not be relinquished, but rather pressed into service to supplement the demand for Latin America services. Perhaps a new beam?

3) Current press releases talk about coming 'new technology'. The new technology in the background looks amazingly like a Slimline 3....


I can't recall for sure, but I thought one of the specs on d14 and d15 was that they would have some transponders to PR as well. I wonder if that's for additional, or backup, or that plans have changed.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#327 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,103 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:09 PM

I can't recall for sure, but I thought one of the specs on d14 and d15 was that they would have some transponders to PR as well. I wonder if that's for additional, or backup, or that plans have changed.


I am sure your memory is correct. Moving Puerto Rico to become a part of the US 'Domestic' network has been a long term plan. We are just witnessing the beginnings now. I would guess that plans have not changed but are being fulfilled. The Caribbean and Latin America both are huge markets, just begging for improved service.


#328 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,568 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:35 PM

D14 has beams for Puerto Rico listed? It seemed to me to be a side view like Alaska & Hawaii are on the CONUS sats.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#329 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 18,051 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 07:59 PM

D14 has beams for Puerto Rico listed? It seemed to me to be a side view like Alaska & Hawaii are on the CONUS sats.

Doctor j


I'll try and look latter if someone else doesn't beat me to it. I did say I think, not sure... :)

#330 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 November 2012 - 11:24 AM

D14 has beams for Puerto Rico listed? It seemed to me to be a side view like Alaska & Hawaii are on the CONUS sats.

Doctor j


No, PR is to have two fully overlapping spotbeams designated "B23" (even transponders) and "B24" (odd transponders) on D14 that will carry locals and redirected nationals to the island.

You even culled this data yourself from the filed Schedule S database in your post here back in late May;

http://www.dbstalk.c...300#post3023300

... The retransmitted CONUS TPN's #'s 9 thru 24 appear to be redirected thru Beam B-23 and B-24 also for Puerto Rico, and a separate Antenna C01 (TPN's 9 thu 24) for Hawaii. Alaska is covered by a "lobe" on the NATIONAL beam.
No specific spots for Hawaii. There is a spot for Alaska A-21 with one additional TPN for Alaska HD LIL's.



#331 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 November 2012 - 12:06 PM

HoTat2 -
The best answers we now have:

1) Not just until D14 lights up, but for long, long, term - PR will be a part of Directv 'Domestic' ...


Thanks;

But just to clarify by "until" I meant that (at least for) SW1 and 2 would carry the HD local and redirected nationals for PR.

2) All the Beam PR resources on GLA will not be relinquished, but rather pressed into service to supplement the demand for Latin America services. Perhaps a new beam?


That's what I meant, "relinquished," that is from PR service to other services in LA. I'm curious though what other services would be suited for Beam PR considering that as another poster here based in Colombia "egakagoc2xi" pointed out once on this topic that no one else in LA to his knowledge can even receive Beam PR's footprint outside of PR and maybe parts of the Caribbean.

3) Current press releases talk about coming 'new technology'. The new technology in the background looks amazingly like a Slimline 3....


I'd suppose so considering the current single slot 24 inch round dish would be useless for this. :)

#332 OFFLINE   egakagoc2xi

egakagoc2xi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 17 November 2012 - 02:47 PM

Thanks;

But just to clarify by "until" I meant that (at least for) SW1 and 2 would carry the HD local and redirected nationals for PR.

That's what I meant, "relinquished," that is from PR service to other services in LA. I'm curious though what other services would be suited for Beam PR considering that as another poster here based in Colombia "egakagoc2xi" pointed out once on this topic that no one else in LA to his knowledge can even receive Beam PR's footprint outside of PR and maybe parts of the Caribbean.

I'd suppose so considering the current single slot 24 inch round dish would be useless for this. :)


I just would like to point out that Beam PR only have 3 TP and most of the channel of PR are on BEAM Oeste (west) which everybody on LA can receive. All the channels from PR In the west beam are in SD MPEG-2. Those channels could go to SW1 and 2 and that resource could be used for the rest of Latam

#333 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 17 November 2012 - 04:38 PM

I just would like to point out that Beam PR only have 3 TP and most of the channel of PR are on BEAM Oeste (west) which everybody on LA can receive. All the channels from PR In the west beam are in SD MPEG-2. Those channels could go to SW1 and 2 and that resource could be used for the rest of Latam


From the TPN map for DLA and FCC filed info. for the G3C satellite, Beam PR is actually four transponders. Three wide band (2, 5, and 11) for MPEG-4 HD programming and one standard bandwidth one (Tp. 25) which carries MPEG-2 SD programs exclusive to PR and not available on Beam Oeste.

So I think if Beam PR were reassigned, Tp. 25 could be added to Beam Oeste for 16 transponders total. But the wide band ones only cover PR and North America, so I don't see how those could be re-utilized to benefit LA.

#334 OFFLINE   egakagoc2xi

egakagoc2xi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 17 November 2012 - 04:51 PM

From the TPN map for DLA and FCC filed info. for the G3C satellite, Beam PR is actually four transponders. Three wide band (2, 5, and 11) for MPEG-4 HD programming and one standard bandwidth one (Tp. 25) which carries MPEG-2 SD programs exclusive to PR and not available on Beam Oeste.

So I think if Beam PR were reassigned, Tp. 25 could be added to Beam Oeste for 16 transponders total. But the wide band ones only cover PR and North America, so I don't see how those could be re-utilized to benefit LA.


Sorry, you're right I was only thinking in the HD ones...3 with HD channels and 1 with SD MPEG-2 channels

#335 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 18 November 2012 - 02:40 PM

Hey gct;

Noticed the new PR transponder map is listing both TIDs 035 and 039 on SW1 as assigned to tp. 4 leading to two MPEG-4 HD channel groups of 6 each with VPIDs numbered 1010-1060 for 12 in all. :confused:

So their must be a mistake somewhere, but since I don't have access to the most recent TID --->TPN decoder matrices for the Spaceway transponders, I can't check of course.

#336 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,103 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 18 November 2012 - 05:52 PM

Hey gct;

Noticed the new PR transponder map is listing both TIDs 035 and 039 on SW1 as assigned to tp. 4 leading to two MPEG-4 HD channel groups of 6 each with VPIDs numbered 1010-1060 for 12 in all. :confused:

So their must be a mistake somewhere, but since I don't have access to the most recent TID --->TPN decoder matrices for the Spaceway transponders, I can't check of course.


The TID to TPN relationships are correct as shown. Don't have a good explanation for you, other than to note that in a test bed configuration like this, the engineers can play by any rules they wish.


#337 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 21 November 2012 - 11:44 AM

The TID to TPN relationships are correct as shown. Don't have a good explanation for you, other than to note that in a test bed configuration like this, the engineers can play by any rules they wish.


OK, thanks;

Just wanted to make sure someone didn't read the SW TPN decoder matrix wrong or something. :)

#338 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,103 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:36 PM

.

.

NEW HD CONUS CHANNELS IN TEST

None|No New HD CONUS Channels In Test
.
.
NEW HD CONUS CHANNELS ACTIVE
None|No New HD CONUS Channels Active
.
.
NEW HD-MARKET IN TEST
None|No New HD Markets In Test
.
.
NEW HD-MARKET ACTIVE
None|No New HD Markets Active
.
.
NEW HD LIL CHANNELS IN TEST
NET|NAME|CHL|NOTES0|NOTES1
14|*KFWD|52|A3 Dallas 52 KFWD MFX|MFX from KFWDDT-TV, 52, Dallas, TX
14|*KAZD|55|A3 Dallas 55 KAZD AZA|AZA from KAZDDT-TV, 55, Dallas, TX
14|*KYAZ|51|A3 Houston 51 KYAZ AZA|AZA from KYAZDT-TV, 51, Houston, TX
14|*WMLW|49|A3 Milwaukee 49 WMLW IND|Independent from WMLWDT-TV, 49, Milwaukee, WI
14|*WIWN|68|A3 Milwaukee 68 WIWN IND|Independent from WIWNDT-TV, 68, Milwaukee, WI
14|*WCGV|24|A3 Milwaukee 24 WCGV MNT|MNT from WCGVDT-TV, 24, Milwaukee, WI
14|*KCNS|38|A3 San Francisco 38 KCNS MFX|MFX from KCNSDT-TV, 38, San Francisco, CA
11|*KUNS|51|A3 Seattle 51 KUNS UNI|Univision from KUNSDT-TV, 51, Seattle, WA

.
.
NEW HD LIL CHANNELS ACTIVE
None|No New HD LIL Channels Active
.
.
NEW SD LIL CHANNELS IN TEST
None|No New SD LIL Channels In Test
.
.
NEW SD LIL CHANNELS ACTIVE
None|No New SD LIL Channels Active
.
.
HD OR SD LIL CHANNELS REMOVED
None|No Channels Removed
.
.
Keys in the Excel TPN Map:

  • Channels in the Excel TPN Map whose Names begin with an asterisk (*) are in TEST status
  • Channels shaded blue in the Excel are MPEG4. All HD channels are MPEG4, but SD channels can also be in MPEG4.



#339 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,103 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 21 November 2012 - 07:41 PM

Up to this week, we have had many Puerto Rico channels in testing status on SW1, SW2 and D5.

With today's TPN Map, many of those channels have now gone live. The transition of PR from G3C to the U.S. Domestic satellites is underway.


#340 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 22 November 2012 - 10:31 AM

Up to this week, we have had many Puerto Rico channels in testing status on SW1, SW2 and D5.

With today's TPN Map, many of those channels have now gone live. The transition of PR from G3C to the U.S. Domestic satellites is underway.


Yeah ...

Heard from the "other forum" the official launch date for Puerto Rico's transition to DIRECTV USA was today (i.e. 11/22/12).

Would have thought there would be some PR release of the event. But so far nothing but crickets, even on the DIRECTV PR web-site.

#341 OFFLINE   egakagoc2xi

egakagoc2xi

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2010

Posted 22 November 2012 - 06:00 PM

Yeah ...

Heard from the "other forum" the official launch date for Puerto Rico's transition to DIRECTV USA was today (i.e. 11/22/12).

Would have thought there would be some PR release of the event. But so far nothing but crickets, even on the DIRECTV PR web-site.


I got 11/29/2012 for the announcement

#342 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 22 November 2012 - 07:07 PM

I got 11/29/2012 for the announcement


Whichever the case, even though its outside your service area, appreciate whatever technical info. you can dig up on it down there, and please post it here.

In particular I'd really like to get a good look at the new dish PR going to use for this.

#343 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • Topic Starter
  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,103 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 22 November 2012 - 09:13 PM

I got 11/29/2012 for the announcement


Part of that 11/29 official announcement is supposed to be that for New users or Existing users who wish to upgrade, Directv will install an LHR24 for HD users and an LH25 for SD users. (Yes, an HD receiver for SD only subscribers.) Along with a Slimline 3?

Sounds to me like they are transitioning to a complete MPEG4 market...


#344 OFFLINE   Luispr14

Luispr14

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 23 November 2012 - 03:36 AM

I live in Puerto Rico and waiting for news of this long awited switch to DTV USA. An installer told me that the dish would be a Slimeline with 3 LNB's for old and new customers.We were expecting news of this this week but as I notice in your threads it'll be on the 29th.Another little bit of something is about to be announced is that the magazine for Puerto Rico(called Directv Zone) hasn't been posted for December

#345 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:51 AM

I live in Puerto Rico and waiting for news of this long awited switch to DTV USA. An installer told me that the dish would be a Slimeline with 3 LNB's for old and new customers.We were expecting news of this this week but as I notice in your threads it'll be on the 29th.Another little bit of something is about to be announced is that the magazine for Puerto Rico(called Directv Zone) hasn't been posted for December


:welcome_s

Glad to actually have a sub. on the island to keep us abreast of whats happening there!

Please post back in the future whatever new info. you can find out about the status and technical details of the transition. Particularly about the new sort of dish they'll be using for it.

#346 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 23 November 2012 - 11:16 AM

Part of that 11/29 official announcement is supposed to be that for New users or Existing users who wish to upgrade, Directv will install an LHR24 for HD users and an LH25 for SD users. (Yes, an HD receiver for SD only subscribers.) Along with a Slimline 3?

Sounds to me like they are transitioning to a complete MPEG4 market...


But then how would you guess 110w fits into the picture which is listed on the map as carrying some 26 Ku/MPEG-2 SD channels?

Wouldn't this new rumored "3 lnb dish" really need to be something in between a Slimline-3 and 5 to cover Ka 99 (programming), Ku 101 (for system info., guide data, FW updates, etc.), Ka 103 (programming), and Ku 110 (programming)?

#347 OFFLINE   Luispr14

Luispr14

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 23 November 2012 - 10:11 PM

Thanks for the welcome HoTat2. So far I can tell you guys that there are at least a 100 new channels either on a test phase or with an assigned number already. As soon as I get new info or an official letter or a call from DTV I'll post it here.

#348 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 November 2012 - 11:38 AM

... So far I can tell you guys that there are at least a 100 new channels either on a test phase or with an assigned number already. ...


By this do you mean that these new channels now appear in the guide but the receiver cannot tune to them (of course)?

#349 OFFLINE   Luispr14

Luispr14

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Oct 25, 2008

Posted 24 November 2012 - 12:50 PM

No I have a friend on the inside that is giving me the info from a meeting that DTV have for their CSR's earlier in the week. Us subs still in the dark for the most part

#350 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 24 November 2012 - 01:46 PM

No I have a friend on the inside that is giving me the info from a meeting that DTV have for their CSR's earlier in the week. Us subs still in the dark for the most part


OK;

And just to be clear, right now all DIRECTV subs there presently use a single satellite slot 24" round dish with the Latin America LNB aimed at 95w, correct?

Posted Image

http://www2.directvp...sorios?link=nav




Protected By... spam firewall...And...