Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Transponder Maps: Domestic, LatinAm and SkyMex New Data 12/19/2012


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
417 replies to this topic

#126 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,138 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 06 September 2012 - 04:41 PM

I suspect the carry laws came into play regarding the carriage of the channel in question.

~Alan


But does must carry mean it has to be in HD? Aren't you missing a local CW HD channel? Hope must carry makes it to your neck of the woods!

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#127 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,058 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 06 September 2012 - 05:52 PM

But does must carry mean it has to be in HD?


I was referring to the statement made below:

The agreement both satellite providers made with the FCC states that by February 2013, in any market where that provider carries any local station in HD they must offer all local stations carriage in HD. So if you live in a market with at least one local HD station expect them all by next February - but if you live in a market with no HD local carriage the satellite company can remain all SD. It is a "carry one, carry all" requirement - just like the rules for carrying SD.


My assumption is that WACP made it due to the agreement above. Otherwise, it probably would have stayed SD only.


Aren't you missing a local CW HD channel? Hope must carry makes it to your neck of the woods!


I'm missing ABC... The CW is SD only until next year.

I'm not sure HOW the agreement will affect me.

My ABC is SD OTA, but carried by Mediacom and Dish Network in HD via a special feed. To be eligible for the agreement above, it apparently needs to be broadcast in HD, so that should let ABC out...

The CW will apparently be broadcast OTA in HD, but given that it's currently a sub-channel of the local CBS affiliate, I have to wonder if it will be eligible for the law given that the station will have TWO HD channels.

Either way, it's potentially good news in that I may get The CW in HD, and hopefully in the effort to do so, they'll upgrade their equipment and give me ABC in HD as well.


~Alan

#128 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:05 PM

for gct... Network 602 Huntsville, AL - 103S SW1 Transponder 1 = 79 Transponder 3= 51. Not great signals for my LiL. I shouldn't even get a picture on the two locals that are listed on Transponder 3 with those readings.... yet I have great pictures on all locals. I think the transponders are listed wrong.
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#129 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:24 PM

for gct... Network 602 Huntsville, AL - 103S SW1 Transponder 1 = 79 Transponder 3= 51. Not great signals for my LiL. I shouldn't even get a picture on the two locals that are listed on Transponder 3 with those readings.... yet I have great pictures on all locals. I think the transponders are listed wrong.

Can you make pictures of these screens with signals on 99/103 ?

Can you use DTV Control program (from Internet) and read net/tid/etc by it ? Search for PDF MD-0058...: command manual.
You will need USB-Serial dongle for that. Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...

Edited by P Smith, 06 September 2012 - 08:56 PM.


#130 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 06 September 2012 - 08:41 PM

Can you make pictures of these screens with signals on 99/103 ?

Can you use DTV Control program (from Internet) and read net/tid/etc by it ?
You will need USB-Serial dongle for that. Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...


hmmm, my receiver and my computer are side by side... I will have to study up on this... don't know the program you are referrring to... I will try to figures it out....
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#131 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,138 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 06 September 2012 - 09:20 PM

I dunno in the compatibility section they list really OLD receivers. My laptop doesn't even have a serial port. Hard to find a laptop that does these days.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#132 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 September 2012 - 09:41 PM

I dunno in the compatibility section they list really OLD receivers. My laptop doesn't even have a serial port. Hard to find a laptop that does these days.

You will need USB-Serial dongle for that. Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...

USB-Serial dongle connecting to all NEW receivers via USB. Use a second in reverse if your PC have no UART.

#133 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,522 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 06 September 2012 - 10:32 PM

Can you make pictures of these screens with signals on 99/103 ?

Can you use DTV Control program (from Internet) and read net/tid/etc by it ? Search for PDF MD-0058...: command manual.
You will need USB-Serial dongle for that. Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...


Might this work? Put your receiver ip address into the <receiver ip> section below and outputs a long string of HEX values which correspond to different fields of channel information (which I'm still figuring out how to interpret).

I'm sure some here know exactly what it all says. :)

http://<receiver ip>:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#134 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,621 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 01:11 AM

Might this work? Put your receiver ip address into the <receiver ip> section below and outputs a long string of HEX values which correspond to different fields of channel information (which I'm still figuring out how to interpret).

I'm sure some here know exactly what it all says. :)

http://<receiver ip>:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83


Hey thanks that works; :)

For networked HD DVRs anyway.

Yeah, I need a program which can properly parse this long Hex string as well. But using my HR34 tuned to local KABC 7 as an example in the meantime and breaking it down manually. It parses this way for the string with my access card and RID hex equivalents removed for "X" of course :);

"0007FFFF1009FF10301032FFFF000A7E130907051F1C05000000000000000000XXXXXXXXXXXX53XXXXXXXXXXXX"

"00 07" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 7 KABC local)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an HD channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1030 Video PID

1032 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000A Network number (means #10 or the CONUS beam from 99c)

7E TID (#126)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
05 Hours
1F Minutes
1C Seconds
05 Day of Week

(Time is UTC)

00 00 00 00 ROM version IDs 0-3

00 00 00 00 00 STS IDs 0-4

XXXXXXXXXXXX CAM ID or Access card number (redacted)

53 Signal Strength (83)

XXXXXXXXXXXX Receiver ID (redacted).


  • tonyn likes this

#135 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,621 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 01:39 AM

hmmm, my receiver and my computer are side by side... I will have to study up on this... don't know the program you are referrring to... I will try to figures it out....


If your box is networked you may use the URL address Go Beavs just posted for any of the local channels on each of those transponders.

Post the results from the hex string (see my previous example) for the TID (between (00-FF) and Signal Strength (between 00-64) values.

P.S.- Make sure under your "Whole-Home" in the receiver settings the "External Device" option is set to "allow" in all categories.

#136 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,138 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 September 2012 - 05:18 AM

http://<receiver ip>:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83


That's what I used to use. I think that's why I was wondering why I would need a USB to serial dongle at the laptop connected to another USB to serial dongle at the HR24.

I wonder if all the serial commands are implemented. I know I had it saved as a favorite on my old iPhone so I could check the signal strength during storms.

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#137 OFFLINE   Go Beavs

Go Beavs

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,522 posts
  • LocationPortland, OR DMA
Joined: Nov 18, 2008

Posted 07 September 2012 - 07:13 AM

Hey thanks that works; :)

For networked HD DVRs anyway.

Yeah, I need a program which can properly parse this long Hex string as well. But using my HR34 tuned to local KABC 7 as an example in the meantime and breaking it down manually. It parses this way for the string with my access card and RID hex equivalents removed for "X" of course :);

"0007FFFF1009FF10301032FFFF000A7E130907051F1C05000000000000000000XXXXXXXXXXXX53XXXXXXXXXXXX"


Thanks for breaking that out for us HoTat2. I was too tired last night to put a whole lot of effort into it.

Genie, Hx2x, nomad
D* customer since Oct '99


#138 OFFLINE   hidefman

hidefman

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Dec 16, 2006

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:02 AM

If your box is networked you may use the URL address Go Beavs just posted for any of the local channels on each of those transponders.

Post the results from the hex string (see my previous example) for the TID (between (00-FF) and Signal Strength (between 00-64) values.

P.S.- Make sure under your "Whole-Home" in the receiver settings the "External Device" option is set to "allow" in all categories.


Ok, what a great group to help out with such good advice.

I have all my receivers networked for whole home using cat5 to my router, so I should be good to go.

Now, to be sure I am doing what I need to be doing... I should put the receiver channel on one of my local A3 LiL channels before entering the above link with that receiver's ip address into my computer to get the hex string, right?
5 LNB AU9 Slimline, SWM16, 1 - HR34, 2 - HR21-700, 2 - HR20-700, 1 - HR20-100, 1 H21, Networked cat 5, CE.

#139 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,621 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 08:57 AM

Ok, what a great group to help out with such good advice.

I have all my receivers networked for whole home using cat5 to my router, so I should be good to go.

Now, to be sure I am doing what I need to be doing... I should put the receiver channel on one of my local A3 LiL channels before entering the above link with that receiver's ip address into my computer to get the hex string, right?


Yep;

Remember NOT to simply post the entire string as your access card ("CAM") and receiver ID ("RID") hex equivalents are included in the string. ;)

#140 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,058 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 07 September 2012 - 09:56 AM

Might this work? Put your receiver ip address into the <receiver ip> section below and outputs a long string of HEX values which correspond to different fields of channel information (which I'm still figuring out how to interpret).

I'm sure some here know exactly what it all says. :)

http://<receiver ip>:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83


Interesting!

I wanted to play with that myself... but I can't get it to work.

I entered in "xxx.xxx.x.xxx:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83" in the address bar and all I got was:

{
"command": true,
"param": true,
"prefix": true,
"return": {
"data": "xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx",
"response": 244,
"value": 0
},
"status": {
"code": 200,
"commandResult": 0,
"msg": "OK.",
"query": "/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83"
}
}


I subsituted xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx for a bunch of numbers that I wasn't sure I wanted publicly or not.

~Alan

#141 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:02 AM

Interesting!

I wanted to play with that myself... but I can't get it to work.

I entered in "xxx.xxx.x.xxx:8080/serial/processCommand?cmd=FA83" in the address bar and all I got was:



I subsituted xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx for a bunch of numbers that I wasn't sure I wanted publicly or not.

~Alan

We don't need the long string - just parse it in Notepad (make new line after each few bytes - that mean start parsing by hands :) ) as HoTat2 did in post#134 and post first part with relevant info :

"00 07" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 7 KABC local)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an HD channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1030 Video PID

1032 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000A Network number (means #10 or the CONUS beam from 99c)

7E TID (#126)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
05 Hours
1F Minutes
1C Seconds
05 Day of Week


53 Signal Strength (83)


In bold above I marked the relevant info (HEX values). Please copy these without your altering.

Edited by P Smith, 07 September 2012 - 10:22 AM.


#142 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:05 AM

That's what I used to use. I think that's why I was wondering why I would need a USB to serial dongle at the laptop connected to another USB to serial dongle at the HR24.

I wonder if all the serial commands are implemented. I know I had it saved as a favorite on my old iPhone so I could check the signal strength during storms.

You didn't read my posts ...

I said : Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...

#143 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,621 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:06 AM

Just checked;

You may also substitute FA90 at the end of the URL to get the Signal Strength reading directly (00-64) for any given tuned channel.

#144 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:08 AM

I did mention: use MD-0058 PDF file for read how to use the commands.

#145 ONLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,621 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:22 AM

I did mention: use MD-0058 PDF file for read how to use the commands.


Or for quick access to those who want to study it;

The only thing is I don't know if there is a way to use the URL to enter additional parameters other than the default value of "none" implicitly encoded into the URL to get the Multi-Tuner ("MT") commands listed in the later part of the document to work.

Attached Files



#146 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Registered
  • 9,058 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:41 AM

COOL BEANS!!!


WALB (DMA #150, Network #513, Market #2)

"016A" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 10 WALB local)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an MPEG4 channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1010 Video PID

1012 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000F Network number (means xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

81 TID (xxxx)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
0F Hours
34 Minutes
10 Seconds
05 Day of Week

59 Signal Strength (89)


GPB (virtual DMA #150, Network #513, Market #2) (real DMA #50, Network 607, Market #96)

"000E" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 14 virtual local (GPB) channel)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an MPEG4 channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1020 Video PID

1022 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000E Network number (means xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

97 TID (xxxx)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
10 Hours
11 Minutes
2A Seconds
05 Day of Week

E14E Signal Strength (??????????)


*WTLF (DMA #106, Network #695, Market #184)

"0018" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 24 neighboring local CW (*WTLF) testing channel)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an MPEG4 channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1060 Video PID

1062 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000E Network number (means xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

39 TID (xxxx)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
10 Hours
1B Minutes
1C Seconds
05 Day of Week

E15E Signal Strength (??????????)


WLTZ-DT2 (DMA #127, Network #558, Market #47)

"0027" The major Hi/Lo tuned channel number (in this case ch. 39 neighboring local CW (WLTZ-DT2) channel)

"FF FF" minor Hi/Lo channel number (unused in this instance)

"10" Channel type tuned to ("10" means its an MPEG4 channel)

"09" The audio channel type ("09" means its AC3 in/outut)

"FF" Data type ("FF" means None)

1040 Video PID

1042 Audio PID

FFFF Data PID ("FFFF" means none)

000E Network number (means xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx)

46 TID (xxxx)

13 Years after 1993
09 Month
07 Day of Month
10 Hours
24 Minutes
09 Seconds
05 Day of Week

5F Signal Strength (??????????)


Edited by Alan Gordon, 07 September 2012 - 12:02 PM.


#147 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:53 AM

COOL BEANS!!!
WALB (DMA #150, Network #513, Market #2)
GPB (virtual DMA #150, Network #513, Market #2) (real DMA #50, Network 607, Market #96)
*WTLF (DMA #106, Network #695, Market #184)
WLTZ-DT2 (DMA #127, Network #558, Market #47)

Could you please delete irrelevant numbers ? At least present it as one row per channel ? Same format as gct or as in my post above.
It's hard to use ... Thank.

#148 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:55 AM

Or for quick access to those who want to study it;
...


URL would be enough ;).
It was posted here many times .... See that DTV Tips and Trick main post

#149 OFFLINE   cypherx

cypherx

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,138 posts
  • LocationPA - Berks County
Joined: Aug 27, 2010

Posted 07 September 2012 - 10:58 AM

You didn't read my posts ...

I said : Or using some program what could retrieve the data using TCP/IP connection...


Like... Internet Explorer, Safari, Chrome....


I could foresee writing a script that does it. I bet that's how some of this stuff is done. Script to store the data, send a channel change, retrieve the data again, store it... Rinse and repeat. Is that how Sixto does it?

- > Link to my setup thread< -

My  DirecTV HD WISHLIST:  NickJR, Nicktoons, Revolt.TV, FXM, We, Oxygen, The Hub, Fuse, GSN, Sprout, GAC, Esquire, BBC World News, Sundance, Up, Music Choice Play HD, Al Jazeera America, Military Channel, NASA

My DirecTV SD WISHLIST: MTV Hits, MTV Jams, Music Choice, Youtoo TV

 

---

HR44-500
HR24-200

 


#150 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,274 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 September 2012 - 11:03 AM

Like... Internet Explorer, Safari, Chrome....


I could foresee writing a script that does it. I bet that's how some of this stuff is done. Script to store the data, send a channel change, retrieve the data again, store it... Rinse and repeat. Is that how Sixto does it?


So, you did read it finally ? :D Good...

Yes. Any Inet browser will do.
No, Doctor J, gct and Sixto doing they job different way. But we could use your help (really ? where is your numbers ?) to verify parsing algos for system tables.

And , yeah - in that script you forgot very important step - tune to a channel first, then query info about it. Kidding - it's just to show you in return how no reading post and reply does lead to nowhere ...




Protected By... spam firewall...And...