Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Aren't we due for an OTA module?


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 614 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 06 July 2012 - 04:02 AM

We're in mid-summer now. I'm thinking the much-rumored OTA module for the Hopper should be coming out any day now.

Anyone know anything more? The all-knowing Google comes up empty.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Chris37

Chris37

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2010

Posted 06 July 2012 - 05:40 AM

I thought I read near the end of summer not 100% sure though.

Chris

#3 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 06:13 AM

Summer runs through Sept. 22. If it is expected near the end of summer, there is still a good 6 - 8 weeks to wait, if not longer.

#4 OFFLINE   moman19

moman19

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2004

Posted 06 July 2012 - 07:28 AM

I miss my OTA. I can live without it during the summer doldrums but three tuners is simply insufficient when I have three Joeys scattered throughout the house. Do the math. That's not even one tuner per TV!

During PTAT only two are available for 500 sat channels.
All I want is a Perfect DVR!

#5 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 614 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:19 AM

I miss my OTA. I can live without it during the summer doldrums but three tuners is simply insufficient when I have three Joeys scattered throughout the house. Do the math. That's not even one tuner per TV!

During PTAT only two are available for 500 sat channels.


Sounds like you really needed a 2 Hopper setup.

I've got plenty of tuners. I just want to clean up the picture for broadcast television. The pixelization issues on American Idol were awful - especially with the confetti raining down. Macro-block city. I recorded the same event OTA using my DTVPal, and the picture was perfect.

I don't really want the inconvenience of running two DVRs - really spikes my power bill, and it makes the setup complicated with all the other stuff I have attached to an aging audio-video receiver. I want that tuner module. That's all.

#6 OFFLINE   Lee Bailey

Lee Bailey

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:25 AM

Where on the Hopper would it connect to?
Equipment List
Dish Hopper
3 Joeys
Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP HDTV
OPPO BDP-83 Blu Ray Player
Marantz SR5004 AVR
Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 L/C/R Speakers
Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 Surrounds
SVS 25-31PC Subwoofer

#7 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:30 AM

I don't have any official information about the Hopper and OTA. Once information is available, I will provide an update. Thanks.

Where on the Hopper would it connect to?



#8 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:33 AM

Where on the Hopper would it connect to?


It will use one of the USB connections.

#9 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,638 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:34 AM

Where on the Hopper would it connect to?


When it becomes available what has been shown so far is a USB OTA single tuner module.

Recommend you hookup your OTA antenna to your HDTV's tuner to watch your OTA programs until it becomes available.

#10 OFFLINE   moman19

moman19

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2004

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:37 AM

Sounds like you really needed a 2 Hopper setup.

I've got plenty of tuners. I just want to clean up the picture for broadcast television. The pixelization issues on American Idol were awful - especially with the confetti raining down. Macro-block city. I recorded the same event OTA using my DTVPal, and the picture was perfect.

I don't really want the inconvenience of running two DVRs - really spikes my power bill, and it makes the setup complicated with all the other stuff I have attached to an aging audio-video receiver. I want that tuner module. That's all.


Two more good reasons why the OTA module makes sense:
- PQ is simply superior to the Sat counterparts.
- No need for cost/complexity caused by a second Hopper
All I want is a Perfect DVR!

#11 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,061 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 July 2012 - 10:06 AM

Two more good reasons why the OTA module makes sense:
- PQ is simply superior to the Sat counterparts.
- No need for cost/complexity caused by a second Hopper

I will see what you'll say when you'll pay for the OTA USB tuner $150.

#12 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 10:18 AM

I will see what you'll say when you'll pay for the OTA USB tuner $150.


Great point. Until we see what model is supported, there's nothing but a guess at what the OTA module might cost.

The 722K/922 modules were around $50 I think weren't they when they originally came out? Surely it won't be $150, but it could very well be $50+.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#13 OFFLINE   722921

722921

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 233 posts
Joined: Jan 03, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:46 PM

Wouldn't they be very similar to PC tv tuners?
Hopper feeds the 73" Mitz WD-73640 3D DLP/1080p (and 19" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 1 feeds the 62" Mitz WD-62628 DLP/1080P (and 16" Polaroid LCD/720p via RF)
Joey 2 feeds the new 40" Specter LCD black friday special
Dish America Pkg

#14 ONLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,061 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:51 PM

Wouldn't they be very similar to PC tv tuners?

Posted a picture of it; if you'll find Win or Linux driver for it - then use it with PC.

#15 OFFLINE   bigdog9586

bigdog9586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:33 PM

Wouldn't they be very similar to PC tv tuners?


The one I had on my Direct system set on top of DVR plugged into it and OTA antenna plugged into it. You could bring up the same guide Direct used and go to the OTA station without changing the input from sat to OTA. I loved mine and I'm sure Dish works about the same.

#16 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 05:00 PM

Wouldn't they be very similar to PC tv tuners?


Sure... but similar to the WiFi adapters... Dish only supports one specific model, and only loads a device driver for that... so you probably are not going to be able to just pick up any OTA USB stick and use it... which means Dish might pick up a cheap one OR might pick up an expensive one.

Until we know which one they are going to try and support, we'll just be guessing on cost.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#17 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 06 July 2012 - 08:52 PM

I highly doubt it'll be $150...

#18 OFFLINE   Lee Bailey

Lee Bailey

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: May 18, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:02 PM

It will use one of the USB connections.


I have doubts that USB 2 will be able to handle the data stream from an HD broadcast. Plus, now I would have to get my USB powered external hub attached, since I already use the 2 rear ports for the sling box and the currently non-functioning EHD.
Equipment List
Dish Hopper
3 Joeys
Samsung HL61A750 LED DLP HDTV
OPPO BDP-83 Blu Ray Player
Marantz SR5004 AVR
Ascend Acoustics CMT-340 L/C/R Speakers
Ascend Acoustics CBM-170 Surrounds
SVS 25-31PC Subwoofer

#19 OFFLINE   RasputinAXP

RasputinAXP

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,135 posts
Joined: Jan 23, 2008

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:07 PM

Your doubts are incorrect. USB2 handles the HD video stream perfectly fine. Has for at least 7 years.

"Belligerent and numerous."

Sometimes I update the Dish Network FAQ

AT200, Hopper & 360 via HDMI to Onkyo 505 to basement 42" Westy, Hopper via Comp-over-Cat5 to living room 42" Vizio with a Roku 3, Joey to Toshiba 32" LCD with a Logitech Revue. You want fries with that? Pull up to the 2nd window.


#20 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,918 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 09:34 PM

Even regular old USB can handle some OTA... The most bandwidth possible IF the entire OTA channel is devoted to a single channel is a little over 19 Mbps

USB is capable of 12Mbps, so couldn't handle that... but if you have an OTA that is doing 720p and multicasting 3 channels, one of them might be under 12 Mbps as a result.

USB 2.0 has WAY more capacity than required to deliver an HD signal from OTA.

They should be able to cleanly have a dual-tuner USB 2.0 stick, but I don't know if one exists OR if Dish would support it if it does.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...