Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Moving EHD from 622 to 722K


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tpbrady

tpbrady

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Sep 01, 2004

Posted 06 July 2012 - 12:44 PM

I have a customer who is having a hard time getting a straight answer from DISH CSRs. I have made the move personally about 3 years ago, so don't understand the confused approach from DISH. The only thing I can determine is that when the customer attaches the hard drive it says not authorized, which tells me the 722K hasn't received the authorization string from DISH and that seems to be the crux of the problem. Any thoughts? They also told him to unplug his receiver from the wall to do a hard reset so it would download L7.52. I don't know if L7.52 is in a full release yet, so betting a download on a hard reset seems a little unorthodox.

Tom

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Charise

Charise

    AllStar/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 885 posts
Joined: Jan 25, 2004

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:10 PM

Try the cold boot without having the EHD attached. Otherwise, I think the only thing that will work is having them send a hit to the 722k. I can move EHDs between my 622 and 722 without problems, and I don't think I have read of any difference in this area between the 722s and 722ks.

Good luck!

#3 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 06 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

The 622 and 722k have to be active on the same account at some point. If they both were, please have the customer provide me a PM with the account number so I can send the authorization to the receiver. This should remedy the situation. Thanks.

I have a customer who is having a hard time getting a straight answer from DISH CSRs. I have made the move personally about 3 years ago, so don't understand the confused approach from DISH. The only thing I can determine is that when the customer attaches the hard drive it says not authorized, which tells me the 722K hasn't received the authorization string from DISH and that seems to be the crux of the problem. Any thoughts? They also told him to unplug his receiver from the wall to do a hard reset so it would download L7.52. I don't know if L7.52 is in a full release yet, so betting a download on a hard reset seems a little unorthodox.

Tom



#4 OFFLINE   RoyS

RoyS

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2012

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:28 PM

Ray C, Tom B, emailed me this link to chat with you concerning my old 622 v my new 722 problems. Dish said the new 722k will not read my recordings made on my old 622. I am afraid to plug in one of my ehd's with 622 recordings. my email address is redacted or I can give you my phone number so we can chat to figure out how the 622 recordigs can be viewed using a 722. thank you, Roy

Edited by Stewart Vernon, 06 July 2012 - 04:55 PM.
posted personal info in public


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,890 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 06 July 2012 - 02:49 PM

Roy, you forgot to post your phone# :D And home address. ;)

#6 OFFLINE   Henry

Henry

    Retired Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,260 posts
  • LocationPine, CO
Joined: Nov 15, 2007

Posted 06 July 2012 - 03:09 PM

I moved my 722k from the art room (in the downstairs basement) to the living room (up one story from the basement).

My 622 went into the art room to replace the 722k.

The EHD stayed in the living room where it had had a very hard time talking to the 622.

My 722k had no problem finding and acknowledging my EHD (about half of the EHD space had 622 recordings on it).

Today, both the 722k and the EHD are working just fine ... much better than when the 622 was trying to work with the EHD ... and it doesn't seem to matter which receiver (722k or 622) recorded the program to the EHD ... everything plays.
VIP722kDVR (Living Room)
VIP211 (Bedroom)
VIP622DVR (Art Room)

DMA 18 (Denver)

#7 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,617 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 06 July 2012 - 04:57 PM

Ray C, Tom B, emailed me this link to chat with you concerning my old 622 v my new 722 problems. Dish said the new 722k will not read my recordings made on my old 622. I am afraid to plug in one of my ehd's with 622 recordings. my email address is redacted or I can give you my phone number so we can chat to figure out how the 622 recordigs can be viewed using a 722. thank you, Roy


Hi, and welcome to DBSTalk... I removed your email address from your post. We discourage posting personal contact info because you never know who will see your post and then spam you with unwanted contact.

Please feel free to post about your problem in this thread, though, and if you need assistance getting in contact with the Dish rep, feel free to ask that as well.

Meanwhile... when you plug in an EHD it should either work (yay!) or give you a popup that says something like "this has been connected elsewhere and will need to be formatted"... IF you see that popup, just hit cancel and unplug your EHD and no harm will be done.

IF you haven't tried yet, I would try... IF you have tried, and it doesn't work... you can call Dish and ask a CSR to "hit" your receiver with an authorization and sometimes that does the trick.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#8 OFFLINE   Ray C@DISH Network

Ray C@DISH Network

    Icon

  • DISH Representative
  • 914 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2010

Posted 07 July 2012 - 01:36 PM

The 622 family of receivers are as follows: 622, 722, 722k, 922, and Hopper. If any of these receivers are active on the same account, you can move the EHD to any of these receivers and it will be recognized and provide full functionaility.

The only time this will not work is when the receiver was active on a different account and the user attempts to connect an EHD used on a receiver from a different account.

If you have further questions, please let me now. Thanks.

Ray C, Tom B, emailed me this link to chat with you concerning my old 622 v my new 722 problems. Dish said the new 722k will not read my recordings made on my old 622. I am afraid to plug in one of my ehd's with 622 recordings. my email address is redacted or I can give you my phone number so we can chat to figure out how the 622 recordigs can be viewed using a 722. thank you, Roy






Protected By... spam firewall...And...