Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Internet access off the cloud


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 08 July 2012 - 11:11 AM

I have been reading the forums trying to determine how to make this connection. I want to have internet only in one room on the other side of the home. I have no attic access because the attic has been insulated with spray foam. I have a second wired cck, a pi and a broadband adaptor. I have located the cable run to the room. How do I set this up? Can I have two cck wired adaptors on the same network? My intention is to have a dedicated run to this room and stay off the cloud. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 July 2012 - 02:35 PM

What do you mean by a broadband adapter? There are three ways to get the Internet into a DECA cloud: white DECA with a PI connected back to a router, wired CCK, and wireless CCK (which can be connected wirelessly or wired).

Using a CCK or DECA you can attach that to a coax in that room and then connect the ethernet cord from that to a device or a switch. That will give you Internet access in that room. However, any devices connected that way will be accessing the Internet by first going through the DECA cloud.

Just be aware that if you connect to the Internet this way and are heavily accessing your local network or Internet via devices connected at that end, it could have a negative impact on MRV.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 09 July 2012 - 11:47 AM

Thanks for your reply! I already have a BB1MR0-01 installed and am using it to provide internet to my 4 DVR's and 2 HD receivers. My intention was to add another BB1MR0-01 to the switch I have attached to my router. I will use a DCA2SR0-01 on the other end of the coax along with a PS18DER0-03 for power. The cat5 cable will be plugged into a switch to run a gaming console and a BD-DVD.

Will this work?

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg


#4 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 8,821 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 09 July 2012 - 01:46 PM

Just for clarification, the coax to this room is only for network, not on the SWiM cloud to an H/HR?

Spending to stimulate the economy as fast as the credit cards will allow!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!


#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

That will work as long as that coax is not connected to the SWM network as Dennis implies in his post. It needs to be a straight run from the one room to the other. If it is a part of the SWM network, forgo the second CCK and just hook up the DECA with the PI.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#6 OFFLINE   SoCool

SoCool

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 304 posts
  • LocationSouth West Florida
Joined: Feb 16, 2007

Posted 09 July 2012 - 02:20 PM

Yes, this is an isolated run to the room.

4-HR24 100's, 2-H25 100's, connected Whole Home,

Sharp Aquos Quattron 3D LC60C8470U
Philips 42" Plasma w/Ambilight 42PF9630A/37, Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF531D/37,
Magnavox 42" LCD 42MF521D/37,
Sony STR-DE935, Bose AM-7, Bose AM-5,Yamaha YST-SW160 sub
2-Sony PS3
Sony BDP-N460 BD-DVD
Sirius Radio's: 3
DIRECTV subscriber since 1996, Premier Pkg





Protected By... spam firewall...And...