Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Considering Going from Unsupported Setup To DECA


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 05:20 PM

I have an unsupported deca-less setup with the following equipment:

SWM16 switch
2 8-way splitters (green label)
2 HR-24s
4 HR-20-100s/700s

I have 6 tuners on each of the splitters and a PI on one of the splitters.

I believe I need 4 DECAs for each of the HR-20s and 4 BSFs too?

Do I also need a DECA PI? Where does this go?

Finally, do I need something else to bridge the system to my network switch? I have several in the house so I can flexibility in where I connect the DECA setup to my home network.

FWIW, I am thinking of making the change because my setup is not always reliable. Sometimes I cannot see one DVR's playlist from another DVR and have to reboot them to get it to work. Maybe the change won't resolve this. Who knows?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Sixto

Sixto

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,975 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 July 2012 - 05:33 PM

Switch to 4-way splitters (less loss), one on each SWiM-16 port. Can also do one 4-way and two 2-ways which I think is even less loss, at least for 1 of the legs.
I'd power the SWiM-16 on the power port. I usually avoid powering thru the receiver legs.
4 DECA dongles for the non HR24s. The HR20-700 is easy to connect, the HR20-100 is tricky and there's a thread by VOS here that describes the connection.
No need for BSFs other then maybe the HR20-100 depending on how you hook it up (see the VOS thread).
Need CInema Connection Kit (CCK) to bridge to Internet. There's a Coax and Ethernet connection.

Good luck, it should work great.

Edited by Sixto, 08 July 2012 - 05:52 PM.

DirecTV: Genie, H25, CCK, GenioGo, SWiM-16 & SWiM-8, DECA to Gigabit Switch with FiOS (75/35)
FiOS: Roamio Pro's (2), Roamio Plus, Mini's (4) with Ultimate HD (My Roamio Thoughts)

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 05:56 PM

Here's the thread with a fair amount of info: http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=200573
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 06:12 PM

VOS, I did read that thread but there is either conflicting or inconsistent information. For example, what do I use to bridge to my home network, the DCCK? Also, can you confirm that I don't need a BSF?

In this thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203733 the OP talks about needing a BSF. I am not sure how his setup differs from mine.

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#5 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 392 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 08 July 2012 - 06:13 PM

I'm still having issues on supported, I changed for the same reason.

#6 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:18 PM

VOS, I did read that thread but there is either conflicting or inconsistent information. For example, what do I use to bridge to my home network, the DCCK? Also, can you confirm that I don't need a BSF?

In this thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203733 the OP talks about needing a BSF. I am not sure how his setup differs from mine.


A CCK is needed to bridge the DECA cloud to your home network. There are two versions: the wired CCK and the wireless CCK. The wired version needs its own coax and is then hardwired via Ethernet to your router. The wireless version is what you will get if you order it from DirecTV. This one can be installed in-line on a coax to a receiver and can connect wirelessly back to your router or it can be hardwired.

With regard to the HR20-100, when connecting a DECA, you may or may not need a BSF. It depends on how you hook it up. For all other DVRs that use a DECA, they are powered using the SAT1 input of the DVR. The HR20-100 cannot power the DECA from SAT1 so it needs to be connected to SAT2. So, if you have the DECA and between the DECA and receiver you have a splitter with the outputs going to the DVR, no BSF is needed. If you have the splitter first so one output goes to SAT1 and the other goes to the DECA which then in turn goes to SAT2, you need a BSF at SAT1.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#7 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:20 PM

VOS, I did read that thread but there is either conflicting or inconsistent information. For example, what do I use to bridge to my home network, the DCCK? Also, can you confirm that I don't need a BSF?

In this thread http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=203733 the OP talks about needing a BSF. I am not sure how his setup differs from mine.

This post: http://www.dbstalk.c...386&postcount=6

Has two ways, where one doesn't need a BSF, and the other does, "simply" because of the change to the placement of the splitter.
A.K.A VOS

#8 OFFLINE   dminches

dminches

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Oct 01, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 07:33 PM

Gotcha.

Do I need a second PI to power the DECA? I have one to power the SWM 16 switch. If yes, where does it need to be inserted?

DirecTV subscriber since 1994
HR44 (5 TB eSata) -> Runco LS-5 via HDMI

HR24-500 (2 TB eSata) -> Samsung 50" via HDMI
HR24-100 (1.5 TB eSata) -> Sony 50E2000 via HDMI
HR24-700 - owned (2 TB internal) -> Samsung LN32A550 via HDMI
HR20-100s - owned -> Sony Bravia 40"

 


#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,767 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:12 PM

Gotcha.

Do I need a second PI to power the DECA? I have one to power the SWM 16 switch. If yes, where does it need to be inserted?

Sort of depends on the DECA used.
If it's a white one that connects to a receiver for power, but is to be used without a receiver, then yes and 18 volt PI is needed and shown in "the thread".
If it's a [black] BB DECA or what's now called a CCK, it has it's own power supply.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,869 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 08 July 2012 - 08:20 PM

The 18v power supplies are pretty much impossible to get now. Use a cck instead of a DECA where power is needed.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...