Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV Locals - City By City (v3)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
376 replies to this topic

#241 OFFLINE   Tubaman-Z

Tubaman-Z

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 508 posts
Joined: Jul 30, 2007

Posted 11 November 2012 - 09:14 PM

Yes. 15-2 is provided by Directv.. in SD


To be clear:

I have an HR20-100 and the guide shows two 15-2's. One of them is the D* satellite broadcast (listed as KSMQ2) and the other is the OTA broadcast (listed as KSMQDT2). The D* provided 15-2/KSMQ2 is their carriage/rebroadcast of the OTA KSMQDT4/15-4. Does that make sense?

Kevin

My top 5 wishlist: 1) Free MRV HR to HR 2) Fix Channels I Receive so that it is accurate 3) > 50 SeriesLink 4) Usage of both internal and external drives concurrently 5) Support for other video providers as DoD (i.e. Hulu, CBS)   

DirecTV HR21-200, 2008 (DirecTV anniversary gift)
DirecTV HR20-100 (2TB eSATA), 2007
DirecTV since 1995

<><


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#242 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,953 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 12 November 2012 - 12:57 PM

To be clear:

I have an HR20-100 and the guide shows two 15-2's. One of them is the D* satellite broadcast (listed as KSMQ2) and the other is the OTA broadcast (listed as KSMQDT2). The D* provided 15-2/KSMQ2 is their carriage/rebroadcast of the OTA KSMQDT4/15-4. Does that make sense?


Thanks... that clarified my question better.


I gotta say... I really like the whole KSMQ2 label better than what they've done with my locals.

  • Instead of labeling my PBS as the station call letters (WABW), it's labelled GPB (Georgia Public Broadcasting).
  • Instead of labeling my ABC with call letters (WALB2) like they did your second PBS, they labelled it ABC.
  • Instead of labeling The CW affiliate with call letters (WSWG3), they labelled it CW.

Posted Image

To make matters weirder, when my locals launched, we had a neighboring market's ABC and The CW affiliates... ABC on channel #25 and The CW on channel #17. When DirecTV added the local NBC's sub-channel of ABC, they added the ABC affiliate on channel #11 (NBC's on #10) and deleted the neighboring market's affiliate, but when they replaced The CW, they left it on the same channel (#17) instead of moving it to channel #45 or #46.

#243 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,393 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 12 November 2012 - 02:14 PM

I have several stations that way.

my cw station is a sub channel of our cbs station.
Listed as CW instead of WNCT2

My PBS station WUNK is listed as
UNC

My pbs also offers a 2nd channel WUNK2 on Directv,
listed as
UNCEX

#244 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,953 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 12 November 2012 - 02:22 PM

I have several stations that way.

my cw station is a sub channel of our cbs station.
Listed as CW instead of WNCT2

My PBS station WUNK is listed as
UNC

My pbs also offers a 2nd channel WUNK2 on Directv,
listed as
UNCEX



Yeah... I don't like it that way.

I'd prefer WALB2 to ABC, WABW to GPB, and WSWG3 to CW.

Some people might prefer them to change all the major networks to this way, but not me.

#245 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,454 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 06:09 AM

Fargo, ND HD LILs are ACTIVE this AM

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#246 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 06:49 AM

Fargo, ND HD LILs are ACTIVE this AM

Doctor j


Available ChannelsNetwork Affiliate Local Channel # 3-Digit Channel #
(older receivers)
HD Channel
CBS KXJB 4 4
ABC WDAY 6 6
ABC WDAZ 8 8
NBC KVLY 11 11
PBS KFME 13
CW CW 14
FOX KVRR 15 15

The D* on line tool shows no PBS in HD. Is this correct?
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#247 OFFLINE   sprouts

sprouts

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Apr 01, 2010

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:12 AM

What a great way to start the day!!! :)

#248 OFFLINE   rmmccann

rmmccann

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 184 posts
  • LocationND, USA
Joined: Apr 16, 2012

Posted 14 November 2012 - 07:52 AM

Available ChannelsNetwork Affiliate Local Channel # 3-Digit Channel #
(older receivers)
HD Channel
CBS KXJB 4 4
ABC WDAY 6 6
ABC WDAZ 8 8
NBC KVLY 11 11
PBS KFME 13
CW CW 14
FOX KVRR 15 15

The D* on line tool shows no PBS in HD. Is this correct?


I checked this morning and PBS was in HD. CW was not.
If you judge a fish on its ability to climb a tree, you will live your whole life believing it is stupid.

#249 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 08:27 AM

I checked this morning and PBS was in HD. CW was not.


Cool. Thanks
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#250 OFFLINE   redfield99

redfield99

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:43 AM

Dr J's original post made no mention of CW being in HD in Fargo. Can I hope that it actually will be HD?

I am not home to check or verify listings, but a friend just reported that the guide shows the channel name twice with odd names for the HD channels (such as A3 instead of Fox). Hiding the duplicates does not make a difference.

Also reporting no sound on channel 4 (cbs).

#251 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:58 AM

The map has been updated. While doing it, I noticed that there are only three light blue areas (no locals-HD locals announced) waiting to go live. That leaves only thirteen markets unserved by DirecTV as well as one market in SD only (Zanesville, OH) and three areas where they receive SD locals but are outside of the HD spot beam.

Edited by Newshawk, 14 November 2012 - 01:46 PM.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#252 OFFLINE   twiseguy

twiseguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 168 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:16 PM

The map has been updated. While doing it, I noticed that there are only three light blue areas (no locals-HD locals announced) waiting to go live. That leaves only thirteen markets unserved by DirecTV as well as one market in SD only (Youngstown, OH) and three areas where they receive SD locals but are outside of the HD spot beam.



I believe the Big 4 + PBS HD are available in Youngstown Oh.

Check zip code 44444 (Mahoning County)

#253 OFFLINE   Newshawk

Newshawk

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,427 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2004

Posted 14 November 2012 - 01:45 PM

The map has been updated. While doing it, I noticed that there are only three light blue areas (no locals-HD locals announced) waiting to go live. That leaves only thirteen markets unserved by DirecTV as well as one market in SD only (Youngstown, OH) and three areas where they receive SD locals but are outside of the HD spot beam.


I believe the Big 4 + PBS HD are available in Youngstown Oh.

Check zip code 44444 (Mahoning County)


D'Oh! :bang I meant Zanesville, OH! First post corrected.

DIRECTV employee April 2004-November 2012.
The above comments are my own because I don't know if anyone would care about my opinions anymore.


#254 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 05:22 PM

Can any of you Fargonians verify that the networks are all broadcasting in DD 5.1?
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#255 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,909 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 14 November 2012 - 09:19 PM

The map has been updated. While doing it, I noticed that there are only three light blue areas (no locals-HD locals announced) waiting to go live. That leaves only thirteen markets unserved by DirecTV as well as one market in SD only (Zanesville, OH) and three areas where they receive SD locals but are outside of the HD spot beam.



The attachment is one tab (page) from the TPN Map Excel, which is updated at least weekly. You can see all the DMAs and the percentages in detail.

EDIT 2/28/13: PLEASE go to the TPN Map thread and use the most current DMA Listings and Data. Thanks!

Edited by gct, 01 March 2013 - 01:02 AM.



#256 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 15 November 2012 - 07:23 PM

Would a MOD be so kind as to start a Fargo thread in the HD Locals Broadcast Issues Forum? Thanks
Perhaps I Misremembered.

#257 OFFLINE   RML81

RML81

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 111 posts
Joined: Jul 03, 2011

Posted 16 November 2012 - 12:44 AM

A correction for the data: WRBU-TV in the St. Louis area is carried by Directv.

#258 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,953 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 16 November 2012 - 10:23 AM

I've been sick... will try and do updates tonight or tomorrow.

Thanks for your patience. :)

#259 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,953 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 16 November 2012 - 10:31 AM

Would a MOD be so kind as to start a Fargo thread in the HD Locals Broadcast Issues Forum? Thanks


Here you go!

#260 OFFLINE   I WANT MORE

I WANT MORE

    CowboySooner

  • Registered
  • 1,159 posts
  • LocationNorthern plains
Joined: Oct 03, 2006

Posted 16 November 2012 - 03:06 PM

Thanks.
Perhaps I Misremembered.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...