Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV Locals - City By City (v3)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
376 replies to this topic

#326 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:28 PM

Both 24 and 24-2 (Syracuse PBS) are 480i.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#327 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:40 PM

Both 24 and 24-2 (Syracuse PBS) are 480i.


Thank You!

Both Alan and I appreciate your help.

Please keep us posted as things transition with WCNY.


#328 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,984 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 10 March 2013 - 03:45 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)

Edited by gct, 11 March 2013 - 12:35 AM.



#329 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,018 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 11 March 2013 - 12:25 PM

Another Syracuse question. The CW affiliate, WSTQ, was only available in HD to cable customers for a long time, but then in January of this year, they upgraded the OTA signal to HD as a subchannel of the WSTM signal (WSTM is NBC downsampled to 720p on 3.1 and WSTQ is in 720p on 3.2). When the change was first made, we immediately began getting CW in HD on D*, but then about a week or so later, it changed to just a letterboxed and pillarboxed image and that's how it remains today. The station engineer doesn't know why D* at first picked up and passed through the HD signal but then stopped. He is having trouble getting an answer from D*. Anyone here have any insight?


Interesting story...


DirecTV finally got around to replacing my local ABC SD feed with an HD feed on November 28, 2012, but it wasn't until several weeks ago that I realized that ABC was being broadcast in 1080i HD via DirecTV. Apparently, the local NBC/ABC affiliate provides DirecTV/DISH, and the cablecos with an upconverted 1080i HD feed.

I may never would have known this had I not been told this while being asked about the PQ on the local NBC/ABC feeds, as they've started broadcasting ABC in HD OTA as well. NBC is 1080i OTA, and ABC is 720p OTA.

#330 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:56 PM

I'll check when I get home tonight. Just to let you know a little backstory on WCNY - the Syracuse PBS station. They have used their 24.4 subchannel as their HD feed, while D* has carried their 24.1 and 24.2 channels which are just SD. WCNY is currently transitioning to a new broadcast center and will also change their HD feed to the 24.1 channel. I think some of this is in progress this week. I've been checking but have yet to see any true HD on 24.1, but I've not paid attention to what resolution 24.1 has been coming through at. I'm hoping to soon turn on 24 and see an HD broadcast.


Another Syracuse question. The CW affiliate, WSTQ, was only available in HD to cable customers for a long time, but then in January of this year, they upgraded the OTA signal to HD as a subchannel of the WSTM signal (WSTM is NBC downsampled to 720p on 3.1 and WSTQ is in 720p on 3.2). When the change was first made, we immediately began getting CW in HD on D*, but then about a week or so later, it changed to just a letterboxed and pillarboxed image and that's how it remains today. The station engineer doesn't know why D* at first picked up and passed through the HD signal but then stopped. He is having trouble getting an answer from D*. Anyone here have any insight?


Thank You!
Both Alan and I appreciate your help.
Please keep us posted as things transition with WCNY.

Update: I've confirmed with the engineer at WCNY that they have completed all their changes and are now broadcasting in HD on 24.1 OTA instead of 24.4 but I've not seen any changes on D* and am still getting 480i SD on 24.1. I know D* picks up their OTA signal for retransmission, so why are we not getting it in HD yet? They must be downconverting it back to 480i - when will they start passing through the HD signal?

Same question for the CW affiliate WSTQ? When they first upgraded their OTA to HD back in January, it was in HD on D* for about a week, but ever since it's been back to SD and a really tiny picture at that - even smaller than 4x3 that's both letterboxed and pillarboxed. When will D* start passing through the WSTQ HD signal?

Is there a D* employee here that can help get these changes made? Thanks.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#331 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,493 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 01:47 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)


http://www.directv.c...nt/hd/hd_locals

My Directv website says 197 Markets have locals. 196 in HD. The Zaneville, OH Market 21 is SD only.

The "markets" listing has several market errors as you describe but the 196/197 count is correct as I know you are aware.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#332 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,493 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 01:53 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)


Davenport, IA ; Rock Island, IL ; and Moline, IL are listed as separate markets. They are in fact all one DMA. Lafayette, IL is left out of that list.
I've reconciled that list in the past and seem to remember another error but can't find it quickly.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#333 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,493 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 02:13 PM

Davenport, IA ; Rock Island, IL ; and Moline, IL are listed as separate markets. They are in fact all one DMA. Lafayette, IL is left out of that list.
I've reconciled that list in the past and seem to remember another error but can't find it quickly.

Doctor j


Burlington, VT and Plattsburg, NY is the other error.

The DIRECTV list has 198 HD "Markets" 3 duplications and 1 omission gives the correct # of 196 HD LIL DMA's!

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#334 OFFLINE   Chilcoot

Chilcoot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 142 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2008

Posted 01 April 2013 - 04:45 PM

After about a month trial separation, Anchorage ABC affiliate KYUR and Directv have decided to patch things up and give it another go, and so KYUR returned to the Directv family within the past few days.

#335 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,176 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:18 PM

Sometime in the last couple days, an iON affiliate went live in Nashville. Channel 28 in HD.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#336 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,562 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:38 PM

Sometime in the last couple days, an iON affiliate went live in Nashville. Channel 28 in HD.

Its actually only a virtual remap of ION East HD from channel 305; my DMA added it as well.

If you arrow over to the channel callsign in the Guide it should say ION-TV (Virt), only if you see something to the effect of WNPX-TV, 28, would it be the actual feed out of Cookeville, TN. There is only a few differences between the National ION feed and the local OTA version.
List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 7am-12:30am ET) DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)

DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25.99 ($30.99 with HBO) | 3=$36.99 ($41.99 with HBO) | 4=$45.99 ($50.99 with HBO) | All 5=$57.99 per month

My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500

#337 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,471 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:52 PM

They did the same in Scranton too. It seems they're doing it for all the markets where they never carried the local Ion station.

As for markets like NYC where they actually do have the local WPXN feed, they don't have the HD remap.

#338 OFFLINE   kcal

kcal

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2013

Posted 08 April 2013 - 08:34 PM

If I am eligible to get Distant Network for Directv what is the process?I checked on the website and it said I was eligible. would I need waivers if I am eligible?

#339 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,403 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 10 April 2013 - 08:02 PM

Same in Greenville NC on Ch 38 ION HD (virtual)

#340 OFFLINE   KSbugeater

KSbugeater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 03:10 PM

Lincoln/Hastings/Kearney DMA has changed the MyTV affiliate from ch 25 to ch 4. KSNB-4 MyTV was airing on ch. 4 in HD via DirecTV yesterday.

#341 OFFLINE   djzack67

djzack67

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 899 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 11 April 2013 - 10:39 PM

Epix. Yes.
Waiting for
BBCA HD

#342 OFFLINE   twiseguy

twiseguy

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 174 posts
Joined: Jan 31, 2011

Posted 24 April 2013 - 11:52 AM

4-24-13, Univision WQHS Ch. 61 Cleveland is now in HD on DTV

#343 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,493 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 24 April 2013 - 12:27 PM

4-24-13, Univision WQHS Ch. 61 Cleveland is now in HD on DTV

Yep, just updated gct's info

 

http://www.dbstalk.c...-4172013/page-5

 

Doctor j


MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#344 OFFLINE   Weather88

Weather88

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 13 posts
  • LocationHalfmoon, NY (Albany DMA)
Joined: Nov 13, 2012

Posted 07 May 2013 - 07:03 PM

The CW in the Albany, NY market, WCWN, has gone HD with DirecTV sometime within the last week. It's been available in HD OTA and via TWC for years, but DirecTV has finally started to carry the HD feed. I'm assuming it must be something to do with the new agreement with Sinclair.



#345 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 08 May 2013 - 11:02 AM

Update: I've confirmed with the engineer at WCNY that they have completed all their changes and are now broadcasting in HD on 24.1 OTA instead of 24.4 but I've not seen any changes on D* and am still getting 480i SD on 24.1. I know D* picks up their OTA signal for retransmission, so why are we not getting it in HD yet? They must be downconverting it back to 480i - when will they start passing through the HD signal?

Same question for the CW affiliate WSTQ? When they first upgraded their OTA to HD back in January, it was in HD on D* for about a week, but ever since it's been back to SD and a really tiny picture at that - even smaller than 4x3 that's both letterboxed and pillarboxed. When will D* start passing through the WSTQ HD signal?

Is there a D* employee here that can help get these changes made? Thanks.

An engineer from WSTQ has said that he's filed all the paperwork with D* for D* to pickup their new OTA HD signal but D* informed him they do not have satellite capacity to add it at this time. I'm sure this is also why we aren't getting PBS now that it's in HD OTA. Syracuse only gets 5 local channels in HD from D* - is that the max for an HD LIL market? Buffalo gets 9 HD local channels, so why isn't there room on the Syracuse spot beam?


Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#346 OFFLINE   stoutman

stoutman

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Feb 08, 2003

Posted 08 May 2013 - 09:18 PM

I have no inside knowledge and do not know the transponder numbers, but Sinclair also has a CW affiliate in Rochester which is not being broadcast on Directv. I assume that the capacity issue is at play too since the contract has been resolved.



#347 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,454 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 May 2013 - 11:13 AM

An engineer from WSTQ has said that he's filed all the paperwork with D* for D* to pickup their new OTA HD signal but D* informed him they do not have satellite capacity to add it at this time. I'm sure this is also why we aren't getting PBS now that it's in HD OTA. Syracuse only gets 5 local channels in HD from D* - is that the max for an HD LIL market? Buffalo gets 9 HD local channels, so why isn't there room on the Syracuse spot beam?

Not sure why there is a capacity problem for WSTQ's HD feed. While the TPN maps can't see the resolution of the signals, Syracuse, is listed as using SB Tp. 21 and 22 from D11 with 7 channels on Tp. 21, which based on your description 3 are only in SD, and 1 HD channel, WNYS (MNT) on Tp. 22. 

 

As for the issue with WCNY (24-1) I notice on the map that is a PBS station which also has a secondary sub-channel WNCY2 (labeled 24-2?). Now a few years ago on this forum I remember a poster explaining that the PBS stations are given one of two options by DIRECTV for signal carriage. Either the HD feed on their main OTA sub-channel may be carried alone, or to carry the main sub-channel in SD form (by down-converting the HD feed if necessary) along with a secondary sub-channel of the station's choice.

 

For instance here in So. Cal. we have a local PBS station, KVCR in San Bernardino (coincidentally also on virtual channel 24-1), which does this as well. The main OTA sub-channel is broadcast in HD (720p), yet DIRECTV only carries it in SD along with the station's secondary sub-channel 24-2 (FNX, First Nation's Experience) is carried as well.

 

And noticeably KVCR 24-2 was added at the same time a large number of other locals went HD on DIRECTV.

 

So the situation with WCNY like KVCR may be done by policy.

 

To note: DIRECTV also carries another local PBS station here, KLCS 58-1 Los Angeles, managed by the LA Unified School District along with one of its secondary sub-channels, 58-2. However while the main 58-1 is in SD off-air as well, the PBS policy option of allowing 1 main SD + a secondary SD sub may be the same here as well even though there is no HD feed for this station to select the other option.    


DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#348 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,177 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 09 May 2013 - 02:25 PM

WCNY has 4 OTA channels (24-1, 24-2, 24-3 and 24-4). They used to put the national HD feed on 24-4 and used 24-1 as their local programming. In March of this year they changed it so now the national HD feed is on 24-1. D* has always carried 24-1 and 24-2 but never 24-3 or 24-4. Since WCNY made their switch in March, we are still getting just 480i SD on both 24-1 and 24-2. The only thing that's changed is that the programming has changed some on 24-1 now that it's the national feed. So D* is obviously picking up the HD feed on 24-1 (as evidenced by the different programming) but are downconverting it to 480i SD. I really wish we'd get it in HD like they pick it up.


Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#349 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,454 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 09 May 2013 - 07:14 PM

WCNY has 4 OTA channels (24-1, 24-2, 24-3 and 24-4). They used to put the national HD feed on 24-4 and used 24-1 as their local programming. In March of this year they changed it so now the national HD feed is on 24-1. D* has always carried 24-1 and 24-2 but never 24-3 or 24-4. Since WCNY made their switch in March, we are still getting just 480i SD on both 24-1 and 24-2. The only thing that's changed is that the programming has changed some on 24-1 now that it's the national feed. So D* is obviously picking up the HD feed on 24-1 (as evidenced by the different programming) but are downconverting it to 480i SD. I really wish we'd get it in HD like they pick it up.

Though KVCR's main national feed has always been on 24-1 to my knowledge, otherwise the same situation exist here. KVCR has 4 sub-channels as well, and when 24-1 went HD (to 720p) many months back, it still remains in SD on DIRECTV. And during a recent surge by DIRECTV carrying local channels in HD, KVCR only added 24-2 FNX (programming geared toward native american Indians) which leads me to believe this is done by policy.

IOW, you may never get WCNY 24-1 in HD unfortunately.

KLCS has 4 OTA sub-channels as well ...

Edited by HoTat2, 09 May 2013 - 07:24 PM.

DIRECTV sub. since Sep. of '95


#350 OFFLINE   tomspeer46

tomspeer46

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 207 posts
  • LocationEastern NC and Adirondack Mtns, NY
Joined: Nov 17, 2011

Posted 10 May 2013 - 02:55 PM

Not sure why there is a capacity problem for WSTQ's HD feed. While the TPN maps can't see the resolution of the signals, Syracuse, is listed as using SB Tp. 21 and 22 from D11 with 7 channels on Tp. 21, which based on your description 3 are only in SD, and 1 HD channel, WNYS (MNT) on Tp. 22. 

They squeezed WNYS onto the the TPN/TID that carries the Burlington stations, so there is no room for more there.

I used to live in the Syracuse DMA, and received WCNY's HD feed on cable. It was excellent, and I understand why people would be disappointed in not getting it on DirecTV.  Luckily, in the markets I now live in, I get good HD PBS.


The Avatar is my curious neighborhood Otter.
My setup





Protected By... spam firewall...And...