Jump to content

Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV Locals - City By City (v3)


  • This topic is locked This topic is locked
376 replies to this topic

#321 OFFLINE   Chilcoot

Chilcoot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2008

Posted 01 March 2013 - 06:04 PM

KIMO was KYUR's old callsign up until 2010. It was sold and the callsign was changed to the current KYUR.

Thanks for the correction, sorry for the confusion. The station doesn't refer to its callsign often, and I forgot the change.

It's a terrible affilliate, does nothing for the community.

#322 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,853 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 06 March 2013 - 09:25 PM

We need a reality check from you folks in Syracuse, please.

The data is not clear in telling us if your PBS channel 24 is provided in HD or is only provided in SD. The records for your PBS/24 clearly show the channels as MPEG4 -- but you need to let us know what the payload resolution is.

The detective work is easy: with your receiver set to "Native On", select your channel 24. Then just notice what 'Resolution' indicator is lighted.

And let us know what you find..........


#323 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 March 2013 - 11:55 AM

We need a reality check from you folks in Syracuse, please.


I'll check when I get home tonight. Just to let you know a little backstory on WCNY - the Syracuse PBS station. They have used their 24.4 subchannel as their HD feed, while D* has carried their 24.1 and 24.2 channels which are just SD. WCNY is currently transitioning to a new broadcast center and will also change their HD feed to the 24.1 channel. I think some of this is in progress this week. I've been checking but have yet to see any true HD on 24.1, but I've not paid attention to what resolution 24.1 has been coming through at. I'm hoping to soon turn on 24 and see an HD broadcast.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#324 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 March 2013 - 12:01 PM

Another Syracuse question. The CW affiliate, WSTQ, was only available in HD to cable customers for a long time, but then in January of this year, they upgraded the OTA signal to HD as a subchannel of the WSTM signal (WSTM is NBC downsampled to 720p on 3.1 and WSTQ is in 720p on 3.2). When the change was first made, we immediately began getting CW in HD on D*, but then about a week or so later, it changed to just a letterboxed and pillarboxed image and that's how it remains today. The station engineer doesn't know why D* at first picked up and passed through the HD signal but then stopped. He is having trouble getting an answer from D*. Anyone here have any insight?
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#325 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,422 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 07 March 2013 - 01:02 PM

Available Channels
 
Network	Affiliate	Local Channel #	  3-Digit Channel #	HD Channel	   
CW	WSTQ	              14			   
PBS	WCNY	              24			   
PBS	WCNY2	              24			   
CBS	WTVH			                                 5	   
NBC	WSTM			                                 3	   
MNT	WNYS			                                 43	   
ABC	WSYR			                                 9	   
FOX	WSYT			                                 68

The recently reported "DEAD and GONE" LIL lookup channel Directv link has been revived.
This is the output for Syracuse, NY
In general I've found this accurate w/o very recent changes (weeks).

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#326 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:28 PM

Both 24 and 24-2 (Syracuse PBS) are 480i.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#327 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,853 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 07 March 2013 - 04:40 PM

Both 24 and 24-2 (Syracuse PBS) are 480i.


Thank You!

Both Alan and I appreciate your help.

Please keep us posted as things transition with WCNY.


#328 OFFLINE   Gary Toma

Gary Toma

    UNIX

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,853 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2006

Posted 10 March 2013 - 03:45 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)

Edited by gct, 11 March 2013 - 12:35 AM.



#329 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 8,759 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 11 March 2013 - 12:25 PM

Another Syracuse question. The CW affiliate, WSTQ, was only available in HD to cable customers for a long time, but then in January of this year, they upgraded the OTA signal to HD as a subchannel of the WSTM signal (WSTM is NBC downsampled to 720p on 3.1 and WSTQ is in 720p on 3.2). When the change was first made, we immediately began getting CW in HD on D*, but then about a week or so later, it changed to just a letterboxed and pillarboxed image and that's how it remains today. The station engineer doesn't know why D* at first picked up and passed through the HD signal but then stopped. He is having trouble getting an answer from D*. Anyone here have any insight?


Interesting story...


DirecTV finally got around to replacing my local ABC SD feed with an HD feed on November 28, 2012, but it wasn't until several weeks ago that I realized that ABC was being broadcast in 1080i HD via DirecTV. Apparently, the local NBC/ABC affiliate provides DirecTV/DISH, and the cablecos with an upconverted 1080i HD feed.

I may never would have known this had I not been told this while being asked about the PQ on the local NBC/ABC feeds, as they've started broadcasting ABC in HD OTA as well. NBC is 1080i OTA, and ABC is 720p OTA.

#330 OFFLINE   Indiana627

Indiana627

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,175 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2005

Posted 19 March 2013 - 01:56 PM

I'll check when I get home tonight. Just to let you know a little backstory on WCNY - the Syracuse PBS station. They have used their 24.4 subchannel as their HD feed, while D* has carried their 24.1 and 24.2 channels which are just SD. WCNY is currently transitioning to a new broadcast center and will also change their HD feed to the 24.1 channel. I think some of this is in progress this week. I've been checking but have yet to see any true HD on 24.1, but I've not paid attention to what resolution 24.1 has been coming through at. I'm hoping to soon turn on 24 and see an HD broadcast.


Another Syracuse question. The CW affiliate, WSTQ, was only available in HD to cable customers for a long time, but then in January of this year, they upgraded the OTA signal to HD as a subchannel of the WSTM signal (WSTM is NBC downsampled to 720p on 3.1 and WSTQ is in 720p on 3.2). When the change was first made, we immediately began getting CW in HD on D*, but then about a week or so later, it changed to just a letterboxed and pillarboxed image and that's how it remains today. The station engineer doesn't know why D* at first picked up and passed through the HD signal but then stopped. He is having trouble getting an answer from D*. Anyone here have any insight?


Thank You!
Both Alan and I appreciate your help.
Please keep us posted as things transition with WCNY.

Update: I've confirmed with the engineer at WCNY that they have completed all their changes and are now broadcasting in HD on 24.1 OTA instead of 24.4 but I've not seen any changes on D* and am still getting 480i SD on 24.1. I know D* picks up their OTA signal for retransmission, so why are we not getting it in HD yet? They must be downconverting it back to 480i - when will they start passing through the HD signal?

Same question for the CW affiliate WSTQ? When they first upgraded their OTA to HD back in January, it was in HD on D* for about a week, but ever since it's been back to SD and a really tiny picture at that - even smaller than 4x3 that's both letterboxed and pillarboxed. When will D* start passing through the WSTQ HD signal?

Is there a D* employee here that can help get these changes made? Thanks.
Mark

"We named the dog Indiana."
Family Room: HR24-100; WD10EVCS 1TB drive in Antec MX-1; connected via HDMI to Denon AVR-2313CI; 5.1 setup with Boston Acoustics A250 fronts, A225C center, A25 surrounds, ASW650 sub; video to Sony 52W4100 via HDMI; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
Bedroom: HR21-200 with AM21 & Philips PHDTV1 Antenna, HDMI to Dynex 32" TV; hardwired to Linksys WRT54G
(1) Slimline 3 LBN dish (2 lines direct to each HR2x. No multiswitch.)
D* since January 2003

#331 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,422 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 01:47 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)


http://www.directv.c...nt/hd/hd_locals

My Directv website says 197 Markets have locals. 196 in HD. The Zaneville, OH Market 21 is SD only.

The "markets" listing has several market errors as you describe but the 196/197 count is correct as I know you are aware.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#332 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,422 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 01:53 PM

So the question was, "Why does the Directv website show they have 197 DMAs with HD Locals and you guys only show 196?"

So after much head-scratching, I found the website has Davenport, IA and Moline, IL listed as two DMA's with HD Locals. Both cities do have HD Locals. But both cities are in the same DMA, #99 - Nielsen lists that DMA as 'Davenport IA/Rock Island-Moline, IL'.

So our 196 HD locals is correct! Yeah!

:)


Davenport, IA ; Rock Island, IL ; and Moline, IL are listed as separate markets. They are in fact all one DMA. Lafayette, IL is left out of that list.
I've reconciled that list in the past and seem to remember another error but can't find it quickly.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#333 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,422 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 21 March 2013 - 02:13 PM

Davenport, IA ; Rock Island, IL ; and Moline, IL are listed as separate markets. They are in fact all one DMA. Lafayette, IL is left out of that list.
I've reconciled that list in the past and seem to remember another error but can't find it quickly.

Doctor j


Burlington, VT and Plattsburg, NY is the other error.

The DIRECTV list has 198 HD "Markets" 3 duplications and 1 omission gives the correct # of 196 HD LIL DMA's!

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#334 OFFLINE   Chilcoot

Chilcoot

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Jun 22, 2008

Posted 01 April 2013 - 04:45 PM

After about a month trial separation, Anchorage ABC affiliate KYUR and Directv have decided to patch things up and give it another go, and so KYUR returned to the Directv family within the past few days.

#335 OFFLINE   LameLefty

LameLefty

    I used to be a rocket scientist

  • Registered
  • 12,059 posts
  • LocationMiddle Tennessee
Joined: Sep 28, 2006

Posted 05 April 2013 - 06:18 PM

Sometime in the last couple days, an iON affiliate went live in Nashville. Channel 28 in HD.

"Human sacrifice, dogs and cats living together... mass hysteria!"
Directv since 1997
Will Work for Beer


#336 OFFLINE   coolman302003

coolman302003

    2014 NBA CHAMPIONS!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,198 posts
  • LocationSoutheast
Joined: Jun 01, 2008

Posted 06 April 2013 - 03:38 PM

Sometime in the last couple days, an iON affiliate went live in Nashville. Channel 28 in HD.

Its actually only a virtual remap of ION East HD from channel 305; my DMA added it as well.

If you arrow over to the channel callsign in the Guide it should say ION-TV (Virt), only if you see something to the effect of WNPX-TV, 28, would it be the actual feed out of Cookeville, TN. There is only a few differences between the National ION feed and the local OTA version.

List of networks with HD VOD content available on DIRECTV   DIRECTV Customer Service Live Online Chat (available from 8am-1am ET)   DIRECTV Regional Sports Network (RSN) fee lookup tool (zip code required)
 
DIRECTV Premium Channel Pricing: 1=$13.99 ($17.99 for HBO) | 2=$25 ($30 with HBO) | 3=$35 ($40 with HBO) | 4=$43 ($48 with HBO) | All 5=$55 per month 
 
My Setup: 5-LNB SlimLine with SWM-16 | HR44-700 w/AM-21N | HR24-200 | H25-100 | H25-100 | C41-500


#337 OFFLINE   KyL416

KyL416

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,889 posts
  • LocationTobyhanna, PA
Joined: Nov 10, 2005

Posted 06 April 2013 - 04:52 PM

They did the same in Scranton too. It seems they're doing it for all the markets where they never carried the local Ion station.

As for markets like NYC where they actually do have the local WPXN feed, they don't have the HD remap.

#338 OFFLINE   kcal

kcal

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2013

Posted 08 April 2013 - 08:34 PM

If I am eligible to get Distant Network for Directv what is the process?I checked on the website and it said I was eligible. would I need waivers if I am eligible?

#339 OFFLINE   jamieh1

jamieh1

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,390 posts
Joined: May 01, 2003

Posted 10 April 2013 - 08:02 PM

Same in Greenville NC on Ch 38 ION HD (virtual)

#340 OFFLINE   KSbugeater

KSbugeater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 309 posts
Joined: Feb 17, 2005

Posted 11 April 2013 - 03:10 PM

Lincoln/Hastings/Kearney DMA has changed the MyTV affiliate from ch 25 to ch 4. KSNB-4 MyTV was airing on ch. 4 in HD via DirecTV yesterday.




spam firewall