Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

ASK DBSTALK: Sharing the 61.5 output between 5000 and 921 receivers


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   smooth28la

smooth28la

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Oct 07, 2002

Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:00 PM

Since I still want to record HBO/Showtime/CBS HD through my model 5000 setup, how do I share the two LNB outpout of my attenna on two receivers, when the 921 requires 2 inputs?

What would happen if one input has only 119 and 110 and the other one has 119/110/61.5 ?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   ibglowin

ibglowin

    Godfather/Supporter

  • Gold Members
  • 1,424 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2002

Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:12 PM

Since I still want to record HBO/Showtime/CBS HD through my model 5000 setup, how do I share the two LNB outpout of my attenna on two receivers, when the 921 requires 2 inputs?

What would happen if one input has only 119 and 110 and the other one has 119/110/61.5 ?




Tried it. Won't work. The 921 will balk and not allow the setings to be saved. You either need more outputs from the LNB or a new switch with more outputs.

#3 OFFLINE   Kagato

Kagato

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 412 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2002

Posted 15 January 2004 - 12:30 PM

Sounds like you need a SW-64. About $60 used on ebay, or about $95 new.

#4 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 15 January 2004 - 01:13 PM

Official word from Dish: both tuners must be looking at the same satellites otherwise it won't work.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#5 OFFLINE   dfergie

dfergie

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,166 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2003

Posted 18 January 2004 - 07:33 PM

What you are saying Mark is hooking one tuner to dish 500 and 61.5 and the other to dish 500 and 148 will not work?

#6 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 18 January 2004 - 07:38 PM

It will not work. Both inputs on the 921 have to be seeing the exact same satellites. There's no way around that.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#7 OFFLINE   dfergie

dfergie

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,166 posts
Joined: Feb 27, 2003

Posted 18 January 2004 - 07:50 PM

It will not work. Both inputs on the 921 have to be seeing the exact same satellites. There's no way around that.

Ok , thanks... there went that idea of getting both CBS's.

#8 OFFLINE   Mark Lamutt

Mark Lamutt

    Your Neighborhood Liasion

  • Registered
  • 12,527 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2002

Posted 18 January 2004 - 08:05 PM

You can still get both CBS's - cascade 2 SW21 switches off of an SW64 switch. with either 61.5 or 148 connected to the SW21s.

Or, wait for the DPP44, which will give you 4 satellite inputs on the one switch.
Mark Lamutt
markdl@dbstalk.com
Your DBSTalk.Com Community Liaison to Dish Network

#9 OFFLINE   krt

krt

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jan 20, 2003

Posted 22 January 2004 - 11:05 PM

You can still get both CBS's - cascade 2 SW21 switches off of an SW64 switch. with either 61.5 or 148 connected to the SW21s.

Or, wait for the DPP44, which will give you 4 satellite inputs on the one switch.


Mark,

Is the 61.5 + 148 configuration officially supported by dish on the 921? I ask because Dish had told me in the past that this configuration (SW64+SW21) was not officially supported to see both 61.5 and 148. This configuration works for the most part with the 6000 to get both CBSHD-E & W, but still has a few issues.

i.e. On the 6000, either 61.5 or 148 will be seen as an XX in the check switch screen, though all channels are there. The order the sats are connected determines which sat will be seen as XX. Channel up/down gets stuck on a channel duplicated on both 61.5/148, if both the duplicated channels are in the current favorite list. And occasionally, one may see a momentary lost sat signal screen for about one second when changing from a channel on the sat marked XX, to a channel on another sat.

The 501/510 does not display the XX on the check switch screen, though the receiver does have the other issues. Actually, the 501/510 does not see a momentary sat lost screen when changing from 61.5/148 to another sat. Instead, it displays a problem has been detected with your switch, and forces the user to do a check switch. Earlier 501 SW releases that supported the SW64/21 cascade did not have this issue. The issue started right after a software upgrade was downloaded to my 501 - P168, I believe. After this, I removed the SW64/21 cascade from the 501. By this time, all the SD channels I subscribe to were mirrored from 61.5 to 148. The current 501/510 sw has the same issue, as I was testing the second line for my future 921 using a 510.

Though, I will try this SW64/21 cascade on a 921 as soon as I can get one.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...