Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Clear skies, no obstructions complete signal loss


  • Please log in to reply
29 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   champion6

champion6

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Dec 06, 2004

Posted 28 July 2012 - 07:48 PM

Me, too. Eastern Arc. I am getting 77, but 72 & 61.5 are out.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   jsfisher

jsfisher

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 22 posts
Joined: Mar 23, 2003

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:04 PM

EA just now back for me.

#23 OFFLINE   renegade

renegade

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 30 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2011

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:23 PM

Severe weather moved through the Gilbert, AZ area a little after 7:30 pm MDT, disrupting the signal at the uplink center. About a half-hour later, the weather moved off and signal was restored.

Edited by renegade, 28 July 2012 - 09:57 PM.

Dish 1000.4 Eastern Arc: 61.5/72.7/77 with 119 wing dish
3 - ViP 211k/1TB external drive
Solo 508 DVR - Let's Pay More Fees! <-retired
Solo 301E <-retired

subscriber since 2/2000
AT200/Superstations/East-West distant nets
HD for Life since 3/2011
OTA antennas pointed at two markets: 32 channels
dedicated to getting Superstations in HD on Dish Network


#24 OFFLINE   MadScientist

MadScientist

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 256 posts
Joined: Nov 30, 2004

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:32 PM

I too had a complete signal loss 72 and 61.5 went out around 2045 today had to unplug the unit to get it back!

#25 ONLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,169 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:34 PM

There are a lot of storms in the NE as well, I have had several outages today as well.

#26 OFFLINE   EdJ

EdJ

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:55 AM

Severe weather moved through the Gilbert, AZ area a little after 7:30 pm MDT, disrupting the signal at the uplink center. About a half-hour later, the weather moved off and signal was restored.


It would be helpful if DISH had a backup site in a different location to upload in the event the primary site was having problems. I would hope that this is the case. It is just good business sense to not have to rely on a single site to upload everything.

#27 OFFLINE   tallstack

tallstack

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 08:31 AM

Ever since friday evening channel 122 syfi has been out for us here in nw wa. We keep getting codes 015 and 002 sometimes 004. Have called dish and one agent says they are having a problem with that channel and another can't figure it out so sending tech. Seems that we(Dish) are not all on the same page. so guess will pay the $15 for tech and see what happens. Not happy with all the problems we have been having with Dish lately!

#28 OFFLINE   tallstack

tallstack

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jan 10, 2007

Posted 05 August 2012 - 07:43 AM

So the Dish tech came out and found that the first installer used the old Directv mount and apparently Dish mount is different and the dish was moving around in the wind...probably still get charged $15 for call out but at least it works now.

#29 OFFLINE   EdJ

EdJ

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 169 posts
Joined: Jan 09, 2007

Posted 05 August 2012 - 07:48 AM

So the Dish tech came out and found that the first installer used the old Directv mount and apparently Dish mount is different and the dish was moving around in the wind...probably still get charged $15 for call out but at least it works now.


It does not make any sense to me that you would only lose one station if the dish was moving around. I would think that if the dish moved, you would lose everything.... :confused:

#30 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 40,266 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:58 AM

It does not make any sense to me that you would only lose one station if the dish was moving around. I would think that if the dish moved, you would lose everything.... :confused:

It depends on how it is aimed and where the channels are. The dish could move just enough to lose one satellite position and not another. Or weaken the signal from one satellite enough that stronger transponders would still be received and channels on weaker transponders would be lost.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...