Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Direct2PC Problem on one computer


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   abab

abab

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2012

Posted 14 July 2012 - 09:45 PM

Just got HR34 (+ 4 H25). Directv2PC works on my laptop but not on my desktop. Both see the HR34 on the network, but on the desktop it doesn't load the playlist (or Directv Cinema). Both computers run Windows 7. Both have Windows firewall off. Both have the same graphics engine, Core i3 on the laptop, Core i5 on the desktop. Both can ping the HR34. Both are hard wired to my router. From googling this problem I have also made sure Parental Lock is off, Windows Media Share is on. I am out of ideas. Help.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,894 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:24 PM

Check system, applications, etc logs in Win7; different codecs on the computers perhaps ?

#3 OFFLINE   abab

abab

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2012

Posted 14 July 2012 - 10:56 PM

Nothing in the logs, no error messages at the times I tried this. Codecs would effect playback. Problem is just that computer doesn't load the playlist from the DVR. I just checked on the DVR under Photo sharing and it sees my desktop computer (of course that is the other direction of data). So I have verified several ways that they are connected and can talk to each other (ping, etc).

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,894 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 July 2012 - 11:02 PM

Well, then try dbgview, spy++ or other debugging tools...

#5 OFFLINE   Dave from Kazoo

Dave from Kazoo

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 81 posts
Joined: Nov 28, 2004

Posted 15 July 2012 - 09:58 AM

Do you have vmware installed? It will cause problems.

#6 OFFLINE   abab

abab

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2012

Posted 15 July 2012 - 10:07 AM

I did have VMware installed but I was aware of the issue. First I disabled its network connections, didn't work. Then I just uninstalled it, didn't work. I may search for any remaining files or registry entries depending on how my clean install test goes.

I installed Directv2PC on another computer I have and it worked.

I put in a spare hard disk and restored it to my configuration one year ago, didn't work. That did have VMware on it however.

Now I am go to just install a clean copy of windows on that disk and see what happens. Will post back.

#7 OFFLINE   abab

abab

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jun 15, 2012

Posted 15 July 2012 - 05:14 PM

Something really weird here. First a summary.
Computer 1 has problem. Directv2PC runs but can't load playlist.
Computer 2, it works.
Just installed on Computer 3, it works.
So I go back to computer 1 and on a spare drive do a clean install of Windows 7. Directv2Pc runs, loads the playlist, plays programs but screen is green, audio plays.
Go back to computer 3 and it now it has the green screen. Worked one hour ago.
Computer 2 still works.

In all cases the network communications are OK both ways. I tried with only one computer on (other 2 off) in each case, no change. All 3 computers are hard wired to router, all have Intel Core CPUs.

I am beginning to think Directv2PC is just flaky, not worth the effort. Problem could also be in the HR34 software which is still "immature". Called Directv tech support, no help.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...