Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Why is my DVR still recording Viacom channels?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dondude32

dondude32

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 216 posts
Joined: Apr 03, 2003

Posted 15 July 2012 - 01:09 PM

Noticed that my DVR's are recording viacom channels with a 8 in front of channel number. Spongebob recording on 8299. It's recoding hours of directv logo. If channels are gone why would direct list them? Hate to delete series recording just to have channels come back and have to add them.:nono2:

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 15 July 2012 - 01:12 PM

The channels are not gone they're remapped. This is so that if a deal is done it will take very little effort to restore them. You could edit your lists for now and change it so that less record and are kept.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   mshaw2715

mshaw2715

    Breaking the mold

  • Registered
  • 834 posts
  • LocationSomewhere in Washington
Joined: Apr 21, 2006

Posted 15 July 2012 - 01:13 PM

You will probably have to cancel your season pass until the channels come back. They moved the channels up there so you could not lose your favorite channels when they come back and get moved into their normal slots.

Noticed that my DVR's are recording viacom channels with a 8 in front of channel number. Spongebob recording on 8299. It's recoding hours of directv logo. If channels are gone why would direct list them? Hate to delete series recording just to have channels come back and have to add them.:nono2:



#4 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,826 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 15 July 2012 - 02:03 PM

Noticed that my DVR's are recording viacom channels with a 8 in front of channel number. Spongebob recording on 8299. It's recoding hours of directv logo. If channels are gone why would direct list them? Hate to delete series recording just to have channels come back and have to add them.:nono2:


If you left your recording settings alone, all recordings would automatically pick up again as soon as they come to an agreement. (Which I still believe will happen at some point). The channels are just remapped until they work our their differences.

If you delete your series recordings, you will have to set them up again when the channels come back. You basically have to do nothing, besides deleting the recordings that don't contain anything.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#5 OFFLINE   GBFAN

GBFAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 334 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:26 AM

You can go into your to do list and delete the ones that are scheduled to record.

#6 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 16 July 2012 - 01:13 PM

I was kind of wondering this myself. I understand why they want to keep the channels in there so it doesn't screw up people's favorites, etc. but why not at least get rid of the guide data, or change all the listings so any first run recordings don't get made. Then when they get added back (hopefully) they can just put the guide info back and our current series recordings start working again.

You can go into your to do list and delete the ones that are scheduled to record.


Kind of a PITA if you have multiple shows recording across multiple DVRs. Like I have Workaholics and Southpark set up to record in my theater room, my wife has Teen Mom and 16 and Pregnant in the living room, Real World is set up in a bedroom, etc. Also if I cancel one, won't it just automatically record the next showing of the same episode, sometimes without even showing up in the scheduler? I know that happens a lot of the time with recording conflicts if more than 2 shows air at once. For example a lot of my wife's Real Housewives episodes can't be recorded during the first airing, they record on the second airing later that night. Usually the scheduler shows the first episode can't record because of a conflict but it doesn't show that the second airing is set to record, but it always ends up recording it.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#7 OFFLINE   GBFAN

GBFAN

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 334 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 16 July 2012 - 01:49 PM

Kind of a PITA if you have multiple shows recording across multiple DVRs.


Yes it can be a PITA. But it is a temporary fix. I record NASCAR and get a lot of the stuff I don't want..qualifying etc. I just check the todo list and clean it up once a week. Takes a few minutes of time. If it were my house, everyone would be responsible for there own crap they record. :grin: :):lol:

#8 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,705 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 16 July 2012 - 02:51 PM

I was kind of wondering this myself. I understand why they want to keep the channels in there so it doesn't screw up people's favorites, etc. but why not at least get rid of the guide data, or change all the listings so any first run recordings don't get made. Then when they get added back (hopefully) they can just put the guide info back and our current series recordings start working again.



Kind of a PITA if you have multiple shows recording across multiple DVRs. Like I have Workaholics and Southpark set up to record in my theater room, my wife has Teen Mom and 16 and Pregnant in the living room, Real World is set up in a bedroom, etc. Also if I cancel one, won't it just automatically record the next showing of the same episode, sometimes without even showing up in the scheduler? I know that happens a lot of the time with recording conflicts if more than 2 shows air at once. For example a lot of my wife's Real Housewives episodes can't be recorded during the first airing, they record on the second airing later that night. Usually the scheduler shows the first episode can't record because of a conflict but it doesn't show that the second airing is set to record, but it always ends up recording it.



Then get them after they record. You can do that from one playlist.

I have never not done some management of my DVR recordings with any DVR I have ever owned, so I have no issues with cleaning things up a bit.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#9 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 16 July 2012 - 03:09 PM

I understand, and that is what I am doing, but it's kind of a pain. As is dealing with my wife yelling, "Why is my teen mom recording just a DirecTV symbol". "DirecTV better be giving us a discount since I can't watch my shows." "Why the heck can't I watch the shows online now", etc.

It'd be much easier if the things just didn't record in the first place.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...