Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

using directv satellite to get OTA channels


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kmurali70

kmurali70

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Mar 24, 2008

Posted 16 July 2012 - 03:56 PM

I have suspended my directv account for 6 months, but i still have my receiver and dish, will i be able to use these to scan for digital OTA channels, instead of buying a new OTA HDTV antenna ?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,088 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 04:50 PM

No, but even if t wasn't suspended, you'd need an antenna.

#3 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 18,934 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 16 July 2012 - 05:02 PM

DIRECTV Plus HD receivers are NOT capable of scanning for OTA channels (whether active or inactive). Of course this assumes that you have an H®20 or AM21 to tune OTA channels in the first place.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,876 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:01 PM

DIRECTV Plus HD receivers are NOT capable of scanning for OTA channels (whether active or inactive).


Wrong, the HR34 can and does nicely.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,088 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 06:48 PM

Wrong, the HR34 can and does nicely.


But the HR34 is not called a DirecTV Plus HD Receiver either.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...