Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Is it possible to transfer recordings from old dvr to new dvr?


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:52 PM

I know this has been discussed many times and I should probably know the answer but I was never in this situation before. I have an r22 and will be upgrading to hd and getting an hd dvr. But I have tons of things on it that I don't want to lose on my current r22 that I will need on the new dvr. So is this possible and how would you do it?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:54 PM

Negative.


Kevin
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#3 OFFLINE   Kevin F

Kevin F

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,128 posts
Joined: May 09, 2010

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:54 PM

You can keep both receivers. Also, when you do, the R22 will become HD capable.

Kevin
Kevin

Good TV (Cable). Better TV (Dish Network). DirecTV.

My Setup

#4 OFFLINE   mkdtv21

mkdtv21

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 197 posts
Joined: May 26, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:56 PM

Thanks for the reply.

#5 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,487 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 16 July 2012 - 08:56 PM

I know this has been discussed many times and I should probably know the answer but I was never in this situation before. I have an r22 and will be upgrading to hd and getting an hd dvr. But I have tons of things on it that I don't want to lose on my current r22 that I will need on the new dvr. So is this possible and how would you do it?


They are tied to the original DVR, even if an external drive. One option is to keep the r22, though this will add $6 extra to your bill. The R22 would also become an HR21. You would have to keep the actual HD box for this to happen.

#6 OFFLINE   mobamoba

mobamoba

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: Aug 08, 2007

Posted 26 July 2012 - 07:39 AM

The other option - easy though time consuming - is to simply transfer the recordings using a real-time recording solution (like one of those USB to S-video/analog-audio converters that Pinnacle sells for like $40). That would allow you to move your recordings to a computer, save them as MPEGs or MP4s, and do whatever you wanted with them.

#7 OFFLINE   Rich650

Rich650

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 11, 2012

Posted 11 August 2012 - 11:07 AM

The Hard drives I have only have an E Sata input/output connection. Is it possible to transfer the recorded material to a computer for replay on a hd tv?

#8 OFFLINE   doctrsnoop

doctrsnoop

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 466 posts
Joined: Nov 20, 2007

Posted 11 August 2012 - 01:48 PM

The Hard drives I have only have an E Sata input/output connection. Is it possible to transfer the recorded material to a computer for replay on a hd tv?


Not really. Perhaps if you know an elite level encryptions specialist.

5 - HR22-100 4 via regular ethernet, 1 via DECA, 2 HR21-700 networked via regular ethernet, HR21-100 networked via DECA, H25-500
R15-500 Inactive, H20-600 (ECO 2.0) inactive,D11 (Humax LD2060) inactive
Slimline 5 w/ SWM8 parallel w/ SWM16 w/DECA

#9 OFFLINE   bpratt

bpratt

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 575 posts
  • LocationSalt Lake City, Utah
Joined: Nov 24, 2005

Posted 11 August 2012 - 02:05 PM

If you want to transfer your recordings to a PC and still maintain HD quality, you can use a device like the Hauppauge 1212. I transfer recordings all the time and then save them to a blu-ray disc or a DVD using AVCHD format. They can then be played back on a blu-ray player or viewed directly on your PC.

HR10-250   550G WD  6.4a
HR21-700   750G WD x087f AM21
HR21-700 2000G WD x087f AM21
HR44-500 2000G WD x0870
DirecTV since 1997


#10 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 11 August 2012 - 02:55 PM

If you want to transfer your recordings to a PC and still maintain HD quality, you can use a device like the Hauppauge 1212. I transfer recordings all the time and then save them to a blu-ray disc or a DVD using AVCHD format. They can then be played back on a blu-ray player or viewed directly on your PC.


Considering you still have to do it real time he's better off just watching what's on the DVR.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV




spam firewall