Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Audio Crackling (fuzzy, popping, crackling sound)


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,818 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:08 PM

Correct, picture is always 100% crystal clear.

Yes it occurs again with DVR at same exact spot.

DirecTV has sent a tech 5 times and he checked the ground and all good according to him. I'm no expert.

DirecTV has known about my issue for 3 months and they have known from day 1 that all TVs are affected.

The tech is case management certified. Take it for what's it worth.

DirecTV has stated they will NOT be sending a tech again. That was from a supervisor in case management.

I have no wall plates and I have no clue what a barrel connector is.

@Carl Spock That what is driving me crazy about this. And I'm not alone.

Others are reporting it at the DirecTV forums that litzdog911 linked to before.

We're all trying to help with a possible diagnosis.

The added information seems to reinforce that the source of your problem is NOT device-specific, rather, it is something in the "infrastructure" of your setup. It becomes a process-of-elimination road to the answer.

Since you indicated the techs were out multiple times...it's safe to assume that your Dish and multi-switches were checked one or more times as well.

The only other remaining variables are your audio system (which you indicate does not have this issue for Blu Ray sourced content) or your home cabling. The cabling is the only remaining item unique to the DirecTV source in contrast to a Blu Ray source. A simple short somewhere could corrupt the signal itself, but the audio and video would likely be affected.

Only the cables to and from the HD DVR to the audio system or audio system to the HDTV remain, and it appears those have been checked thoroughly.

So eliminating all of those possibilities based on your reports...I'm out of ideas at this point.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   war59312

war59312

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:11 PM

Well thanks for trying guys, is a stummer. :(

#23 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:13 PM

Repeatable by replay on the DVR...
No video glitches.
Digital signal all the way to the DVR

Assuming its not an issue with the program (we all would be getting it), something has to be introducing the glitch into the DVR while its is recording. I cant figure out why its not affecting the video, unless its so short, its actually being corrected by the DVRs video processor.

OP: If you have a UPS, can you disconnect everything from the DirecTv system except one DVR, one plugged into the UPS, and also plug the TV into the UPS, and run it completely off the grid? That would totally isolate it from your home electric.

I have had issues before at a house that had 240V service, and had part of the equipment plugged into one leg of the power, and other equipment plugged into the other leg. There was enough of a voltage differential between the two legs, as to cause an interaction through the interconnecting coax, which also was causing small arc's, which were appearing as pops in the audio, and a subtle "hum bar" on the video.

Another issue I came across once, was having a cable tv coax plugged into the same system as a satellite system, and there was a voltage on the cable TV cable that caused issues with the satellite.

Other than checking things like that, which are hard to track down, Im at a loss.

To check the dish ground, if you have a voltmeter, set it to A/C voltage at the lowest setting, and measure the voltage between the disconnected outer conductor of the satellte coax, and the ground tap on the outlet where the receiver is plugged into the wall. If you get any voltage between the two, the dish is not bonded correctly to the house electrical system.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#24 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 02 October 2012 - 07:47 PM

war59312, do you have these components on your system? They would be outside, running from the dish to the ground. The quad grounding block would be at your dish and the copper rod would be driven into the ground. Alternatively, the installer could ground your system to a water pipe running into the ground or even the electrical box (that would obviously be inside). Some RG-6 coax cables have an attached ground wire but most often the ground wire is separate. It is always green.

Posted Image

If you do have these components, do all the connections look good? Are they solid, corrosion free and clean?

I can't believe with the attention you've received that grounding was not fully addressed but if it wasn't, you need to hire a local antenna guy to take care of this. You can get the copper rod and quad block from Solid Signal for $11 plus shipping. He will have the green wire. Unless your dish is in a weird location, the install should cost you less than $75.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#25 OFFLINE   242424

242424

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 235 posts
Joined: Mar 22, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 08:02 AM

DirecTV has stated they will NOT be sending a tech again. That was from a supervisor in case management.


Sweet :confused:

#26 OFFLINE   onan38

onan38

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 247 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2008

Posted 03 October 2012 - 09:26 AM

Well thanks for trying guys, is a stummer. :(


War,What kind of internet do you have,DSL? Its a long shot but maybe the noise is a bad DSL filter connected to something.

#27 OFFLINE   war59312

war59312

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:05 PM

Repeatable by replay on the DVR...
No video glitches.
Digital signal all the way to the DVR

Assuming its not an issue with the program (we all would be getting it), something has to be introducing the glitch into the DVR while its is recording. I cant figure out why its not affecting the video, unless its so short, its actually being corrected by the DVRs video processor.

OP: If you have a UPS, can you disconnect everything from the DirecTv system except one DVR, one plugged into the UPS, and also plug the TV into the UPS, and run it completely off the grid? That would totally isolate it from your home electric.

I have had issues before at a house that had 240V service, and had part of the equipment plugged into one leg of the power, and other equipment plugged into the other leg. There was enough of a voltage differential between the two legs, as to cause an interaction through the interconnecting coax, which also was causing small arc's, which were appearing as pops in the audio, and a subtle "hum bar" on the video.

Another issue I came across once, was having a cable tv coax plugged into the same system as a satellite system, and there was a voltage on the cable TV cable that caused issues with the satellite.

Other than checking things like that, which are hard to track down, Im at a loss.

To check the dish ground, if you have a voltmeter, set it to A/C voltage at the lowest setting, and measure the voltage between the disconnected outer conductor of the satellte coax, and the ground tap on the outlet where the receiver is plugged into the wall. If you get any voltage between the two, the dish is not bonded correctly to the house electrical system.


I do have a UPS (CyberPower CP1500PFCLCD) but right now it is disconnected (has been for weeks now).

I will try everything you suggested probably this weekend. I work 16+ hours every day this week so don't have the time.

I don't have a voltmeter but pretty sure a friend does, will check with him this weekend as well.

Thanks for all the ideas.

war59312, do you have these components on your system? They would be outside, running from the dish to the ground. The quad grounding block would be at your dish and the copper rod would be driven into the ground. Alternatively, the installer could ground your system to a water pipe running into the ground or even the electrical box (that would obviously be inside). Some RG-6 coax cables have an attached ground wire but most often the ground wire is separate. It is always green.

If you do have these components, do all the connections look good? Are they solid, corrosion free and clean?

I can't believe with the attention you've received that grounding was not fully addressed but if it wasn't, you need to hire a local antenna guy to take care of this. You can get the copper rod and quad block from Solid Signal for $11 plus shipping. He will have the green wire. Unless your dish is in a weird location, the install should cost you less than $75.


Will check all of that out this weekend as will. Will hopefully get some help from a friend.

War,What kind of internet do you have,DSL? Its a long shot but maybe the noise is a bad DSL filter connected to something.


I have TWC, Road Runner. As in Cable. Never have had DSL and home phone is all with TWC, as in VOIP. Thanks for trying though.

#28 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,818 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 03 October 2012 - 05:27 PM

I continue to ponder your situation...but have failed to come up with any new ideas that haven't already been proposed by others or my previous posts.

I'm sure that is frustrating.

If I were in that situation...most likely I'd re-investigate all the cables/connections on the non-DirecTV parts first (especially since those appear to have been checked multiple times).

I'm reminded of a time several years back when I had a weird audio issue that I simply could not solve at first. After going back to square one with all the cables and connections, as I pulled off one of my audio cables, the end of it actually fell off. It had been there for a couple of years, and looked perfectly fine just looking at it. I replaced it, and my problem was resolved.

That's not to say this is your answer, but my lesson learned was not to assume any connector or cable is OK just based upon a visual inspection.

Wish I could help more.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#29 OFFLINE   war59312

war59312

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 04 October 2012 - 03:56 PM

Yes very frustrating and thank you all for trying to help.

I will be looking over all of this with a fine tooth comb come this weekend. Thanks for all the ideas.

Looks like DirecTV does indeed monitor their forums.

See latest email below that I just recieved a few minutes ago:

Dear Will,

My name is David and I'm from DIRECTV Technical Support. I saw your post in our technical forums that you made on 7/17/2012, and I wanted to find out some more information about your account and if the issue has been resolved.

First, I am sorry to hear that you are experiencing a technical issue with your service. DIRECTV is a highly reliable service year round and nationwide, so issues such as these are rare. I can assure you that DIRECTV will do everything we can to assist you in resolving this.

Will you please respond to this e-mail with your DIRECTV account number and phone number.

Additionally, are you still experiencing the issue? If so, have any of the symptoms changed? Please let me know any information you believe is petinent that is not included in any of the posts you made on the Technical Forums.

I look forward to hearing back from you soon Will.

Sincerely,

David S (ID 419129)
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist



#30 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2012 - 04:39 PM

Well that is good news. Glad to see they changed their mind about abandoning your issue.
I actually enjoy challenging problems like yours at work. Cant solve all of them, but when one does get solved after several others have tried, it gives you a good feeling.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#31 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,613 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 05:30 PM

[I]I have no wall plates and I have no clue what a barrel connector is.[/I]

A barrel connector is a short threaded fitting that allows two cables to be connected to make them into one cable length.

Question for all: How could you ground the DTV receiver by itself to the home wiring ?
Can you loosen a screw and attach a wire and then connect it to something else close by ?
Not an electrician and I do not know.
Would it possibly do any good ?

Thanks

Edited by jimmie57, 20 November 2012 - 08:32 AM.
spelling

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#32 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 October 2012 - 06:54 PM

I've had this issue where it sounds like a ripped speaker in the center channel and it can "pop". If I turn the channel it goes away and it's only in certain scenes. It happens to me maybe once every couple of months so I'm wondering if it's a bad spot on the HD or if it's just an encoding issue on that one show. I've never had it in a recording but the next time it happens I'll record the show and see if I can recreate it.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#33 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:04 PM

[I]I have no wall plates and I have no clue what a barrel connector is.[/I]

A barrel connector is a short threaded fitting that allows to cables two be connected to make them into one cable length.

Question for all: How could you ground the DTV receiver by itself to the home wiring ?
Can you loosen a screw and attach a wire and then connect it to something else close by ?
Not an electrician and I do not know.
Would it possibly do any good ?

Thanks


Best way to ground an individual receiver, would be to attach a ground block behind the receiver. Use a short coax from the receiver to the ground block, then attach the satellite coax to it. Run a green ground wire from the block to the ground terminal on a properly grounded wall outlet, or its center cover screw if its not a plastic outlet box. *IF* the dish is properly grounded and bonded to the house electrical system, this would be totally unnessessary. *IF* the dish is NOT properly grounded and bonded to the house electrical system, this might prove dangerous, as all build up on the whole satellite system would now be inside the house behind your receiver. A lightning strike nearby would follow the coax in the house, right to the receiver ground block, and more than likely vaporize the ground wire, and start a fire. Always best to ground outside.

I had lightning strike a tree about 20' from my 70 foot ham radio tower. It totally vaporized the ground strap (which was about the same size as three 12V jumper cables together, and about 3 foot long). None of the equipment was damaged. If it had been grounded inside, the house would be gone now.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#34 OFFLINE   jimmie57

jimmie57

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,613 posts
  • LocationTexas City, TX
Joined: Jun 26, 2010

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:09 PM

Best way to ground an individual receiver, would be to attach a ground block behind the receiver. Use a short coax from the receiver to the ground block, then attach the satellite coax to it. Run a green ground wire from the block to the ground terminal on a properly grounded wall outlet, or its center cover screw if its not a plastic outlet box. *IF* the dish is properly grounded and bonded to the house electrical system, this would be totally unnessessary. *IF* the dish is NOT properly grounded and bonded to the house electrical system, this might prove dangerous, as all build up on the whole satellite system would now be inside the house behind your receiver. A lightning strike nearby would follow the coax in the house, right to the receiver ground block, and more than likely vaporize the ground wire, and start a fire. Always best to ground outside.

I had lightning strike a tree about 20' from my 70 foot ham radio tower. It totally vaporized the ground strap (which was about the same size as three 12V jumper cables together, and about 3 foot long). None of the equipment was damaged. If it had been grounded inside, the house would be gone now.



Mercy ! That would be bad.

This would just be for long enough to test the ground of the receiver.

DirecTV customer since 1996 - Current :Slimline 3 SWM,   HR24-100 HDMI to 32" Sharp LED,
HR24-100 Component cables to 46" Samsung LCD & Optical Cable to Yamaha AVR, H21-200 HDMI to Yamaha AVR & HDMI to 52" Mitsubishi LCD


#35 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 04 October 2012 - 07:13 PM

Yea, short term would be ok as long as there are no storms around.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#36 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,650 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 05 October 2012 - 03:44 PM

war59312:

What brand/model HDTVs do you have?
Does the problem change depending on which audio connection you use to the HDTV?
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#37 OFFLINE   war59312

war59312

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 14 posts
Joined: Jul 17, 2012

Posted 05 October 2012 - 07:21 PM

Well that is good news. Glad to see they changed their mind about abandoning your issue.
I actually enjoy challenging problems like yours at work. Cant solve all of them, but when one does get solved after several others have tried, it gives you a good feeling.


Well this is good:

Response Via Email(David S (ID 419129)) - 10/05/2012 01:41 PM
Dear Mr. xxx,

Thank you for writing back with the requested information. I am very sorry to see that you are still experiencing this issue. I have forwarded your account information to our Case Management Team. I see that you were previously in their care, so you may already be familiar with this department. Our Case Management Team will continue to work with you until this issue is resolved. We are dedicated to resolving this for you. You will be contacted soon by a Case Manager.

Thanks again Mr. xxx.

Sincerely,

David S (ID 419129)
DIRECTV Resolution Specialist


war59312:

What brand/model HDTVs do you have?
Does the problem change depending on which audio connection you use to the HDTV?


I have two Sony HDTVs and 1 standard def Panasonic.

Nope same problem no matter the audio connection.

#38 OFFLINE   twentysided

twentysided

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 5 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2010

Posted 06 October 2012 - 10:51 AM

I have a similar issue.

I have only noticed it on the movie channels, HBO and Max HD both have it - Max Comedy, East and West recently.

Titanic is one example I found (and recorded). Regardless of the level my system is set at, it will happen in specific situations and is easily repeatable by rewinding the program to the point at which the distortion or clipping appears.

When the score of the program would be at a peak, there is what I would call clipped track - it pops and crackles. I can repeat this at fairly high levels, and then replay it very low and still hear it at exactly the same points in the programming.

I found this on Titanic recorded from 516 today (basically now). An earlier playing of Titanic (when I first noticed) was on East I think 515 - had the same issue at exactly the same spots in the program.

I strongly suspect mine is an issue with the audio encoding in the program.

#39 OFFLINE   Carl Spock

Carl Spock

    Superfly

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,567 posts
Joined: Sep 03, 2004

Posted 06 October 2012 - 11:15 AM

I strongly suspect mine is an issue with the audio encoding in the program.

Something that repeatable, yes, I agree.

Your DirecTV signal is compressed. That's what mpeg4 is, a compression algorithm. You could be hearing that. The signal could also have been too hot. Hot is good. It's loud. It's bright, both visually and sonically. Content providers like hot. If the signal is too hot, you will hear that, too.

It would be interesting to download Titanic through VOD and see if you still have the same issue. Would the mpeg4 compression on VOD be the same as mpeg4 algorithm through the satellite? I don't know.
hangin' with the bros at 40 Eridani A

#40 OFFLINE   Jt1967

Jt1967

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Nov 19, 2012

Posted 19 November 2012 - 08:38 PM

Did you get the issue fixed ?
I have the same thing after my hr23-700 box took a dump.
They put in the hr24-200 (brand new out of the box), box is fast, pict is nice but the audio cracking and popping on high action sceens while in Dobly it's loud and drives me nutts.
For me seams like if I played at a higher volume the popping would hurt the speaker esp the center channel.
Switch to pcm and it's still there but pcm on this box is a lot lower in volume than DD.
Does it on almost every hd channel and esp the movie channels.
Does it on the Sony Home Theater system 5.1dd and the tv speakers.
Done the same things as you, and also tried all the audio outs, optical, coax, hdmi they all do it.
Also have tried new cables.
I am wondering if the software did not install correct in the box. After they came to swap it out about 2 hrs later it downloaded the latest software.
Audio is hooked right now with toslink optcial from the box to the Sony Home Theater.


Thanks
Bill

Edited by Jt1967, 19 November 2012 - 08:45 PM.





Protected By... spam firewall...And...