Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Problems recording 'The Dark Knight' and 'Batman Begins'


  • Please log in to reply
15 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:21 PM

The Dark Knight is on TNT on Friday. However if I try to record it I am asked to buy the DirectvCinema version.

Likewise if I try to record the live showing of Batman Begins which is on FX live now I find it also records the $ DirectCinema version.

It looks like both movies are on DirectVCinema AND either FX and TNT and the HD DVR defaults to $ DirectvCinema version.

I would like to record The Dark Knight on TNT on Friday - but currently this is not possible.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 17 July 2012 - 10:23 PM

Set it up as a manual record.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 17 July 2012 - 11:49 PM

I will probably do that.

That said it is a pain - I will also need to check I am not charged for the Batman Returns recording from FX tonight.

Hopefully not as there was no $ warning message - but it did show as a $ recording in my playlist......

#4 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 18 July 2012 - 12:26 AM

I just went to TNT in the guide and recorded it without an issue. I then did a smart search and had to scroll down to get to 245 and then it was setup to be ok.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#5 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 18 July 2012 - 12:27 AM

There are 2 versions of each right now due to the Dark Knight Rising coming out in theaters....PPV and free tv you can choose what one you record if you can work your dvr...

Edited by wahooq, 18 July 2012 - 12:33 AM.

My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#6 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 18 July 2012 - 06:51 AM

I just recreated the problem. Search and pick the TNT one and it asks to pay. If I pick in guide it says it added it to my playlist as PPV and it did. Once it was in playlist I could set the TNT version to record.

A bug. Call it into directv.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#7 OFFLINE   dcowboy7

dcowboy7

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,650 posts
  • LocationPequannock, NJ
Joined: May 22, 2008

Posted 18 July 2012 - 09:48 AM

BB & TDK blus are only $4.99 each @ best buy this week with their dvd trade in program.

#8 OFFLINE   HarleyD

HarleyD

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,275 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2006

Posted 18 July 2012 - 01:33 PM

I was wathching Batman Begins last night and had to get up and do something so I hit record while I was watching it and it put the DirecTV Cinema version into my now playing list.

I hit record a couple more times and the progress bar turned from green to red finally.

I went back into the Now Playing list. They were both in there so I just deleted the one for DirecTV Cinema.

I have not run into that before. I would have been pissed if I had not noticed and only had the version I had to pay for when I went back to watch it.
"Without deviation from the norm, progress is not possible."
--Frank Zappa

#9 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:34 AM

There are 2 versions of each right now due to the Dark Knight Rising coming out in theaters....PPV and free tv you can choose what one you record if you can work your dvr...


I can work my DVR......

As you can see others have replicated the problem.

#10 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 19 July 2012 - 12:54 AM

I just went to TNT in the guide and recorded it without an issue. I then did a smart search and had to scroll down to get to 245 and then it was setup to be ok.


Yes I did a smart search and scrolled down to 245 - it still tried to record the Direct Cinema $ version.

It seems like directv employees don't see the issue - but others do.....

#11 OFFLINE   fjames

fjames

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 46 posts
Joined: Nov 24, 2010

Posted 19 July 2012 - 03:27 PM

If I go to the 245 guide entry and get info, it's as if I'm getting info on a PPV.

#12 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 19 July 2012 - 04:04 PM

Ok I've tried this on 7 different receivers and can't duplicate it. Someone mind taking some pictures.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#13 OFFLINE   slimoli

slimoli

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,979 posts
Joined: Jan 27, 2005

Posted 19 July 2012 - 04:50 PM

Ok I've tried this on 7 different receivers and can't duplicate it. Someone mind taking some pictures.


On my Hr22-100 , selecting Dark Knight from the guide, ch 245, goes straight to the PPV stuff. Only way I found to record from ch 245 was doing the search and pressing record on the highlighted program.

UPDATE: Well, this is getting interesting. I tried to do exactly what I did before and this time selecting the program to record from the guide worked as it should.
Standard Definition Causes Lung Cancer, Heart Disease, Emphysema, And May Complicate Pregnancy.

My gear:
http://www.dbstalk.c...931#post2931931

#14 OFFLINE   vandergraff

vandergraff

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 145 posts
Joined: Sep 26, 2007

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:00 AM

Ok I've tried this on 7 different receivers and can't duplicate it. Someone mind taking some pictures.


Still doing it.

Search for The Dark Knight and then select the Friday showing on 245 and it brings up the PPV version.

See attached.

I have set for a manual record on 245....

Attached Thumbnails

  • photo 1.JPG
  • photo 2.JPG


#15 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,991 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:47 AM

Have you tried just hitting the record button when you have it highlighted, rather than brining up the info screen by hitting select?
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#16 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,700 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:00 AM

Have you tried just hitting the record button when you have it highlighted, rather than brining up the info screen by hitting select?


I had. It still sets the ppv movie. It is trying to be helpful. Look, here it is now. You don't have to wait. The logic makes sense for downloads and linear ppv. It is just a screw up that this movie is not tagged correctly and it is finding the movie already loaded on the drive.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo




Protected By... spam firewall...And...