Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

When one SWiM isn't enough


  • Please log in to reply
110 replies to this topic

#76 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 29 November 2015 - 10:09 PM

Well, I have 5 of the 4-ways, so I might as well use them. It looks like a very short coax runs from each of the 4 diplexers to the 4-ways, right?


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#77 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,376 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 29 November 2015 - 10:28 PM

Well, I have 5 of the 4-ways, so I might as well use them. It looks like a very short coax runs from each of the 4 diplexers to the 4-ways, right?

if you install the diplexers right by the SWM16s then you would need very short coax jumpers.


Sent from my iPad Pro using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#78 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 29 November 2015 - 10:43 PM

The two SWM16s are on the exterior of the building on my balcony--easily accessible by me, but the diplexers would have to go right below them according to what I just observed when looking at the SWM16s. 


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#79 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,492 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:46 AM

Vader I am basically using this setup myself and it is really nice. Especially since it allows me to see all deca signal strength screens. With that said how many tuners in your system now? And how many actual boxes as well? Might be able to go to the new swim lnb. It does 21 tuners off one line. Super simplifies a lot of things for many.

#80 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 01:02 AM

Total number of tuners = 21 among 9 boxes (if my late night memory is correct). 

 

Tell me more about this new lnb. 

 

Keep in mind that because I ended up going with a 6x8 multiswitch cascading to two SWM16s, I ditched my previous dish setup of a single-wire SWM and went to a legacy lnb setup: 4 cables from the dish into the 6x8.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#81 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,376 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 November 2015 - 08:05 AM

Total number of tuners = 21 among 9 boxes (if my late night memory is correct).

Tell me more about this new lnb.

Keep in mind that because I ended up going with a 6x8 multiswitch cascading to two SWM16s, I ditched my previous dish setup of a single-wire SWM and went to a legacy lnb setup: 4 cables from the dish into the 6x8.

There is a new LNB that is only available on eBay now since DirecTV has not release it yet and there is no word of when. but basically is the same as the SWM13 but with 21 tuner support. if you really have 21 tuners, this LNB will fit like a glove. you would only need one CCK to connect all those tuners to the internet.

Install would be pretty simple. remove the legacy port LNB, 6x8, SW16. and connect all your receivers to that single line via SWM splitters


Sent from my iPad Pro using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#82 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 09:25 AM

Sounds remarkably convenient and simple. Which splitters do you recommend--the ones I mentioned earlier that I have?


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#83 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,376 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 November 2015 - 09:58 AM

with 9 receivers plus a CCK, I would connect the 8 longer runs to the 8 way and use a 2 way in the receiver near the CCK plus a two way in one of the receivers with the shortest run.


Sent from my iPad Pro using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#84 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,492 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:00 AM

And it would only require one power inserted rated at the 21v. So that's a bunch less power too.

#85 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,492 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:01 AM

You have to make sure it's the right one though. It's got a 2 in the model for second generation. I can't post a link right now I'm mobile.

#86 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:27 AM

It's the gray power inserter. The black ones aren't strong enough.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#87 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 11:28 AM

with 9 receivers plus a CCK, I would connect the 8 longer runs to the 8 way and use a 2 way in the receiver near the CCK plus a two way in one of the receivers with the shortest run.


Sent from my iPad Pro using Tapatalk

 

I don't have any 8-way ones, but I do have plenty of 4-way ones available.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#88 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 17,376 posts
  • LocationNY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:18 PM

Then your best bet is to cascade two 4 ways from a 4 way. connect the longest 2 runs to the 2 outputs of the first 4 way. then connect the remaining 8 runs to the cascaded 4 ways


Sent from my iPad Pro using Tapatalk
Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#89 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,103 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 12:18 PM

I don't have any 8-way ones, but I do have plenty of 4-way ones available.

You can get an 8-way on ebay for ~$5.00 and a 2-way for $4 (including shipping).  If you're buying a new LNB at ebay anyway, you may as well spend an extra $9 at the same time and get the best signal possible.



#90 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 01:54 PM

While I can get them elsewhere cheaper, I believe y'all are talking about this one, correct?

 

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002084


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#91 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 02:04 PM

BTW, what's the model number of this new 21-tuner capable SWM lnb? I obviously won't have to worry about all the aforementioned suggestions until I obtained this new lnb anyway.


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#92 OFFLINE   WestDC

WestDC

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 2,387 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2008

Posted 30 November 2015 - 02:06 PM

Why not get one of "new" GEN.2" DSWM LNBS - and Remove your Smw 16's hook everything using a 2way smw spliter (from the lnb singel wire) the two outs connect- 2 of the 8 swm (link you posted) it will handel 21 tuners getting rid of your 6x8 and both swm-16's 

 

Just a suggestion.

 

Link says 13 tuner However it will support 21 tuners 

 

http://www.ebay.com/...P-/131637084569

 

 

Extra reading http://www.dbstalk.c...23#entry3397300


"Let's Have Some Fun!"
SL-5, SWM-16, (2) HR22-100, (1) H21-200, (1) H20-100, (1) HR44-200, (1) CCK

#93 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,103 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 03:13 PM

Why not get one of "new" GEN.2" DSWM LNBS - and Remove your Smw 16's hook everything using a 2way smw spliter (from the lnb singel wire) the two outs connect- 2 of the 8 swm (link you posted) it will handel 21 tuners getting rid of your 6x8 and both swm-16's 

 

Just a suggestion.

 

Link says 13 tuner However it will support 21 tuners 

 

http://www.ebay.com/...P-/131637084569

 

 

Extra reading http://www.dbstalk.c...23#entry3397300

 

You must have skipped ahead before reading all of the posts.  Peds48 suggested that at 9:00 this morning and that's the methodology that this conversation has morphed into.  However, you unknowingly answered Lord Vader's most recent question regarding the model number of this LNB, when you posted your link.


  • WestDC likes this

#94 OFFLINE   Bill Broderick

Bill Broderick

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 2,103 posts
  • LocationLong Island
Joined: Aug 25, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 03:18 PM

While I can get them elsewhere cheaper, I believe y'all are talking about this one, correct?

 

http://www.solidsign...ku=874409002084

 

Yes.  That's the one.

 

BTW, what's the model number of this new 21-tuner capable SWM lnb? I obviously won't have to worry about all the aforementioned suggestions until I obtained this new lnb anyway.

 

I believe that the link that WestDC provided above is for the specific ebay item/seller that pretty much everyone here who has bought one, has used so far.  According to that link the model number is 3D3LNBR0-02.  Although the ebay auction lists the item as being a 13 tuner SWM, people here have tested it to actually support up to 21 tuners.



#95 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:19 PM

Thanks, y'all. 


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#96 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,492 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:21 PM

You must have skipped ahead before reading all of the posts. Peds48 suggested that at 9:00 this morning and that's the methodology that this conversation has morphed into. However, you unknowingly answered Lord Vader's most recent question regarding the model number of this LNB, when you posted your link.


Yeah, peds suggested it two posts after I did... :)

I really love how much cleaner a system can potentially be with these new lnbs.

#97 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:27 PM

It does appear to make everything much easier. Per the other thread in which I am participating, I just have to make sure I understand how to get 9 receivers with DECA all properly connected.  :righton:


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#98 ONLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 20,492 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:37 PM

Here's a schematic for ya. It's what peds suggests, although there is one other option, which would be to not use a DIRECTV Wired Broadband Internet Connection Kit and just plug the Ethernet cord into the back of the genie itself. Would save y one 2 way splitter.

fa8bdcce1943d8d545bfd8f1c1c38222.jpg
  • Lord Vader likes this

#99 OFFLINE   Lord Vader

Lord Vader

    Supreme Member

  • Registered
  • 8,616 posts
  • LocationGalactic Empire
Joined: Sep 20, 2004

Posted 30 November 2015 - 10:43 PM

That sure does make it look very easy--almost too easy!

 

BTW, no power inserter needed anywhere? Currently I'm using at least two of the gray ones: one on each SWM16. Also, does it matter from which DVR I connect the DECA adapter (a.k.a. CCK)? In the living room are located the Genie and 4 HD DVRs as well as the cable/modem into which I'd like to connect the CCK. The other receivers are on other sides of the abode. 

 

I think I now will have something on which to work during my Christmas break. :D


FAITH: I find the lack of it disturbing.

 


#100 OFFLINE   dennisj00

dennisj00

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 9,613 posts
  • LocationLake Norman, NC
Joined: Sep 27, 2007

Posted 01 December 2015 - 06:38 AM

That sure does make it look very easy--almost too easy!

 

BTW, no power inserter needed anywhere? Currently I'm using at least two of the gray ones: one on each SWM16. Also, does it matter from which DVR I connect the DECA adapter (a.k.a. CCK)? In the living room are located the Genie and 4 HD DVRs as well as the cable/modem into which I'd like to connect the CCK. The other receivers are on other sides of the abode. 

 

I think I now will have something on which to work during my Christmas break. :D

You do need a PI on the red power passing port and no, it doesn't matter which dvr is split to the CCK.


We don't own the hotel . . . We don't know when we check out!

My Setup / Weather at Lake Norman!/ Boathouse BEES
DLB, MRV, nomad, HDGUI are HERE! . . . We're DONE!





Protected By... spam firewall...And...