Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S215/Joey S267 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,188 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 18 July 2012 - 06:36 PM

Received at 4:30am ET this morning ...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   strikes2k

strikes2k

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 53 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2008

Posted 18 July 2012 - 07:52 PM

I read some of the features in the update on another site:

- Looks like they combined the PTAT and user hard disk areas and now the total is 1.2 TB. For PTAT users this won't make a difference but people who don't use PTAT will gain some additional space.

- PTAT can now be programmed for which networks you want it to record, of the 4 big networks, and what days of the week you want it active. It is no longer a simple on/off setting.

- Bridging on the hopper is turned OFF by default so people who rely on bridging will need to turn it back on after the update.

- EHD bug fix. People who have stuff recorded from channels they no longer subscribe to should be able to view those programs now.

#3 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 583 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 19 July 2012 - 02:38 AM

30-second skip is still slow.

#4 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 518 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:06 AM

30-second skip is still slow.


It's never been slow on my boxes. Something else going on with yours?

#5 OFFLINE   bigdog9586

bigdog9586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:23 AM

It's never been slow on my boxes. Something else going on with yours?


Mine I'm sure like others isn't slow so to speak, but the screen is now frozen so you don't know for sure where you are at. Normally I hit skip forward nine times and now it don't always do it.

#6 OFFLINE   dunkonu23

dunkonu23

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 185 posts
Joined: Sep 10, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 01:01 PM

Both Hoppers and Joeys are on S215 and S267. However... today an issue. Neither Hopper would turn on until they were hard reset.

Scott
--
Fly RC Helicopters!
Team ALeeS RC

#7 OFFLINE   sregener

sregener

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 583 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2012

Posted 20 July 2012 - 03:57 AM

Mine I'm sure like others isn't slow so to speak, but the screen is now frozen so you don't know for sure where you are at. Normally I hit skip forward nine times and now it don't always do it.


Yes, this is exactly what I am seeing - before 2.12, when I'd hit 30-second skip, the screen would instantly skip 30 seconds and resume playback. Now, the screen freezes for at least a half second before playback resumes. Before, it was not possible to hit the skip button fast enough to get two skips without seeing the intermediate content (my preference) and now you can skip five or six times and completely bypass the intermediate content. The issue here is that it takes longer to skip commercials if you don't know exactly how many times to press the button. Hit skip... wait... hit skip... wait... hit skip... wait... I know the Hopper can do it faster. I wonder why they changed it.

#8 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Topic Starter
  • Super Moderators
  • 39,188 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:07 AM

Reports of S216/S268 split to their own thread ...
http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=207083




spam firewall