Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Local ads inserted national broadcast ??


  • Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   swallman

swallman

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 07:51 PM

I noticed something new on Dish tonight that I've never noticed before. I was watching TBS on a local (Wisconsin state) political ad came on. I was just wondering how they are managing to insert that into the feed and just target select subs ?

I then backed up to watch the ad again and the ad didn't even show! Instead the DVR recorded a 1 minute Dish network generic ad.

Very interesting...

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,591 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:18 PM

Something about what you said can't be true.

IF you were watching TBS (the national channel) then any inserted ad would be there for the whole country, not just for you. Dish doesn't have a way to target like that.

Then... there's no way a different commercial could be on the DVR than the one you saw. It's just not possible.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#3 OFFLINE   swallman

swallman

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 19 July 2012 - 09:26 PM

I'm wondering if they could possibly have downloaded it ahead of time to my DVR and then triggered it to display in place of the Dish commercial ??

Guess I need to watch some more TBS to see if it happens again...

#4 OFFLINE   Don M

Don M

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 134 posts
Joined: Jul 01, 2006

Posted 19 July 2012 - 11:45 PM

I have noticed local political commercials on USA and SyFi the past few days.

#5 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 19,591 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:21 AM

I'm going to backtrack and eat my words...

I thought about ways it *could* be done, but didn't really think Dish was doing it... and then I found this article:

http://adage.com/art...rtising/236085/

"In a first for the TV industry,Dish Network and WPP's Group M said they have delivered household addressable advertising nationally in trials with 10 major advertisers to more than 7 million Dish subscribers."

Apparently both Dish and DirecTV are using this... and basically it involves pre-downloaded commercials stored on the DVR and then inserted during live TV viewing.

What's curious, to me, is how you did not see the ad when you backed up.. that suggests it might also not have shown you the ad if you had recorded the program to watch later. I would expect this to be a "bug" that early testing would reveal and they would want to make sure that the commercial was inserted in recorded or paused programs as well.

I learned something new today.

-- Respect the S.H.I.E.L.D.


#6 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,729 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:16 AM

I learned something new today.

Yes, you have!

The inserted ads exist and in normal play blend in fairly well with the "live streamed" programming. But there have been rare cases when I've hit the back button to see what the ad was about and saw a different ad that was covered up on initial viewing.

Targeted ads exist. :)


As far as playback in recorded programming I try to skip all ads. But I believe the trigger is recorded and if one were to allow the break to play normally the inserted ad would play just as if one was watching "live". If one skips back to the beginning of the break the inserted commercial can be triggered again.

#7 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:56 AM

I was told by someone in my household (I myself have not noticed this), it seems one commercial was inserted during the actual program and not over a different commercial. While I may have seen inserted commercials, something I don't really check back on, if the commercials start messing with viewing the actual program is something that shouldn't be tolerated.

#8 OFFLINE   swallman

swallman

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:17 AM

I was told by someone in my household (I myself have not noticed this), it seems one commercial was inserted during the actual program and not over a different commercial. While I may have seen inserted commercials, something I don't really check back on, if the commercials start messing with viewing the actual program is something that shouldn't be tolerated.


That I find pretty hard to believe...if it did happen it was probably not supposed to. I have seen some odd commercial splices that have happened on other shows - probably a glitch in the system...

#9 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 09:13 AM

Not sure as I did not see it myself and person who did was watching tv due to not being able to sleep and was tired. I just want to check if anyone else noticed anything such as this.

#10 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,927 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 20 July 2012 - 09:28 AM

I was told by someone in my household (I myself have not noticed this), it seems one commercial was inserted during the actual program and not over a different commercial. While I may have seen inserted commercials, something I don't really check back on, if the commercials start messing with viewing the actual program is something that shouldn't be tolerated.

A few years ago the HD feed of certain NBA games from RSN's would get Dish inserted ads in the middle of free throws :mad::nono: I had to switch to the SD feed quickly to see the action. I complained about it at the time.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.

#11 OFFLINE   runner861

runner861

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 859 posts
Joined: Mar 19, 2010

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:21 AM

This is political season. Obama and Romney want to spend their money buying ads in the swing states like Pennsylvania and Ohio and Florida. They don't want to waste money buying ads in California, Texas, or New York. So that is an example of the need for targeted advertising. Politicians and other advertisers can buy targeted spots on national programs and better spend their money, at least in their minds. This also puts satellite companies on the same level with cable companies, where targeted advertising on national programs has been available for decades.

#12 OFFLINE   Jaspear

Jaspear

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 405 posts
Joined: May 16, 2004

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:46 AM

What's curious, to me, is how you did not see the ad when you backed up.. that suggests it might also not have shown you the ad if you had recorded the program to watch later. I would expect this to be a "bug" that early testing would reveal and they would want to make sure that the commercial was inserted in recorded or paused programs as well.


If the advertiser specifically requested live only insertion, then that's all they would get, would they not? Or maybe 'live only' is all Dish currently sells. Either way, it wouldn't be a bug.
"A proof is a proof. What kind of a proof? It's a proof. A proof is a proof. And when you have a good proof, it's because it's proven."

Jean Chrétien, Prime Minister of Canada, 1993 - 2003.

#13 OFFLINE   nmetro

nmetro

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 617 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:30 PM

You probably did. COMCAST is already doing this. Other providers will soon be doing this. DISH already lets ads get replaced, though thye are national in scope. But, coming to a VIP near you will be ads delivered by zip code. Also, based upon one's deomographics and consumer infromation, these ads may get even more targeted.

#14 OFFLINE   swallman

swallman

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 100 posts
Joined: Nov 18, 2004

Posted 20 July 2012 - 02:30 PM

Just saw the same ad again, this time on CNN. I waited until the ad was completely finished and went backwards and the ad that was replaced was a Dish network ad. Would be interesting to see what happens if I backup in the middle of the ad.

#15 OFFLINE   dlt

dlt

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 126 posts
Joined: Feb 21, 2007

Posted 22 July 2012 - 09:00 PM

Yea, they surely have the tech. to place ads, but not to local weather like Comcast does.

#16 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,729 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 July 2012 - 09:15 PM

Yea, they surely have the tech. to place ads, but not to local weather like Comcast does.

Comcast can interrupt the feed at the head end and serve an entire community. It is a harder to do that on millions of individual boxes getting forecasts for hundreds of different areas.

The ads work because they can be downloaded days in advance ... or at least the night before. If you want a weathercast recorded last night the ad tech can provide one. An up to the hour video forecast would require taking away one of your tuners for a download. (Or creating slides from a data feed if it was not live video.)

It is different technology.

#17 OFFLINE   ljr01

ljr01

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 54 posts
Joined: Mar 06, 2008

Posted 23 July 2012 - 04:58 AM

After my 722 downloaded the 725 update I noticed entries in the "invidi" section of diagnostics -> counters that I'd never seen before. A few searches led me to some references to local advertising I didn't completely understand.

Is this related?




Protected By... spam firewall...And...