Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Missing logos


  • Please log in to reply
195 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   tulanejosh

tulanejosh

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 426 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:41 PM

M missing some channel logos. Tcm hd, disney jr, destination america, the hub, axs tv, and a few others. Not a bug deal but curious what I can do to force a download if the logos?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Lucid504

Lucid504

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 162 posts
Joined: Mar 26, 2008

Posted 19 July 2012 - 10:44 PM

Well TCM just got added in hd it takes awhile to get a logo for thats its not going to have a logo for a few weeks.. Also AXS just changed to that name this month it usually takes quite awhile to update the logo a few weeks. For the rest i dont know whats going on.

#3 OFFLINE   wilbur_the_goose

wilbur_the_goose

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,426 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 04:26 AM

No way to force a logo download that I know of.

#4 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:18 AM

M missing some channel logos. Tcm hd, disney jr, destination america, the hub, axs tv, and a few others. Not a bug deal but curious what I can do to force a download if the logos?


TCM HD just got added, Disney Jr just got added, AXS TV just changed their name. I'm not sure about the others but I'm betting they are either new or just changed their name.

New logos don't come out the instant a channel is turned on or they change their name, never have, never will. You have to give them time.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#5 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:19 AM

No way to force a logo download that I know of.


No, there's not. It would take a firmware update I believe because they aren't in the guide data.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#6 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 22,654 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 20 July 2012 - 07:55 AM

TCM HD just got added, Disney Jr just got added, AXS TV just changed their name. I'm not sure about the others but I'm betting they are either new or just changed their name.

New logos don't come out the instant a channel is turned on or they change their name, never have, never will. You have to give them time.


Does TCM still have commercials? I used to watch it quite a bit years ago, but they started showing commercials and I lost interest.

Rich

#7 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,209 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:00 AM

Does TCM still have commercials? I used to watch it quite a bit years ago, but they started showing commercials and I lost interest.

Rich


They run 'commercials' for products tied into movies, but only between movies, movies aren't interrupted for commercials.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#8 OFFLINE   Old_School

Old_School

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
  • LocationPA
Joined: Nov 28, 2011

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:20 AM

The Hub is only a few months old too IIRC.

DirecTV Subscriber Since 1998
Xtra ~ NFLST

 

(1) HR44  

(1) C41W

 

SL3 LNB ~ Whole Home DVR


#9 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,994 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:40 AM

Most likely they will come in the next major national release.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#10 OFFLINE   tonyd79

tonyd79

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 12,945 posts
  • LocationColumbia, MD
Joined: Jul 24, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 09:35 AM

Does TCM still have commercials? I used to watch it quite a bit years ago, but they started showing commercials and I lost interest.

Rich


All movies are 100% uninterrupted and uncut and almost always, always, always OAR.

What commercials do you think you remember.
LR: HR34-700, H24-200, Fios DVR, BD350 Blu Ray, Roku Netflix Player, Chromecast, Sony 65w850 TV
BR: HR21-200, Viso 32LX, DB350 Blu Ray
Dish: Slimline, SWM8
Other: genieGo

#11 OFFLINE   bwaldron

bwaldron

    Impossible Dreamer

  • Registered
  • 5,524 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 10:48 AM

All movies are 100% uninterrupted and uncut and almost always, always, always OAR.

What commercials do you think you remember.


I think Rich was perhaps confusing TCM with AMC.

HR23-700 --> Samsung UN65F6350AF LCD
HR23-700 --> JVC JLC47BC3002 LCD
H24-200 -->
Panasonic TH-50PX60U plasma


#12 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 986 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 20 July 2012 - 11:57 AM

The Hub is only a few months old too IIRC.


We've had The Hub for at least 2 years.

since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
HR24-500 -- Samsung UN32EH5000FXZA

 

#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 11:59 AM

We've had The Hub for at least 2 years.


Considering it just launched in October of 2010 I don't think so.

http://en.wikipedia....Hub_(TV_channel)
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   Xsabresx

Xsabresx

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 986 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:00 PM

Considering it just launched in October of 2010 I don't think so.

http://en.wikipedia....Hub_(TV_channel)


I was just coming to edit it to 18mos. Regardless it is much much more than "a few months old"

since 2001

HR20-700 -- LG 55LH55 LCD
HR23-700 -- Sony KDL-60EX500 LCD
HR21-100 --Vizio VA26LHDTV10T
HR24-500 -- Samsung UN32EH5000FXZA

 

#15 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:01 PM

I was just coming to edit it to 18mos. Regardless it is much much more than "a few months old"


Agreed, and the only reason I know it hasn't been 2 years is because I knew nothing about the channel when I replied earlier and decided to look it up.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#16 OFFLINE   Jimmy 440

Jimmy 440

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,666 posts
  • LocationMonmouth County NJ
Joined: Nov 16, 2007

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:35 PM

I also noticed that "D" hasn't gotten a logo for SNY ch 639 either and they have been up for several years.

JIMMY

DirecTv 1999
Olevia 42" HD
HR22-100
--------------------
NHL CI
MLB EI


#17 OFFLINE   tulanejosh

tulanejosh

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 426 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:51 PM

well at least its not just me.

#18 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 680 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 12:59 PM

I believe the logos do come through the guide data...with my HR24 anyway...I would like to see the named channels and the Cinemax logos updated. I like the logos!

#19 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 01:19 PM

I believe the logos do come through the guide data...with my HR24 anyway...I would like to see the named channels and the Cinemax logos updated. I like the logos!


The logos are not in the guide data. If you reboot twice in 30 minutes, which flushes the guide data, you'll see they are still there.

The logos are in a supplemental download that comes with a firmware update or the firmware itself.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#20 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,828 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 20 July 2012 - 03:49 PM

A thing re: logos: - DirecTV does not own the right to publish the logo's on their systems, the logo's are copyrighted and owned by each individual TV station or their parent company, and those companies would have to give consent to allow DirecTV (or any other carrier/system) to carry their logos.

Additionally, the company would have to provide the logo. This probably has to be done in a certain format, resolution, etc. Not a really big deal of course from a technical point of view (take the SVG file, save as...) but someone actually needs to do it and then provide the file to DirecTV.

If a company does not give consent and/or does not provide the logo, DirecTV cannot add it. Now, I can't think of a single reason as to why they would not, but this still needs to happen.

If you have the HD guide (which most should have) you get a large icon for many programs too, e.g. in your recorded list. These are provided by the television company as well, who IN TURN may have to get those from the actual production company.

So if a logo is missing.... it could have many different reasons. Hell, it may even be a very small footnote in a large carriage contract for all I know. :D
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#21 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,994 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 04:04 PM

In fairness I agree with the spirit of what you have said but having been a little closer to this sort of thing, it shouldn't be a problem.

The logos are most likely saved in a standard format like GIF or PNG, and they probably originate from the master vector artwork which would be provided as part of the brand book or asset library that every vendor would have access to.

Not to mention, if DIRECTV Creative Services didn't have a logo, that's generally a phone call, e-mail or text message from being fixed and it can happen fast.

I'd say more likely, it's a procedural issue. When the channel enters into TEST, the logo should be requested. The 1 week test period should be more than long enough for the 10-minute process of acquiring and preparing a logo.

As for putting it on the receiver, I believe (which is to say I am not sure) that logos are now part of the additional software download which can take place independent of the regular "national release" downloads. At that point I believe that it would take nothing more than a forced reboot to bring those new assets into play.

So, I would say the problem is procedural and it comes down to one logical point: Someone does not believe it's important enough to have channel logos on the day the channels become live. There's no technical reason inside or outside the box that it couldn't happen.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#22 OFFLINE   Sea bass

Sea bass

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 680 posts
Joined: Jun 09, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:45 PM

The logos are not in the guide data. If you reboot twice in 30 minutes, which flushes the guide data, you'll see they are still there.

The logos are in a supplemental download that comes with a firmware update or the firmware itself.


I once thought they were with the firmware, but have had them magically appear twice...without reboot...one evening while watching Sony Movie Channel, I hit info for the time, and a new logo was in the top left corner??

#23 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,236 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:54 PM

I once thought they were with the firmware, but have had them magically appear twice...without reboot...one evening while watching Sony Movie Channel, I hit info for the time, and a new logo was in the top left corner??


The "additional software" download doesn't require a reboot.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#24 OFFLINE   Laxguy

Laxguy

    Honi Soit Qui Mal Y Pense.

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 14,742 posts
  • LocationWinters, CA, between Napa and Sacramento
Joined: Dec 02, 2010

Posted 20 July 2012 - 08:28 PM

Usually.... :eek2:

Now, interesting that in the additional banner that DIRECTV® put up to announce the addition of TCM HD, there's a TCM logo on that!

But more interesting to me is that many movies that TCM has on deck have a plaque (most likely the DVD cover art) that's way more useful than a logo.
"Laxguy" means a guy who loves lacrosse.

#25 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 410 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 21 July 2012 - 01:08 AM

Lifetime, TruTV, and E! Are missing logos as well.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...