Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Can An EHD Be Played Without An Active Receiver


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mistrmac

mistrmac

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 04:55 PM

I am a current Dish suscriber and have quite a few recordings archived on 2 two TB external hard drives. I own my 3 722k receivers and was thinking of possiblly switching providers. I was wondering if I turned off Dish service would I still be able to play my EHD's through one of my 722k receivers without having Dish service?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,151 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:46 PM

Nope, once you cancel your account the EHD would not be active any longer. Any recordings left of the EHD will not play anywhere else since the recordings are encrypted, not only to Dish but to the account they were on when they were recorded. If you want the movies, you could take the time to record them onto a dvd recorder in real time though your active receiver.

#3 OFFLINE   moman19

moman19

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 710 posts
Joined: Oct 22, 2004

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:49 PM

Nope, once you cancel your account the EHD would not be active any longer. Any recordings left of the EHD will not play anywhere else since the recordings are encrypted, not only to Dish but to the account they were on when they were recorded. If you want the movies, you could take the time to record them onto a dvd recorder in real time though your active receiver.


How is that done?
All I want is a Perfect DVR!

#4 OFFLINE   mistrmac

mistrmac

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 15 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2006

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:49 PM

Thanks for the reply. Not exactly what I wanted to hear. Too much to dump to DVD in real time. Apologies for posting in the wrong forum too (realized it after posting questions about Hopper upgrades).

#5 OFFLINE   harsh

harsh

    Beware the Attack Basset

  • Registered
  • 17,821 posts
  • LocationSalem, OR
Joined: Jun 14, 2003

Posted 20 July 2012 - 05:53 PM

How is that done?

There is a highly technical process called "dubbing" that must be employed. There have been numerous detailed explanations on DBSTalk.

Search is your friend.

Too often we enjoy the comfort of opinion without the discomfort of thought. -- JFK


#6 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,151 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 20 July 2012 - 06:44 PM

How is that done?


I use the rca/s-video outputs on the receiver connected to same on dvd recorder. Press play on receiver, record on dvd recorder. Stop when finished.




spam firewall