Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Help please... HR24-500 and CCK... No coax connected?!?!


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   SnoopHogg

SnoopHogg

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2008

Posted 21 July 2012 - 10:47 PM

Hey guys... hoping someone can help me out. I've searched, i've done everything i've found, i've even called in to customer service... nothing is working. I just got whole home installed on June 26th, and ended up with an HR24-100 (sucks that i didn't get hr34... anyway). The receiver was having issues and they ended up sending me a replacement HR24-500.

Everything was working perfectly as far as whole home is concerned, and my other HD Dvrs (HR21 and HR22) and HD25 receivers could all see each other and the HR24 just fine. I've got the new receiver in and have it hooked up, and cannot get the internet connected to save my life. I've done it all... reset, red button reset, unplugged, ran satellite setup again... nothing is working. It just says coax not connected no matter what i do. The other receivers are all still seeing each other and are working fine.

From what i've read, maybe the DECA is not resetting itself on the new HR24-500? Do you guys have any other ideas on what i could try? I have everything connected just as it was before, which matches all of the pics/illustrations on this site. No ethernet cable is connected to this receiver, and the coax coming from the CCK is connected to sat 1.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,988 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 July 2012 - 11:10 AM

I don't have anything more to add, as it looks like you've tried everything.
Maybe the DECA is defective in the receiver.
Maybe try resetting the network defaults and give the SAT setup another try. :shrug:
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   SnoopHogg

SnoopHogg

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 12 posts
Joined: Aug 28, 2008

Posted 22 July 2012 - 12:26 PM

Thanks for the reply... It's really frustrating. Last night, I plugged the ethernet in from the CCK to the receiver, just for kicks... And it worked. I know it's not supposed to work this way, but it is. And the other receivers are seeing it and sharing just fine too. I'm sure it won't last, but it's working for now.

One other thing... I don't have the Pandora or YouTube icons in my Extras menu? My software says it is 0x5d2. Will this update and add the icons at some point? The wife has to have her Pandora! Lol

#4 OFFLINE   samrs

samrs

    MANC

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,304 posts
  • LocationFlat Branch, NC
Joined: May 30, 2004

Posted 22 July 2012 - 12:28 PM

When Techs activate a new or refurb HDDVR there are several things that have to happen for all the junk to work.

Hook it up and force a software upgrade.
Activate check programming.
RBR, when it comes back up there is an additional software upgrade.

Once this happens then it should share and connect to the internet.

If you leave it alone it will eventually do the upgrades on its own.
Check the system info screen it should have 0x5d2. If it doesn't force a software upgrade.

If DirecTv sent you a refurb well.....some are and some ain't.
HR20-100, HR20-700, HR24-100, HR34-700/AM21

#5 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,274 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 22 July 2012 - 06:33 PM

Thanks for the reply... It's really frustrating. Last night, I plugged the ethernet in from the CCK to the receiver, just for kicks... And it worked. I know it's not supposed to work this way, but it is. And the other receivers are seeing it and sharing just fine too. I'm sure it won't last, but it's working for now.

One other thing... I don't have the Pandora or YouTube icons in my Extras menu? My software says it is 0x5d2. Will this update and add the icons at some point? The wife has to have her Pandora! Lol


Now that you've hooked up an Ethernet cable to the HR24, let's try resetting it back to the DECA. Maybe for some reason the DECA was off, but it thought it was on.

Disconnect the Ethernet cable and rerun the Network Setup. That should re-enable the internal DECA in the receiver. If that doesn't work then I'd see about getting another replacement.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom





Protected By... spam firewall...And...