Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

can i use my directv hr20?


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   freshkid87

freshkid87

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2012

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:10 PM

can i use my directv hr20 reciever with my dish hD turbo sat? i have dish service and i dont care too much for the vip211k ...if so what are the steps? i pick up sats 110 and 119 on the hr20

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,162 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:15 PM

No, you need a Dish receiver to use a Dish subscription.

#3 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,300 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:16 PM

can i use my directv hr20 reciever with my dish hD turbo sat? i have dish service and i dont care too much for the vip211k ...if so what are the steps? i pick up sats 110 and 119 on the hr20

DISH and DirecTV satellite receivers are not compatible with each other. DirecTV receivers will only receive the DirecTV service, DISH receivers will only receive the DISH service.

#4 OFFLINE   freshkid87

freshkid87

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 7 posts
Joined: Jun 27, 2012

Posted 22 July 2012 - 01:16 PM

ok

#5 OFFLINE   Mojo Jojo

Mojo Jojo

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 122 posts
Joined: Mar 14, 2012

Posted 22 July 2012 - 02:10 PM

I actually like the features of the 211 such as having the option to turn it into a DVR with an external hard drive and a one-time $40 fee. Also, an antenna can be connected on the back to receive OTA locals on the receiver along with EPG data (if subbing to locals).

#6 OFFLINE   Jhon69

Jhon69

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,637 posts
Joined: Mar 27, 2006

Posted 22 July 2012 - 02:46 PM

can i use my directv hr20 reciever with my dish hD turbo sat? i have dish service and i dont care too much for the vip211k ...if so what are the steps? i pick up sats 110 and 119 on the hr20



If you go with DISH's VIP722k(500GB HDD) and add DISH's MT2(Dual Over The Air Tuners Module) you can record 2 SAT programs and 2 OTA programs at the same time,while watching a prerecorded program.:)

If you go with DISH's VIP922(1TB HDD),that can also use the MT2 Module,but the 922 has the Slingbox builtin and the new Logo Guide and Menu Tiles.:)

If you go with the Hopper(2TB HDD)&Joey that also has the new Logo Guide and Menu Tiles,it has 3 SAT tuners,but no OTA tuner module yet(TBA).:)

You will need DISH's 1K.2 Dish it looks at 110/119/129.:)

Good Luck!.:)

#7 OFFLINE   Willh

Willh

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 22 July 2012 - 03:34 PM

as the others have said, no you can't use a DirecTV reciever for a Dish Network setup.

someone should close the thread now.
Dish Network Customer since Jan 2007, upgraded to HD on September 2, 2010.

DVRs/Box Sets: Dish VIP DVR 722K (2 of them).

long time Pro-Wrestling and NASCAR fan.

#8 OFFLINE   DoyleS

DoyleS

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 991 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2002

Posted 22 July 2012 - 06:40 PM

Dish has a number of receiver options.
You might mention what you don't like about the 211K. I have a 211K along with a 722 and 722K and for me they are great receivers.
Receivers= 722K, 722, 211K,
Dishes=Dish1000.2
Sling Adapter

#9 OFFLINE   Michael P

Michael P

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,914 posts
Joined: Oct 27, 2004

Posted 23 July 2012 - 03:13 PM

can i use my directv hr20 reciever with my dish hD turbo sat? i have dish service and i dont care too much for the vip211k ...if so what are the steps? i pick up sats 110 and 119 on the hr20


Other than being familiar with the functions of the DirecTV DVR, why would you want it on Dish? Dish DVR's are superior.
An E* subscriber continuously since February 1997.




spam firewall