Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Remote Help


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   montconole

montconole

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2012

Posted 22 July 2012 - 05:19 PM

I am looking for a remote that isn't too expensive (young children) for my basement setup. I have the following equipment:

One Samsung 55"
Two Samsung 32"

One HR-24 DVR receiver
Two HR-21 HD receiver

This is probably a very stupid question but do the Harmony remotes that handle 8 components work with multiple tv's and receivers?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,402 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 22 July 2012 - 07:30 PM

They certainly will handle multile TV's and receivers. The trick is to setu them up for the remote to handle the various configurations; e.g. Watch TV would be for only one TV/receiver combo. Same with Play DVD. Beyond that, you would aee more functions, such as Watch TV2, etc. It can be a bit frustrating, but it's certainly doable.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#3 OFFLINE   John Williams

John Williams

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 106 posts
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 22 July 2012 - 07:37 PM

Trick question kind of.
If all the devices are in the same room and being controlled by the same system; then NO, Harmony can't do that.

You need a control system that uses a controller with IR routing. Meaning it can direct the commands sent from the handheld to a base controller, that then sends the proper commands to a particular device.
These systems are more expensive and a lot of them today require a dealer to program them. Although sometimes you can find the software on the internet if you look - but not for all of them.

A cheaper route would have been to use 3 different brand TV's, that all used different IR code sets. The DirecTV receivers can be programmed to different IR code sets as well (up to 3 if I remember correctly). But if you already have the TV's in place.... well..... what can you do.

#4 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • Registered
  • 12,427 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 22 July 2012 - 07:39 PM

Yes, your one sticking point is the fact that both TV's are the same manufacturer and therefore probably use the same remote code set. Harmony's (and any other IR remote) will send the same commands for both TV's.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#5 OFFLINE   montconole

montconole

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2012

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:36 AM

Thanks for the quick responses.

#6 OFFLINE   Cholly

Cholly

    Old Guys Rule!

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,402 posts
  • LocationIndian Trail, NC
Joined: Mar 22, 2004

Posted 23 July 2012 - 10:52 AM

My bad - I was a bit hasty with my response, not thinking about the TV's both being the same brand. Stewart and John are absolutely right. The sticking point is TV's of the same brand, therefore responding to the same IR code set. Not being a DirecTV subscriber, I can only assume that you will run into the same problems with the satellite receivers unless they cn be programmed to different code sets.

Charlie
--------------------

Family Room: Sony KDFE-55A20 55" LCD RPTV; Yamaha RX-V663 AVR. Paradigm speakers - Focus fronts, CC170 center, PDR-8 subwoofer, Atom surrounds, ADP rear center; TiVoRoamio Plus, LG BH200 HD DVD/Blu-ray player via HDMI to AVR
Bedroom: Vizio 42" 3D TV, Pioneer VSX-521-K AVR, Panasonic 3D DVD player, Energy Take Classic 5.1 speakers, Roku 2 XD, TiVo Premiere, Insignia HD radio tuner, Toshiba HD DVD player


#7 OFFLINE   funnyfarm299

funnyfarm299

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 90 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2012

Posted 23 July 2012 - 11:27 PM

My bad - I was a bit hasty with my response, not thinking about the TV's both being the same brand. Stewart and John are absolutely right. The sticking point is TV's of the same brand, therefore responding to the same IR code set. Not being a DirecTV subscriber, I can only assume that you will run into the same problems with the satellite receivers unless they cn be programmed to different code sets.


Directv boxes can be programmed for exactly this.
LR: 50" Samsung plasma, Samsung bluray, HR24, H25, Roku, Denon AVR-1912, URC MX-450 with RF.

BR1: 32" Sony LCD, H25, SnapAV HDMI balun.

BR2: 32" Acer LCD, H25, Xbox 360.

Bonus: 73" mitsubishi 73742, HR24, SnapAV HDMI balun




spam firewall