Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Joey question


  • Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mweathers

mweathers

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 11:07 AM

Just came over from DirecTV this past Wednesday. Later I'll post my experience with the Hopper/Joey system so far. But for now I have a question. I like to wake up to Sirius XM. With Direct (who has a different music provider) I could leave my HD DVR on all the time, on the station I wanted to and set my stereo system to come on in the morning: Thus music to wake up to!

But I've been told the Joeys will power down (or go into sleep mode) after 4 hours of non use. Is there a way to set them to come on automatically? I haven't found a way to do this.

Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,056 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 July 2012 - 11:19 AM

No, no way - hard coded.

#3 OFFLINE   mweathers

mweathers

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 12:45 PM

Thanks for the quick reply.....I'll just have to listen to CDs!!! :lol:

#4 OFFLINE   puckwithahalo

puckwithahalo

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,286 posts
Joined: Sep 02, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 01:39 PM

You can change the shutdown timeout time.

menu - settings - diagnostics - updates. Then pick the length you want for the inactivity shutdown.

Now, it will still automatically shutdown at 1 am for the nightly update. No way around that at this time.
The postings on this site are my own and don't represent Dish's positions, strategies, or opinions.

-Puck

#5 OFFLINE   mweathers

mweathers

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 03:48 PM

Thanks for the info. GREAT info.....maybe someday they will allow for an auto on feature that can be programmed.....No big deal right now though.

#6 OFFLINE   atti

atti

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 41 posts
Joined: Aug 23, 2006

Posted 23 July 2012 - 04:10 PM

You can set the channel to auto tune and it will wake the Joey up.
Just act like you're creating a series timer and switch it from dvr to auto tune.

#7 OFFLINE   mweathers

mweathers

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 78 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 12:19 PM

Worked like a charm!!!! Music in the morning again! Thanks for the direction!

#8 OFFLINE   ATARI

ATARI

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,876 posts
Joined: May 10, 2007

Posted 24 July 2012 - 12:30 PM

I knew I had read about the auto tune, just never used it. Glad you got this working, mweathers.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...