Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Questions on My Installation Setup


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   dsexton

dsexton

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 04:52 PM

Currently I have an HR34 and 2 H25s on one SWM8 from a dish on one side of my house. I have an HR20 and an HR22 on a separate SWM8 from another dish on the other side of the house. This work was done to upgrade my legacy system to SWM. I have OnQue in the house which means I have a single coax line to every TV wall outlet in the house. The system was done with 2 dishes because it was put in about 8 years ago before SWM was available and it was too hard to trace all the lines through the house to figure out how to do it from one dish.

I have Whole Home which works okay--sort of. Every so often the HR34 loses access to the recorded programs on the HR20 and HR22 and I have to reset the HR34 to get it back. I recently changed all 3 DVRs to static IP addresses and that seems to have helped but hasn't completely resolved the dropoffs. Also, response to remote commands when playing recordings is somewhat sluggish but I haven't seen anyone else's system for comparison.

The dish near the OnQue panel has a SWM LNB but only a single wire which goes to the OnQue. From there, the OnQue panel was used to distribute the signal to the HR34 and the two H25s/ The old wiring from the 2nd dish is used with another SWM8 to connect the HR20 and HR22. Would it not be better have a SWM16 going into the OnQue and have everything distributed from there? The only potential problem (I'm not that sure how the SWM systems work) is that there is only one wire from the OnQue to the wall coax outlet upstairs where the HR34, HR20, and HR22 all reside. So I have 9 tuners in that one room. Is it still possible then to use a SWM16 with one wire to the OnQue, then split and distribute everything from there?

Eventually I want to move an HR downstairs to replace an H25 but right now I only have single tuners on the downstairs TVs so I'm not sure if/how I can make that change.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 23 July 2012 - 05:33 PM

Currently I have an HR34 and 2 H25s on one SWM8 from a dish on one side of my house. I have an HR20 and an HR22 on a separate SWM8 from another dish on the other side of the house. This work was done to upgrade my legacy system to SWM. I have OnQue in the house which means I have a single coax line to every TV wall outlet in the house. The system was done with 2 dishes because it was put in about 8 years ago before SWM was available and it was too hard to trace all the lines through the house to figure out how to do it from one dish.

I have Whole Home which works okay--sort of. Every so often the HR34 loses access to the recorded programs on the HR20 and HR22 and I have to reset the HR34 to get it back. I recently changed all 3 DVRs to static IP addresses and that seems to have helped but hasn't completely resolved the dropoffs. Also, response to remote commands when playing recordings is somewhat sluggish but I haven't seen anyone else's system for comparison.

The dish near the OnQue panel has a SWM LNB but only a single wire which goes to the OnQue. From there, the OnQue panel was used to distribute the signal to the HR34 and the two H25s/ The old wiring from the 2nd dish is used with another SWM8 to connect the HR20 and HR22. Would it not be better have a SWM16 going into the OnQue and have everything distributed from there? The only potential problem (I'm not that sure how the SWM systems work) is that there is only one wire from the OnQue to the wall coax outlet upstairs where the HR34, HR20, and HR22 all reside. So I have 9 tuners in that one room. Is it still possible then to use a SWM16 with one wire to the OnQue, then split and distribute everything from there?

Eventually I want to move an HR downstairs to replace an H25 but right now I only have single tuners on the downstairs TVs so I'm not sure if/how I can make that change.


Can the OnQue handle two coaxes coming from the SWM16? Each one would handle 8 tuners. You would then have to know which outputs on the OnQue belong to each of the input coax runs. With regard to the where the HR34, HR20, and HR22 are, you would not be able to fully run those 9 tuners off of one run from a SWM system as each output of the SWM16 can only handle 8 tuners.

However, you mention that you want to swap a DVR with a H25. With SWM, since you only need one coax to run both tuners, you can just swap them out. Putting the H25 where a DVR is would put 8 tuners on that side of the SWM16 and the other side would handle a DVR and a H25 (3 tuners).

With regard to the location where you have multiple receivers, from the wall outlet you would connect a 4-way splitter and then connect each of the receivers there being sure to terminate the unused port.

As for your Whole Home issues, do you have a CCK connected or are you using the Ethernet port of the HR34 to bridge it to your home network?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#3 OFFLINE   dsexton

dsexton

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 02:43 PM

Hey Merg, thanks for the reply. Sorry I have taken so long to respond. Work got in the way (I hate it when that happens). The OnQue only has a single wire to every location. I actually have two CCKs, one to each system. The installer told me it would not work but VOS had already said it would before the install. Guess who was right? I am just wondering if the problems I mentioned are the result of sub-par performance due to the 2 separate systems.

#4 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,268 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:55 PM

Hey Merg, thanks for the reply. Sorry I have taken so long to respond. Work got in the way (I hate it when that happens). The OnQue only has a single wire to every location. I actually have two CCKs, one to each system. The installer told me it would not work but VOS had already said it would before the install. Guess who was right? I am just wondering if the problems I mentioned are the result of sub-par performance due to the 2 separate systems.


How are you currently using the two dishes? The OnQue is delivering service from one SWM8 to the HR34 and H25, correct? How are you distributing the signal from the other SWM8? Is that not using the OnQue system?

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#5 OFFLINE   dsexton

dsexton

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: May 02, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 04:53 PM

Yes, the new dish mounted downstairs near the OnQue powers the HR34 and the H25s through the OnQue coax. The other SWM8 is on a second Slimline Dish on the other side of the house on the roof near the media room which has the HR20 and HR22. Those two are on the second SWM8 from that dish. That setup was put in using coax directly from the dish to a wall plate in the media room, completely separate from the OnQue wiring.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...