Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Props where due


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Xyzzy.dude

Xyzzy.dude

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 10 posts
Joined: Apr 06, 2012

Posted 23 July 2012 - 09:56 PM

I recently noticed that a particularly annoying problem I was having before, the switch checks disrupted tv watching on all Joeys when the hopper is brought out of standby, appears to be fixed now. Hasn't happened in a long while. Thanks!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 23 July 2012 - 10:08 PM

It is known fact - during switch test all functioning of any receiver/DVR is stopping.

It was just something what force your h2k to do that check out of standby. Better get the reason than relax with new version of FW, IMHO.

#3 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 24 July 2012 - 10:01 AM

...Better get the reason than relax with new version of FW, IMHO.


Not to worry, it WAS a firmware fix for those of us expriencing in on the Eastern Arc. He should worry if it's not doing it anymaore?

#4 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,393 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 24 July 2012 - 10:35 AM

I mean, need to worry if the 'fix' is just mask the real problem.

#5 OFFLINE   patmurphey

patmurphey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 21, 2006

Posted 24 July 2012 - 01:25 PM

I mean, need to worry if the 'fix' is just mask the real problem.


I understand. In this case it was a check switch every day the first time out of standby after the nightly update. A DIRT member kindly told those of us on the Eastern Arc without 77, experiencing the problem that it was a known issue and a fix was in the works. Since that firmware update, it has not happened once. The OP should not worry about other issues if that was his circumstance. 77 was never necessary in many DMAs.




spam firewall