Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

recording 6 shows at the same time


  • Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   How/Rad

How/Rad

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2012

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:07 PM

When I researched the hopper it was advertized as being able to record 6 shows at the same time, but the maximum I've been able to do is 3. Is there something wrong with my system or am I doing something wrong.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,164 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:14 PM

The record 6 shows at one time is a reference to the PTAT feature which will record your Big Four HD networks as the Hopper has the four on the same transponder and it's the only way it will work. if you do not have four or do not activate the feature you are stuck with only three. There is no way for you to be able pick just 6 programs to record.

#3 OFFLINE   syphix

syphix

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,113 posts
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:14 PM

With PrimeTime Anytime enabled, one tuner locks to record the four major broadcast networks, leaving two other tuners available to record programs: effectively (yet admittedly deceptively) recording 6 shows at once.
Nathan
setup:
- 50" Plasma 1080p HDTV (Samsung PN50A760), 46" LCD 1080p HDTV (Samsung LN-T4665F), 32" LCD 720p HDTV (Insignia). 1 Hopper, 2 Joeys.

#4 OFFLINE   RaymondG@DISH Network

RaymondG@DISH Network

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 263 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2011

Posted 24 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

When I researched the hopper it was advertized as being able to record 6 shows at the same time, but the maximum I've been able to do is 3. Is there something wrong with my system or am I doing something wrong.


I was going to answer this one but Garys, and Sphix beat me to it! Please feel free to send me a PM if you have any additional questions about Prime Time AnyTime™ or AutoHop™. Thanks!

#5 OFFLINE   How/Rad

How/Rad

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9 posts
Joined: Jun 14, 2012

Posted 25 July 2012 - 09:59 AM

so it will only work for my local channels. I would have rather it had been for the viacom channels then my local channels I watch alot of spikeTV USA and SyFy.

#6 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 19,853 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 25 July 2012 - 10:04 AM

Your desire is limited by the h2k design: it has 3 tuners; for PTA time it will record (auto) 4 channels and two other by your choice.
Using two h2k give you three additional programs (with PTA is OFF on second h2k).

#7 OFFLINE   Marlin Guy

Marlin Guy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,121 posts
Joined: Apr 08, 2009

Posted 25 July 2012 - 08:56 PM

You can disable PTAT and utilize the three tuners to best serve your individual needs.
PTAT is a nice feature, but it's just an option. Mine has been off for months. I set timer schedules for the programs I want to record, rather than risk missing something good in lieu of something stupid like Big Brother.
Team Mexico Pork Cloud




Protected By... spam firewall...And...