Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

blocking a HR24 from whole-home


  • Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   hawkeye24

hawkeye24

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2006

Posted 24 July 2012 - 05:39 PM

I currently have 3 HR24s and 1 HR34 and trying to get one of the HR24 to not see recordings from any of the other receivers yet, still have internet functionally.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,209 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 24 July 2012 - 05:45 PM

Go to the playlist and change the filter with the yellow button.

Won't stop someone from changing back to seeing the shared, but that will let it show only the recordings on it.

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#3 OFFLINE   hawkeye24

hawkeye24

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 2 posts
Joined: Dec 28, 2006

Posted 24 July 2012 - 06:17 PM

Worked! Thanks

#4 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,419 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:28 PM

a more permanent fix would be put the HR24 on another sub net.

#5 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 July 2012 - 07:56 PM

a more permanent fix would be put the HR24 on another sub net.


Also much more complicated for the average Joe.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#6 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 08:03 PM

Also much more complicated for the average Joe.


Yep, more complicated and wouldn't accomplish the end goal of keeping internet access (without having some advanced IT skills.)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#7 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    ๐Ÿ™ˆ๐Ÿ™‰๐Ÿ™Š๐Ÿ“ก

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 7,419 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 24 July 2012 - 08:09 PM

while Agree is might be more "complicated" it appears that reserving an static IP address for the HDDVR with an static IP address of let's say 192.168.2.10 instead of 192.168.1.10 would not be to hard to accomplished, at least not on my books!

#8 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 24 July 2012 - 08:10 PM

Yep, more complicated and wouldn't accomplish the end goal of keeping internet access (without having some advanced IT skills.)


It could get internet if the router had the gateway of the primary subnet. However again most people won't have multiple routers and the know how to set it up. It wouldn't be much different then using a dual router system as a hard firewall.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#9 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 08:17 PM

while Agree is might be more "complicated" it appears that reserving an static IP address for the HDDVR with an static IP address of let's say 192.168.2.10 instead of 192.168.1.10 would not be to hard to accomplished, at least not on my books!


Give it a try and see what happens to internet access ;)
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100

#10 OFFLINE   dsw2112

dsw2112

    Always Searching

  • Registered
  • 1,936 posts
Joined: Jun 12, 2009

Posted 24 July 2012 - 08:19 PM

It could get internet if the router had the gateway of the primary subnet. However again most people won't have multiple routers and the know how to set it up. It wouldn't be much different then using a dual router system as a hard firewall.


Whatever the setup, the OP would need to know how to route between the subnets to access the internet. I just wanted to make the point that it's not as simple as Peds48's idea of changing the DVR IP to a different subnet.
SL3-Slimline to SWM16 - DECA
HR34-700, HR24-500, & HR22-100




spam firewall