Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

RV hookups for Dish receivers


  • Please log in to reply
8 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   scurryb

scurryb

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 25 July 2012 - 10:12 AM

We keep getting conflicting answers to questions from Dish. We asked to speak to a technical rep, but was told by the person we were talking to in customer service that they could answer these questions. Would really appreciate some definite answers as to what we would have to do or acquire to choose one of these options:

1.If we install a duo hd-dvr receiver (612), what would we need to hook it up to our RV that only has one cable? Running additional cables is not an option. We were told by Dish customer service that we could use the 18" round dish with 2 inputs that we have been using with Directv for standard viewing with this receiver.

2.If we opted to install a single hd-dvr at home along with a standard dvr (512) receiver to travel with, what would we need to hook it to RV that has one cable and also again, the question about the dish.

3. If we opted to install a single hd-dvr (612) at home along with just a standard receiver, what would we need to hook the standard receiver to the RV using only one cable. Would the 18" round dish work as we were told? If we can get some definite answers to these questions, we are going to change to Dish.

Thanks.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Jim5506

Jim5506

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,443 posts
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:14 AM

Your DirecTV dish will not work with a Vip612 and it must have DP lnbs or you will need one cable to each tuner.

Get a dish 1000.2 triple lnb just like the one on your house and learn to align it by practicing in your back yard.

WARNING, do not leave the 612 in operation or plugged up while you are in motion - recipe for hard drive crash!!
Tuners: Hopper 2000; Hopper w/Sling; 3 Joeys; Samsung SIR-T351; Accurian 6000;2 X HD TiVo; 2 X TiVo Series 2 Stand alone; Panasonic Showstopper 2000
Dish 1000.2 @ 110, 119, 129; dish 500 @ 61.5
Antennas - CM4228; RS U75-R; coathanger; Funke PSP.1922 (stillin the box); paperclip
Displays: Sony VPH D50Q with HD Fury HDMI input; Hitachi 57F59; Sony Bravia LCD;Sanyo 32" LCD; Panasonic 42" plasma
Sony 80GB PS3; Toshiba HD-DVD

Give me a Finco colinear array and I'll rule the world - HA-HA-HA-HA!

#3 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 25 July 2012 - 11:49 AM

DP = DishPro and will not work, DPP or Dish Pro Plus w/DPP Separator is what is needed on your either your EA or WA dish to ensure getting your HD programing. For just one dual tuner receiver (whether it be 612 or 512) a WA dish with two coax runs, with EA dish the 512 will not work, but two dual tuner receivers will, again with two coax runs. For your RV with just the 612, either arc with DPP and DPP Separator will work.

The Direct dish will not work unless you do a few modifications, much easier to get complete Dish network EA or WA dishes with correct DPP equipment.

#4 OFFLINE   scurryb

scurryb

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 25 July 2012 - 01:02 PM

Thanks for quick response. Let me see if I'm understanding correctly. We have decided that we do not want to unhook our main receiver (612) but will travel with either the 512 std. dvr or just the std. receiver (311). We're located in TX so presume would use WA.

So, using the 512, if we get the DPP and the DPP Separator, we should be able to use only the one cable to our RV since this will be only standard programming?

With the std. receiver, will the one cable alone work to bring in just the standard channels, as I can see only one satellite connection on the back of the receiver when looking at the user manual.

Didn't really think the Directv dish would work, but whaddayou do when people who are supposed to know practically swear to it?????

#5 OFFLINE   garys

garys

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,163 posts
Joined: Nov 04, 2005

Posted 25 July 2012 - 01:19 PM

Yes, but using just an sd receiver, you would no longer have need of any of the 1000 dishes since HD would not be seen by the receiver. Thus a Dish 500 would work with a DPP Twin and DPP Separator. The 500 is easier to point than any of the 1000 dishes, but if you already have one for your RV, there would be no need to worry about signal strength for the 129 sat location.

#6 OFFLINE   scurryb

scurryb

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 6 posts
Joined: Mar 10, 2011

Posted 25 July 2012 - 06:39 PM

No, we don't have anything yet for the RV except the Directv we've been using. Good to know the 500 will be the best way to go. That just slipped by me. Didn't want to sign on the dotted line until we were sure what we would need and how much trouble it would be to change over. Thanks again.

#7 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 26 July 2012 - 07:20 AM

We RV with a 211k and for the dish we use an old dish 500. I'm fortunate enough that I can aim the 500 to receive 119 & 129 in our area (YMMV). I have a couple of SD channels that come in on 110 that aren't duplicated in HD elsewhere, but I can live with not having them when I 'rough it':lol:

Oh, btw-last time out 129 was hidden behind a mt peak...had to go with 110&119

#8 OFFLINE   dontech

dontech

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 58 posts
Joined: Jun 01, 2009

Posted 02 August 2012 - 12:20 PM

We RV with a 211k and for the dish we use an old dish 500. I'm fortunate enough that I can aim the 500 to receive 119 & 129 in our area (YMMV). I have a couple of SD channels that come in on 110 that aren't duplicated in HD elsewhere, but I can live with not having them when I 'rough it':lol:

Oh, btw-last time out 129 was hidden behind a mt peak...had to go with 110&119

CeeWoo -- any tricks for aiming a Dish500 to get just 119 and 129? Did you use the coordinates and settings for a 1000.2 and just make sure that you had the right lnb focused on 119?

#9 OFFLINE   CeeWoo

CeeWoo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 336 posts
Joined: Dec 01, 2008

Posted 02 August 2012 - 03:19 PM

CeeWoo -- any tricks for aiming a Dish500 to get just 119 and 129? Did you use the coordinates and settings for a 1000.2 and just make sure that you had the right lnb focused on 119?


No real tips. Where I am I usually just aim about 12/15 degrees right of where I normally would for a 500. I have a signal strength meter I have near the dish and that helps a lot

I have found the 129 strength is low, but I can normally get a usable signal with no breakup




spam firewall