Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

How can I speed up my HR-24 Receiver?


  • Please log in to reply
55 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 26 July 2012 - 08:29 AM

The biggest delay is when I try to access my recordings list or the current programming list. Takes about six seconds between pressing the remote button and having the DVR respond. I called up the DTV CSR and he said that is normal because my DVR is using 90 percent of its recording capacity.

Is there any way to speed up the response time of the HR-24? It seems slower than molasses.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 July 2012 - 09:29 AM

If you're using the DirecTV remote that came with it try this:

Put remote in TV mode
Press and hold Mute and Select until the green light flashes twice.
Enter 9-6-3 on numeric key pad.
The green light on remote should flash twice.
Press the Channel Down key.
The green light on remote should flash twice again.

Then clear NVRAM by doing this:

Tune to channel 1 and give everything time to load, about 30 seconds should be more than enough. Then press the red, red, blue, blue, yellow, green buttons in that order. You should then see a "nvram/flash is cleared" message on screen.

Edited by RunnerFL, 26 July 2012 - 09:34 AM.

THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#3 OFFLINE   John Strk

John Strk

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 155 posts
Joined: Oct 16, 2009

Posted 26 July 2012 - 09:51 AM

Also try deleting some recordings to free up available space.

My HR20-100 was slow for a long time since I always had less than 15% available HD recording space but I now always have it around 25-30% or more available and I've noticed it responds much quicker. That combined with the HD GUI and latest firmware updates it's a better box :)
DirecTV Customer Since 2007

#4 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 26 July 2012 - 09:59 AM

i tried your suggestion and it did seem to work very well. I had called up the "Technical Support" expert at DTV and he had no such fix. He just said I needed to empty out my DVR recordings! Kind of sad, really.

In terms of your instructions, should the remote be in TV mode the entire time? I never saw the "nvram/flash is cleared" message, but it must have cleared it anyway.

Can you tune it to Channel 1 at the beginning, or do you have to wait, as per your instructions?

Thanks, will use this again if it ever gets sluggish.

#5 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 26 July 2012 - 11:00 AM

i tried your suggestion and it did seem to work very well. I had called up the "Technical Support" expert at DTV and he had no such fix. He just said I needed to empty out my DVR recordings! Kind of sad, really.

In terms of your instructions, should the remote be in TV mode the entire time? I never saw the "nvram/flash is cleared" message, but it must have cleared it anyway.

Can you tune it to Channel 1 at the beginning, or do you have to wait, as per your instructions?

Thanks, will use this again if it ever gets sluggish.


The remote should only be in TV mode for the first set of instructions. The two suggestions I provided are separate and have nothing to do with each other.

Clearing NVRAM should be done with the remote controlling your DVR. You should see the cleared message in white text in the lower left area. Depending upon the size of your TV it may or may not be in an area with a white background making it harder to see.

With the remote controlling your HR24 tune to channel 1 and wait a few seconds, probably no more than 15 then enter the colored key sequence provided above.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#6 OFFLINE   bt-rtp

bt-rtp

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 29, 2005

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:26 PM

One more thing I find that helps is to go to a sports channel such as ESPN on channel 206 and then press the exit key a couple times. For some reason that kills something running in the background (score center ?) and speeds up channel changing and menu interaction.
HR24-500 with AM21
HR21-200
HR20-700
HR20-100


#7 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 10,225 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 26 July 2012 - 01:51 PM

One more thing I find that helps is to go to a sports channel such as ESPN on channel 206 and then press the exit key a couple times. For some reason that kills something running in the background (score center ?) and speeds up channel changing and menu interaction.


Hitting Exit on an Active Channel disables the active features. In the case of ESPN, it disables ScoreCenter.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#8 OFFLINE   JerryMeeker

JerryMeeker

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 130 posts
Joined: Sep 20, 2007

Posted 26 July 2012 - 05:35 PM

I called up the DTV CSR and he said that is normal because my DVR is using 90 percent of its recording capacity.


FWIW, I recently upgraded both of my (owned) HR24's to 2TB drives, so both are currently less than 10% utilized. Response is very snappy. Over the course of the years I have used DTV DVR's, when utilization goes over 50%, I consider it a sign that a capacity increase is needed. If you wait too long, there is the risk of losing all that recorded content.

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,374 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 July 2012 - 08:15 AM

i tried your suggestion and it did seem to work very well. I had called up the "Technical Support" expert at DTV and he had no such fix. He just said I needed to empty out my DVR recordings! Kind of sad, really.


Not really sad, more like well informed. The HRs do slow down as the HDD approaches full. So do computers.

In terms of your instructions, should the remote be in TV mode the entire time? I never saw the "nvram/flash is cleared" message, but it must have cleared it anyway.

Can you tune it to Channel 1 at the beginning, or do you have to wait, as per your instructions?

Thanks, will use this again if it ever gets sluggish.


Every time one of my HRs gets sluggish, which is rare, I flush the Guide Data and that seems to cure the sluggishness. Not having normally slow HRs, I've never seen any difference after using the NVRAM clearing method, but I have always gotten the "cleared" message.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,374 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 July 2012 - 08:21 AM

FWIW, I recently upgraded both of my (owned) HR24's to 2TB drives, so both are currently less than 10% utilized. Response is very snappy. Over the course of the years I have used DTV DVR's, when utilization goes over 50%, I consider it a sign that a capacity increase is needed. If you wait too long, there is the risk of losing all that recorded content.


I've been running a 24-500, our main viewing HR, all year long with less than 20% Available on the meter. It has a 2TB internal drive in it and it has gone as low as 15% Available and has shown no sluggishness at all. I kinda think D* fixed this problem without telling us about it. The rest of my HRs are at about 50% Available. Three years ago, I would have definitely said that when your external/internal drive reaches 30% Available, watch out for the the HR to start bogging down. Now I don't know quite what to think.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,374 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 July 2012 - 08:23 AM

I realize posts 9 & 10 are contradictory, but I can only tell you what I've seen and the 24s don't seem to have this problem, as far as I can tell.

Rich

#12 OFFLINE   lparsons21

lparsons21

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 3,214 posts
  • LocationHerrin, IL
Joined: Mar 04, 2006

Posted 27 July 2012 - 08:30 AM

Overall my 3 HR24-500s are running better than they ever have. But I have to clear NVRAM weekly to keep it that way. Since that is so dead simple, I don't consider it an issue. And note, I don't worry about how much is on my hard drive, I've not found that to be an issue even when I get down to about 20% or so, which is very rare.

Since the hard drive, external or internal, is married to the receiver and not the account, I don't use them much for things I want to archive.

Now to get unified recording management...

Lloyd
Receiver : DirecTV Genie HR44-700, Dish Hopper w/Sling & Super Joey
HDTV : Mitsi WD-73742 73" 3D DLP
Surround: Denon AVR-2113ci 7.1 Setup

 


#13 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,403 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 27 July 2012 - 09:09 AM

Time to clear up a myth that I've been spreading.

Clearing NVRAM was never needed.

What was happening was being on channel 1 for 30 sec.

Going through the whole colored button pressing, merely caused us to stay on channel 1 for 30 sec.

"Live and learn" ;)
A.K.A VOS

#14 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 27 July 2012 - 09:56 AM

Not really sad, more like well informed. The HRs do slow down as the HDD approaches full. So do computers.



Every time one of my HRs gets sluggish, which is rare, I flush the Guide Data and that seems to cure the sluggishness. Not having normally slow HRs, I've never seen any difference after using the NVRAM clearing method, but I have always gotten the "cleared" message.

Rich


All I can say is what the DirecTV CSR told me didn't help me at all. And a full dvr would have no effect on a slow guide response. The NVRAM clearing made a noticeable difference for me. A competent CSR would know of that technique. I shouldn't have to go to a private message board like this to get the right answer.


What does pushing 9-6-3 on the remote control do?

#15 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,374 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:07 AM

All I can say is what the DirecTV CSR told me didn't help me at all. And a full dvr would have no effect on a slow guide response. The NVRAM clearing made a noticeable difference for me. A competent CSR would know of that technique. I shouldn't have to go to a private message board like this to get the right answer.


But, did he suggest flushing the Guide Data? I never said that a full HDD would have an affect on using the Guide, it will affect the performance of the HR.

Rich

#16 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:19 AM

What does pushing 9-6-3 on the remote control do?


It keeps the "Mode ID" signal from being sent with every remote keypress. Less data being sent gives you faster remote/UI response.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#17 OFFLINE   mitchflorida

mitchflorida

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 423 posts
Joined: May 18, 2009

Posted 27 July 2012 - 10:45 AM

But, did he suggest flushing the Guide Data? I never said that a full HDD would have an affect on using the Guide, it will affect the performance of the HR.

Rich


No, he didn't. How do you flush the Guide Data?

#18 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,082 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 27 July 2012 - 11:00 AM

No, he didn't. How do you flush the Guide Data?


Reset the dvr, then when it comes back up to live TV, reboot it again.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#19 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 19,374 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 27 July 2012 - 02:25 PM

Reset the dvr, then when it comes back up to live TV, reboot it again.


Right, but it's got to be done within 30 minutes. To clarify, the HR has to rebooted twice within 30 minutes.

Rich

#20 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,499 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 27 July 2012 - 03:30 PM

Right, but it's got to be done within 30 minutes. To clarify, the HR has to rebooted twice within 30 minutes.

Rich


If you're rebooting it, waiting for it to get to live tv, then rebooting it again that's definitely inside 30 minutes.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT




spam firewall