Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Does DTV *ever* repair and return a DVR?


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 28 July 2012 - 07:02 AM

At 11:59 last night, my HR23 converted itself from a DVR into a paperweight. No lights, no sound, nothing. Seems pretty likely a case of a power supply dying. (Happy birthday!)

When I call for service, they will presumably offer to replace it, at which point a couple hundred hours of movies, TV shows, and football games on external drives become relics from the past never to be seen again.

Given the likely simplicity of the repair, I'm wondering if anyone has ever known of DTV repairing a DVR and returning it to the customer.

Thanks for any input here.

ETA - The DTV CSR is sending me out a replacement power cord. (See below.) That raises the question - is there any reason for me not to get a cord at the local electronics store rather than wait until Tuesday or Wednesday? Or is there something special and mystically magic about the cords that come with the DVRs? Thanks.

Edited by cigar95, 28 July 2012 - 10:26 AM.
New information available


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 28 July 2012 - 07:08 AM

I have never heard of anyone having that done. I would suggest taking it to a local electronics repair shop. Personally, I offload anything I want to keep permanently onto my server computer.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   joed32

joed32

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,665 posts
Joined: Jul 27, 2006

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:05 AM

Weaknees might do it for you but they can be pricey. Google them and check. They do repair DVRs.

#4 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:18 AM

Customer service is sending me out a replacement power cord. If she can be believed, more often than not the symptoms I described are due to a faulty cord.

Sounds odd, but what do I know? If she's right, I'll still have my football games.

Naturally, I mentioned not wanting to lose recordings if possible, and she replied that the official company policy is that DVRs are not intended for long-term storage. (It was said almost with a wink, knowing that the company has to say that to keep the content-providers satisfied.) She also said in part that's why they don't return individual units to the customer.

I try to save off stuff to DVD, but the editing process takes a while, and I'm pretty far behind now. (Haven't even done last November's Breeders Cup yet.)

#5 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,344 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:24 AM

Do you have another DVR that you can swap cords with? Unless you move that cord around aloy, I find it hard to believe that the cord is the reason.


You did check to make sure the current cord is fully plugged in and that your wall outlet still has power?

#6 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 28 July 2012 - 08:34 AM

Checked the power connection, and so on - everything else on that circuit is fine. (No other DVR to check with.)

I do pull out the power cord each time I reboot to switch external drives (after doing a standard shutdown), so it's conceivable that it could be worn. Just seems odd that it died at a time when it wasn't being manipulated or even touched.

#7 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,271 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:12 AM

I've been a member of this forum for over five years. One thing I learned early on was not to rely on either the DVR or an attached hard drive for storing programs long-term.

I had a defective OTA tuner on my first HR20-700 and had to replace it after about three months.
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#8 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,265 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:16 AM

I highly doubt the issue is the power cord. Most likely, with how you describe it, the power supply itself is dead.

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:40 AM

I highly doubt the issue is the power cord. Most likely, with how you describe it, the power supply itself is dead.

- Merg


Got any idea where a new power supply can be bought? I've searched and searched and I can't find any, except for one on eBay and that's not the one I'm looking for.

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:44 AM

At 11:59 last night, my HR23 converted itself from a DVR into a paperweight. No lights, no sound, nothing. Seems pretty likely a case of a power supply dying. (Happy birthday!)

When I call for service, they will presumably offer to replace it, at which point a couple hundred hours of movies, TV shows, and football games on external drives become relics from the past never to be seen again.

Given the likely simplicity of the repair, I'm wondering if anyone has ever known of DTV repairing a DVR and returning it to the customer.

Thanks for any input here.

ETA - The DTV CSR is sending me out a replacement power cord. (See below.) That raises the question - is there any reason for me not to get a cord at the local electronics store rather than wait until Tuesday or Wednesday? Or is there something special and mystically magic about the cords that come with the DVRs? Thanks.


You don't have a voltmeter? If you do, just plug the cord in and stick the probes in the female end. You should, hell, you will read ~ 120VAC. She was just pacifying you. Sounds like a dead power supply to me. Or, it might be as simple as the fuse being blown. You should be able to see the fuse near the power port. Gotta pop the top to see it.

Rich

#11 OFFLINE   Doug Brott

Doug Brott

    Lifetime Achiever

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 28,920 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles
Joined: Jul 12, 2006

Posted 28 July 2012 - 12:30 PM

You'll likely need to get the DVR replaced. No point in waiting for a new power cord to find that out.
DIRECTV Firmware Monitor - iPhone - Android - HTML5

DIRECTV employee since August 2011.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#12 OFFLINE   wallfishman

wallfishman

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 509 posts
Joined: Dec 31, 2008

Posted 28 July 2012 - 12:56 PM

That cord for the HR23 is pretty common for electronics. If you look around your electronics in your house currently I guarantee you have one already in your house that you could unplug to test out. example i have a small tv thats uses that same cord, the charger for my meter, an all in one stereo, I bet i have 5 or 6 of them in different things around here. I too doubt its just the cord, but who knows .......

#13 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 28 July 2012 - 03:54 PM

That cord for the HR23 is pretty common for electronics. If you look around your electronics in your house currently I guarantee you have one already in your house that you could unplug to test out. example i have a small tv thats uses that same cord, the charger for my meter, an all in one stereo, I bet i have 5 or 6 of them in different things around here. I too doubt its just the cord, but who knows .......

That's the data I needed - and, turns out the "bad" cord seems to work just fine for charging my camcorder. A bad sign.

So, looks like I have probably seen USC-Oregon 2011 and the season finale of Hawaii-5-0 for the last time. And looks like my wife will never get to see the last two hours of last night's opening ceremony. (If this is the worst thing that happens to me, my life has been far too easy.)

#14 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,344 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 28 July 2012 - 04:01 PM

Just did a search for a repeat of the opening ceremonies. On multiple times on 103, the 3D channel. Maybe it will be online?

#15 OFFLINE   TomCat

TomCat

    Broadcast Engineer

  • Registered
  • 3,617 posts
Joined: Aug 31, 2002

Posted 28 July 2012 - 05:11 PM

...She was just pacifying you...

There might be more to the story. The odds of a power cord going bad are about 20 million to one, give or take, so odds are about 50/50 they may have actually had one customer who experienced this.

The problem here is how a power cord goes bad. It either opens up, or shorts. Neither is likely, but a shorted power cord can cause a fire, loss of life, etc., so it becomes a liability.

If you call and say you have no power to the unit, there is a chance, however small, that the cord has worn or has been chewed on by a puppy, or whatever. But that cord is then a looming potential lawsuit should you have a fire and tech support did not think to replace it.

So maybe this is simply a policy that covers their butts when a customer reports this.
It's usually safe to talk honestly and openly with people because they typically are not really listening anyway.

#16 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,884 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 11:57 AM

There might be more to the story. The odds of a power cord going bad are about 20 million to one, give or take, so odds are about 50/50 they may have actually had one customer who experienced this.

The problem here is how a power cord goes bad. It either opens up, or shorts. Neither is likely, but a shorted power cord can cause a fire, loss of life, etc., so it becomes a liability.

If you call and say you have no power to the unit, there is a chance, however small, that the cord has worn or has been chewed on by a puppy, or whatever. But that cord is then a looming potential lawsuit should you have a fire and tech support did not think to replace it.

So maybe this is simply a policy that covers their butts when a customer reports this.


Or, maybe he was being pacified.

Rich

#17 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 29 July 2012 - 04:38 PM

Or, maybe he was being pacified.

Rich


I certainly hope she wouldn't do that intentionally, because it wouldn't be any benefit towards actually solving my problem.

In any case, a new unit will be headed my way tomorrow after a second call to Customer Service. I just hope it isn't so old that it's incompatible with my external drives. (My impression is that the 23 was quite a bit less fussy than were its predecessors.)

#18 ONLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,112 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 05:44 PM

Can't think of a reason, they added 4k support but that was in software throughout the models. But, it is considered an unsupported so certainly possible.

#19 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 29 July 2012 - 06:11 PM

The only time to order a power cord is if it's lost, missing, or damaged visibly. The power cords are standard 2 prong so if you have another device that has one you could test it.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#20 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 29 July 2012 - 06:43 PM

OK, after my experiments, we're all in agreement that the (generic) power cord is not the issue. (At the time of my original question, I didn't know if the units had something special in their power cords that required replacement from DTV.)

But now I wonder if the power supply may not be the whole issue either. If I look in through the grate, I can see that about once per second, the fan makes a small pulse, like it's trying to turn. This stops when I unplug the cord.

So the unit is getting *some* power. The PS may indeed be fatally wounded, but it isn't dead. (For those of you who were fans of '24', this may bring to memory the famous line "You're either dead, or you're not dead. there's no such thing as 'sorta dead'."

But one thing remains true - it seems extremely unlikely that I'm ever going to watch anything recorded on this unit again.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...