Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Does DTV *ever* repair and return a DVR?


  • Please log in to reply
64 replies to this topic

#21 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,285 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 29 July 2012 - 07:21 PM

But one thing remains true - it seems extremely unlikely that I'm ever going to watch anything recorded on this unit again.

Probably a very accurate statement. Sorry.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#22 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 06:46 AM

OK, after my experiments, we're all in agreement that the (generic) power cord is not the issue. (At the time of my original question, I didn't know if the units had something special in their power cords that required replacement from DTV.)

But now I wonder if the power supply may not be the whole issue either. If I look in through the grate, I can see that about once per second, the fan makes a small pulse, like it's trying to turn. This stops when I unplug the cord.

So the unit is getting *some* power. The PS may indeed be fatally wounded, but it isn't dead. (For those of you who were fans of '24', this may bring to memory the famous line "You're either dead, or you're not dead. there's no such thing as 'sorta dead'."

But one thing remains true - it seems extremely unlikely that I'm ever going to watch anything recorded on this unit again.


That would tell me the power supply is shot.

Rich

#23 OFFLINE   The Merg

The Merg

    1*

  • Registered
  • 10,253 posts
  • LocationNorthern VA
Joined: Jun 24, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 08:11 AM

That would tell me the power supply is shot.

Rich


+1

- Merg

Today's problems don't worry me, I haven't solved yesterday's yet.

SlimLine-3 Dish w/ SWM16 (HD Service / WHDVR) / Full Setup
HR34-700 / Panasonic TC-P50G25 HDTV / HDMI / Networked - DECA / Family Room
HR44-700 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom

HR24-100 / Samsung HCM5525W HDTV / Component / Networked - DECA / Bedroom


#24 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 09:04 AM

+1

- Merg


If he wanted to fix it, where would he get the proper power supply? I can't find them anywhere. Weaknees has them for TiVos, but not HRs.

Rich

#25 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 30 July 2012 - 09:18 AM

Since it's a leased unit, there's no fixing the PS - regrettably.

#26 OFFLINE   davring

davring

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,385 posts
Joined: Jan 13, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 09:25 AM

Swap the parts you need from the replacement they send:)
HR20-700(2.0TB)>Sony XBR-55HX929
HR20-700>Sony KDL40V2500
OTA RS outdoor ant
Hardwire networked to Cysco Router 6.0 AT&T DSL
MRV enabled
R15-500>Samsung LNT2342H
DirecTV customer since 1997

#27 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,985 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 30 July 2012 - 09:45 AM

Swap the parts you need from the replacement they send:)


Don't know how closely they look at that little silver taper tape to see if someone has opened the case when they get STB's back. That might be a problem.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#28 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 10:07 AM

Since it's a leased unit, there's no fixing the PS - regrettably.


Yeah, that's true, but I've got a friend with what I think is a bad power supply in his 24-500 and he owns it and likes it and has a bunch of content he doesn't want to lose, so he'd like to fix it and we just can't find any 24-500 power supplies anywhere.

Rich

#29 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 30 July 2012 - 12:46 PM

If he wanted to fix it, where would he get the proper power supply? I can't find them anywhere. Weaknees has them for TiVos, but not HRs.

Rich


Since you own receivers I can give you some ideas. To the OP though since it's leased you would violate the lease agreement and could be subject to fees.

A good place to get replacement parts are leased receivers that people abandon or sell to pawn shops that don't know any better. If you can find one that should be returned but the people clearly indicate they never will then you can use those for parts.

I have a friend who cleans out houses that are foreclosed and he probably gets at least 2 houses a month with TV providers equipment in it. So if you know anyone who does things like that you might be able to find some that way as well.

I know you're partial to the HR20 -700 and since they're no longer recoverable these will be good parts machines after people are done with them as they are not required to be returned.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#30 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 03:57 PM

Since you own receivers I can give you some ideas. To the OP though since it's leased you would violate the lease agreement and could be subject to fees.

A good place to get replacement parts are leased receivers that people abandon or sell to pawn shops that don't know any better. If you can find one that should be returned but the people clearly indicate they never will then you can use those for parts.


I guess I'll tell him to keep an eye on his local Craigslist. I'll do the same here. We don't have any pawn shops in our area. At least none such as I've seen in other states. I just Googled it and came up with a bunch of thrift stores and another bunch of gold buyers. Shame, I really like browsing in a good pawn shop. Maybe I'll take a ride to the City.

I have a friend who cleans out houses that are foreclosed and he probably gets at least 2 houses a month with TV providers equipment in it. So if you know anyone who does things like that you might be able to find some that way as well.


Don't know anyone who does that, but I'll look for someone.

I know you're partial to the HR20 -700 and since they're no longer recoverable these will be good parts machines after people are done with them as they are not required to be returned.


Good point, doesn't help my friend, tho. I kinda doubt a PS for a 20-700 would work in a 24. Don't really know, just an assumption.

Rich

#31 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 30 July 2012 - 03:59 PM

I guess I'll tell him to keep an eye on his local Craigslist. I'll do the same here. We don't have any pawn shops in our area. At least none such as I've seen in other states. I just Googled it and came up with a bunch of thrift stores and another bunch of gold buyers. Shame, I really like browsing in a good pawn shop. Maybe I'll take a ride to the City.



Don't know anyone who does that, but I'll look for someone.



Good point, doesn't help my friend, tho. I kinda doubt a PS for a 20-700 would work in a 24. Don't really know, just an assumption.

Rich


It wouldn't but it was more of a side comment for you since I know they hold a special place in your entertainment center.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#32 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 30 July 2012 - 04:13 PM

While we're out of rescue mode and recovery mode and now into replace mode, I'll just add that they've confirmed that a 23-700 is headed my way. At least it's the exact model I'm used to.

And the frustrating thing is that I would have within my grasp the very power supply I need to get my old machine operational again.

Some of you might remember that last summer I had a lengthy thread that led to my discovery of how to transfer individual recordings between a pair of HDDs. When the new machine arrives, I may do a couple of experiments to see about transferring recordings from the old drive to the new drive. (Both external)

While I realize that everything we know says this is not possible because recordings are tied to the individual unit, I'll see if it's possible that the encoding is part of the meta-data rather than the recorded data itself. If that were the case, I might be able to make a recording of Oprah at 2pm on a Monday afternoon, then replace the underlying recording data with the same data from USC-Oregon 2011. If my long-shot hypothesis were true, that day's Oprah show would look a lot like a 38-35 football game decided on a game-ending missed field goal.

And I also realize it's more likely that it will look a lot like an error message.

#33 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 04:18 PM

It wouldn't but it was more of a side comment for you since I know they hold a special place in your entertainment center.


Figures. He has a lot of content that was recorded on that one HR and it's gonna be lost if he can't fix the PS, which we just think is the problem. Sometimes I wonder how I get involved in these things. I told him a year ago that he needed a couple more HRs instead of putting it all on one HR, but he was convinced the 24s would last forever.

Yes, I do like and trust the 20-700s, but I use them mostly as servers now. They seem to do that very dependably. After buying six of them to use as replacements, I've only had to replace a couple HRs and got new 24s. My plans and D*'s plans never seem to work in my favor. As soon as I bought the six 20-700s, D* finally got them stabilized and I spent all that money (including 2TB HDDs for each one) and I could have saved a good portion of that money.

Rich

#34 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 30 July 2012 - 04:23 PM

While we're out of rescue mode and recovery mode and now into replace mode, I'll just add that they've confirmed that a 23-700 is headed my way. At least it's the exact model I'm used to.

And the frustrating thing is that I would have within my grasp the very power supply I need to get my old machine operational again.

Some of you might remember that last summer I had a lengthy thread that led to my discovery of how to transfer individual recordings between a pair of HDDs. When the new machine arrives, I may do a couple of experiments to see about transferring recordings from the old drive to the new drive. (Both external)

While I realize that everything we know says this is not possible because recordings are tied to the individual unit, I'll see if it's possible that the encoding is part of the meta-data rather than the recorded data itself. If that were the case, I might be able to make a recording of Oprah at 2pm on a Monday afternoon, then replace the underlying recording data with the same data from USC-Oregon 2011. If my long-shot hypothesis were true, that day's Oprah show would look a lot like a 38-35 football game decided on a game-ending missed field goal.

And I also realize it's more likely that it will look a lot like an error message.


Never hurts to try something no one else thinks will work. You sound like you know what you're doing, I wish you luck. Not that I really understood a word of your penultimate (damn, I've been waiting for years to use that word) paragraph..... :lol:

Rich

#35 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 31 July 2012 - 10:29 AM

Rich, your next goal should be to work in the word "ante-penultimate".

(The rest of my post had to be removed - it had drifted into unallowed territory.)

Oh, forgot to add - DTV offered me three free months of HBO for my trouble. No doubt they're hoping I'll forget to cancel when my free time runs out.

#36 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 31 July 2012 - 03:50 PM

Rich, your next goal should be to work in the word "ante-penultimate".

(The rest of my post had to be removed - it had drifted into unallowed territory.)

Oh, forgot to add - DTV offered me three free months of HBO for my trouble. No doubt they're hoping I'll forget to cancel when my free time runs out.


Can't find a definition of that. Now I'm curious. Found it, "second to last". Didn't know that, thanx.

Rich

#37 OFFLINE   loveshockey

loveshockey

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 363 posts
  • LocationLancaster, NY
Joined: Feb 24, 2008

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:35 AM

But now I wonder if the power supply may not be the whole issue either. If I look in through the grate, I can see that about once per second, the fan makes a small pulse, like it's trying to turn. This stops when I unplug the cord.

So the unit is getting *some* power. The PS may indeed be fatally wounded, but it isn't dead. (For those of you who were fans of '24', this may bring to memory the famous line "You're either dead, or you're not dead. there's no such thing as 'sorta dead'."

 

My HR23-700 is doing the same thing now...no lights, no HD noise, but the fan stutters every so slightly...

 

When I called for a replacement, they told me I don't have to send the broken one back, so I might try to repair it

 

Did you ever "fix" yours?



#38 OFFLINE   cigar95

cigar95

    Legend

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 135 posts
Joined: May 23, 2008

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:49 AM

My HR23-700 is doing the same thing now...no lights, no HD noise, but the fan stutters every so slightly...

 

When I called for a replacement, they told me I don't have to send the broken one back, so I might try to repair it

 

Did you ever "fix" yours?

Wow, zombie thread!

 

Nope, my unit had to be returned, so there was no way to try going Frankenstein on it. Maybe your replacement will be my old unit with a new power supply - wouldn't THAT be a weird one.

 

I still have a bunch of content on my HDDs that can't play, but I can't bear to delete.  I hang on to this vague fantasy that somehow I'll figure out a way to get it to play, even though everything we know says that's not possible.



#39 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 July 2013 - 11:57 AM

My HR23-700 is doing the same thing now...no lights, no HD noise, but the fan stutters every so slightly...

 

When I called for a replacement, they told me I don't have to send the broken one back, so I might try to repair it

 

Did you ever "fix" yours?

 

I've actually replaced several power supply boards in 24s.  I think the 23s have the same setup as the 24s in regard to the power supplies and they can be replaced.  But why bother?  I'd get rid of that dreadful 23 and step up to a 24 or a Genie.

 

Rich



#40 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 18 July 2013 - 12:03 PM

Wow, zombie thread!

 

Nope, my unit had to be returned, so there was no way to try going Frankenstein on it. Maybe your replacement will be my old unit with a new power supply - wouldn't THAT be a weird one.

 

I still have a bunch of content on my HDDs that can't play, but I can't bear to delete.  I hang on to this vague fantasy that somehow I'll figure out a way to get it to play, even though everything we know says that's not possible.

 

A lot of us have been hanging on to the idea that someday D* will allow us to use any HDD on any HR within an account.  Seems so simple, yet we've been ignored for years.  Meanwhile, we've suffered thru some terrible periods because people wanted changes made for other reasons.  For instance, the DLB issue was discussed for a very long time in a sticky thread and all the people that wanted them got them.  And the rest of us suffered.  I can't begin to imagine what kind of problems the HDD issue would cause or how long it would take D* to get that working correctly.  We really have to be careful what we wish for.

 

Rich






spam firewall