Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Can the H24 power an External DECA?


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:04 PM

I'm assuming it can't because it isn't working for me.
Can I use a power inserter(the big block kind for the dish) and a two way switch somehow to do this?

I'm not concerned about complicated just if it's anyway possible to get an external deca to work on a H24.

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,412 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:28 PM

Why?
What's wrong with the DECA in the H24?

"and no" it doesn't power a DECA, but you might get a 21 volt PI to.
A.K.A VOS

#3 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:43 PM

Why?
What's wrong with the DECA in the H24?

"and no" it doesn't power a DECA, but you might get a 21 volt PI to.


Thank you for replying! If I got a PI then how would I get a coax to the receiver?
Will an HR24 power an external DECA then?
I have a ethernet port here but like to use it for caller ID, I have 5-port switch connected to DECA.

#4 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 28 July 2012 - 11:48 PM

I have an extra broadband deca if I can attach that to a splitter and get it to work?

#5 OFFLINE   Rtm

Rtm

    Godfather

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 387 posts
Joined: Oct 17, 2011

Posted 29 July 2012 - 01:02 AM

Did this it seems to work(purple from swm). Is this acceptable?

http://www.dbstalk.c...63&d=1343545281

Attached Thumbnails

  • Untitled.jpg


#6 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 41,412 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 29 July 2012 - 06:40 AM

The broadband [or now called CCK] will work with a splitter, but you haven't explained why you want to connect it to the receiver.
The H/HR24 doesn't power the DECAs, because they have one internally.
The CCK pictured and switch have been used for internet access and to connect other devices to the network, but you shouldn't need an ethernet cable going to the 24.
When you do connect ethernet to a 24, it disables the internal DECA.
A.K.A VOS




spam firewall