Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Where can I buy a Power Supply for a HR24-500?


  • Please log in to reply
14 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   static2229

static2229

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 30 July 2012 - 12:52 PM

Does anybody know where I can purchase a power supply for a HR24-500?

I found one for a HR24-100 on eBay, but it is different and does not work.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 30 July 2012 - 01:46 PM

You can see this thread here http://www.dbstalk.c...ad.php?t=207346

However if your machine is leased you could face fees if something happens and it's opened.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#3 OFFLINE   static2229

static2229

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 30 July 2012 - 03:26 PM

The unit is opened up on my desk. Damage is done, so fees are the least of my worries right now LOL.

I would even be interested in buying a dead hr24-500 to get the part.

#4 OFFLINE   litzdog911

litzdog911

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,683 posts
  • LocationMill Creek, WA
Joined: Jun 23, 2004

Posted 31 July 2012 - 12:23 AM

Why do you need to replace this yourself? DirecTV will replace your defective HR24 for ~$20 shipping. Free if you have their Equipment Protection Plan.
HD DVRs: HR34-700; HR24-500; (2) HR20-700 + WD eSATA 1TB drive/Antec MX1 case; HR21-700; HR21-200 w/AM21
Receivers: H25-500 HD Receiver; H21-100 HD Receiver
Mobile Devices: Nomad

Additional equipment configuration details

Sun & moon help site your satellite dish


#5 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 31 July 2012 - 03:35 AM

Doesn't want to lose recordings is the safe bet.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#6 OFFLINE   Clemsole

Clemsole

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 367 posts
Joined: Sep 08, 2005

Posted 31 July 2012 - 08:48 AM

So the recordings are worth about $400.00? The cost of opening the unit.

#7 OFFLINE   static2229

static2229

    Mentor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Dec 17, 2006

Posted 31 July 2012 - 08:04 PM

Directv wouldn't guarantee me an HR24 as a replacement. Plus they said worst-case-scenario if I open it up is I buy a new one ($160) and send this one back when they provide a box.

#8 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,127 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 August 2012 - 11:57 AM

Does anybody know where I can purchase a power supply for a HR24-500?

I found one for a HR24-100 on eBay, but it is different and does not work.

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks!!!


That one on eBay is for a 24-100, I think, and won't work in a 24-500. I have a friend who is searching for a PS for a 24-500 and I've been helping him, but we've both failed. Apparently they are not for sale anywhere. As was suggested, you might be trying to save your recordings and replacing the PS would fix that.

Failing to find a PS and getting a replacement for it should be easy. I don't think anyone in their right mind would consider a 22 or a 23 (the only HRs they can replace your 24 with because of the 500GB HDD in them and the 24s) "equal to, or better than" a 24.

Rich

#9 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,127 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 01 August 2012 - 12:07 PM

To clarify, my friend has an owned 24-500 and two 2TB HDDs full of recordings he doesn't want to lose. I did advise him not to put all his eggs in one basket, but he didn't listen and is now up the creek and has no idea what to do. Shades228 did offer some good advice about where to find a used 24-500 in that thread he linked to. Pawn shops, places like that. We've still had no luck with that.

The part of this search that I find really enjoyable is that he used to laugh at my collection of HRs that I use to back everything up, but, he's no longer laughing at me.... :lol:

Rich

#10 OFFLINE   parts.man

parts.man

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 31 posts
Joined: May 23, 2012

Posted 01 August 2012 - 05:08 PM

Check e-bay now, search for "directv hr24" and sort by newly listed. There are two listed as HR24-500's, one auction ending in 22 hours and the other in about two days, both listed on August 1. Sounds that they are likely not able to be activated, but then again it doesn't matter. One says it was only used 3 weeks. Other says it was employee owned. I don't know about either, but I hope this helps. One is really cheap, other might be iffy.

#11 OFFLINE   JBv

JBv

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 898 posts
  • LocationTulsa, OK
Joined: Oct 05, 2011

Posted 03 August 2012 - 09:57 PM

I've never actually seen an HR23/22/21 replace an HR24 on an account. I'm not saying it wouldn't happen, but a very good argument can be made that it would be a downgrade due to it's lack of built in DECA, and it very well might not be compatible with the equipment installed. That's the reasoning for it in my head, anyway.
DirecTV Employee
The postings on this site are my own and do not represent DirecTV's positions, strategies, or opinions.

#12 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,127 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 04 August 2012 - 09:57 AM

I've never actually seen an HR23/22/21 replace an HR24 on an account. I'm not saying it wouldn't happen, but a very good argument can be made that it would be a downgrade due to it's lack of built in DECA, and it very well might not be compatible with the equipment installed. That's the reasoning for it in my head, anyway.


Would seem logical, wouldn't it? I haven't had anything but a 24 as a replacement for any of my HRs since the 24s were introduced.

Rich

#13 OFFLINE   tonydi

tonydi

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Jul 10, 2010

Posted 04 August 2012 - 03:50 PM

What about repairing your PS? I'm no electronics expert and can barely make a decent solder joint, but I repaired a couple of DTivo power supplies and a couple of Samsung LCD's before.

I don't know what the failure mode would be on the HR24 PS, but if it's a bad capacitor or two then it's probably pretty easy to spot and swap out. If it's not obvious, maybe a local repair shop might be able to test it and determine which part to replace.

#14 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 August 2012 - 04:39 PM

People should really do some research on how to ensure that power supplies are disharged completely before doing any repair on them. I wouldn't recommend this path as more damage could be done, to the person and the item.

If it's really that important it shouldn't be hard to track a 24 500 for sale and buy it.
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#15 OFFLINE   Rich

Rich

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 21,127 posts
  • LocationPiscataway, NJ
Joined: Feb 22, 2007

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:49 AM

People should really do some research on how to ensure that power supplies are disharged completely before doing any repair on them. I wouldn't recommend this path as more damage could be done, to the person and the item.

If it's really that important it shouldn't be hard to track a 24 500 for sale and buy it.


Looks really easy to swap out a PS for another one. Never did one, but I've examined the board and it seems like a few screws and a couple connectors are all that connects it to the chassis. But to pay $100 for a 40-50 dollar part seems a bit excessive. Weaknees has them, why they don't sell them is beyond me.

Rich




Protected By... spam firewall...And...