Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34/HR21 DECA Questions


  • Please log in to reply
5 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   kepper

kepper

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 31 July 2012 - 01:56 PM

My old Directv system is being upgraded in a couple of days and I havea question. One of my three existing HR21s is being upgraded to an HR34 and they are installing the home cinema connection kit.

The new HR34 will be networked to two existing HR21s, so I will have a total of three DVRs networked. The location where the HR34 is being installed has an available gigabit internet Ethernet jack which is connected to a switch.

I understand that the installers will have to convert my current dual coax setup to SWiM and likely install a new multiswitch to enable the HR34.

I have read what appears to be conflicting information about whether or not a DECA converter will have to be installed. Some posts say that a DECA converter must installed near a router, while other posts indicate that if a wired Ethernet connection is plugged into the HR34, there is no need to install a DECA as all three DVRs will get internet connectivity from the HR34. My experience is that the less equipment, the less there is to go wrong... so if a DECA is not needed or recommended, I would like to know in advance.

The question is: will my setup require a DECA? If not, is one recommended?

Thanks,

K

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 31 July 2012 - 02:26 PM

I would like an explanation of this, too. I had the HR34 installed into my system where all of my receivers were hardwired to GigE and whole home worked fine. When the HR34 was installed whole home continued to work just fine as well, but the HR34 kept getting the 771B error. It was only after I installed the Cinema connection kit into my network and removed the Ethernet from my HR34 did the 771B go away.

Now all of my other receivers have been removed from my GigE network and only use the DECA boxes.

#3 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,986 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 31 July 2012 - 02:44 PM

DirecTV installers are supposed to install a cinema connect kit, even if you get an HR34 and have an available internet connection right next to it. DirecTVs training tells them this is the way it has to be done.

We know that the HR34 can be used to bridge the DECA cloud to your internet service, but DirecTV installers do not. It's usually best to go ahead and let them install the CCK and then after they leave you can hook an ethernet cable between the HR34 and your router/switch and disconnect the CCK if you want.

*****Again, this only works with the HR34 Home Media Center, it does not work with any other DirecTV receiver*****
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#4 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,903 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 31 July 2012 - 02:45 PM

The HR34 is different then the the HR2X's in that connecting an ethernet cable (which BTW is only a 100Mbps connection) to the HR34 does NOT disable the internal DECA connection via the satellite coax port. So if you wish you don't need a broadband DECA connection to connect the DECA network to your ethernet network, the HR34 will act as the bridge. Just keep in mind then that if the HR34 is down all the other STB's on the DECA network also would lose their path to your ethernet network.

I could see this might be a problem for example if all your receivers rebooted due to a power problem for example. Since the HR34 would need to be up and running so it could pass the DHCP request from your other receiver they could end up with a 169.X.X.X network address which and then the HR34 would get an address from your router with your IP network, so your other receivers couldn't access the HR34 or the internet. But using an broadband DECA to bridge the DECA network to your ethernet would most likely be up and passing the DHCP requests before your receivers would get to that point in their boot up process.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#5 OFFLINE   Drucifer

Drucifer

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,664 posts
  • LocationNY Hudson Valley
Joined: Feb 12, 2009

Posted 31 July 2012 - 03:01 PM

I would like an explanation of this, too. I had the HR34 installed into my system where all of my receivers were hardwired to GigE and whole home worked fine. When the HR34 was installed whole home continued to work just fine as well, but the HR34 kept getting the 771B error. It was only after I installed the Cinema connection kit into my network and removed the Ethernet from my HR34 did the 771B go away.

Now all of my other receivers have been removed from my GigE network and only use the DECA boxes.

How many tuners do you have?

DREW

Do it Right, Do it Once
LR: HR34-7, Den: HR24-1, MB: HR24-5, Bsm: HR21-2, Kit: H25-5
PrimeStar '95, DirecTV  '00


#6 OFFLINE   wmschultz

wmschultz

    DBSTalk Club Member

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,131 posts
Joined: Jul 18, 2006

Posted 31 July 2012 - 04:22 PM

How many tuners do you have?


I have 7 tuners on both side of the SWM16. So, 14 total.




spam firewall