Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

On Demand Dowloads


  • Please log in to reply
23 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   miesque1127

miesque1127

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 39 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2012

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:16 PM

I guess it depends on your speed, but my downloads are sllooowww. I have DSL thru ATT, U-Verse not available in my area yet. 3.0 speed right now.

I'm guessing my internet speed has something to do with this. When U-Verse becomes available with much faster speed, will downloads be faster??

It takes forever to download an episode right now, over an hour.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   pandafish

pandafish

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 20 posts
Joined: Apr 20, 2012

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:22 PM

I guess it depends on your speed, but my downloads are sllooowww. I have DSL thru ATT, U-Verse not available in my area yet. 3.0 speed right now.

I'm guessing my internet speed has something to do with this. When U-Verse becomes available with much faster speed, will downloads be faster??

It takes forever to download an episode right now, over an hour.


Yes it will be much faster. I had 3.0 DSL through Centurylink up until a few weeks ago. They upgraded my area to VDSL and now I have 12.0. The other day I set some on demand to download and I thought it had failed because the record light had turned off and it turned out that it was actually just finished.

#3 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:52 PM

I guess it depends on your speed, but my downloads are sllooowww. I have DSL thru ATT, U-Verse not available in my area yet. 3.0 speed right now.

I'm guessing my internet speed has something to do with this. When U-Verse becomes available with much faster speed, will downloads be faster??

It takes forever to download an episode right now, over an hour.

I had AT&T DSL, but the 6 Mb/s service that tested at 5. It beat the hell out of the cable modem service I had before.
3 meg, is going to be just about 1 min for every min of an SD recording. You can start watching before it finishes though.
6 Meg [or 5 in my case] took 1.5 x for HD, so a one hour show would finish in 90 mins.
I'm on a 12 Meg now and HD comes at 1:1.
A.K.A VOS

#4 OFFLINE   curtmcgirt

curtmcgirt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2010

Posted 07 August 2012 - 08:27 PM

does anybody know if dtv has any plans for actual on-demand *streaming* to their dvrs? if DTV can stream a movie to my phone, and DTV can stream a movie to my laptop, why do i still actually have to *DOWNLOAD* the movie to my DVR? you'd think by now they could figure out a way to stream to their own device.

#5 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 07 August 2012 - 08:48 PM

does anybody know if dtv has any plans for actual on-demand *streaming* to their dvrs? if DTV can stream a movie to my phone, and DTV can stream a movie to my laptop, why do i still actually have to *DOWNLOAD* the movie to my DVR? you'd think by now they could figure out a way to stream to their own device.

Your internet bandwidth is going to be [and still is] the bottleneck.
OnDemand HD right now is close to streaming, with enough bandwidth from your ISP. I only need to wait a couple/few mins before I can start watching. I don't think I'd be happy with what a phone gets watching it on my HD TV screen.
DirecTV2PC sends full resolution to your laptop, and OnDemand is the same.
A.K.A VOS

#6 OFFLINE   curtmcgirt

curtmcgirt

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 4 posts
Joined: Jul 11, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 01:30 PM

i understand connection speed is a factor, but somehow netflix and amazon manage to *stream* movies instantly over the same internet connection that directv takes an hour to download a 30-minute tv show.

i love directv. i have been with them for a decade and hope i never live anywhere without a clear view of the southern sky. but let's be honest with each other. it's not streaming, and it's not even really on-demand. we live in a world with a hundred services that legitimately *stream* content literally *on-demand,* and directv is honestly pushing ... wait for it ...wait for it... wait for it longer for effect...an "overnight" download service.

an overnight. download. service.

(this forum won't let me post the URL to cinema overnight delivery because i'm too new.)

a little laughable, yes? "if you pay for a movie by noon, we're fairly confident we can get it onto your dvr about as fast as netflix could mail the dvd to you."

maybe they are trying to sell the idea that the acronym OD never meant "on demand" in the first place. "overnight delivery." ;-)

#7 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,219 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 08 August 2012 - 01:57 PM

I think you are missing one big difference though, video quality. DirecTV is sending out a high quality 1080i or 1080p signal for a lot of those On Demand shows. DirecTV everywhere, Amazon, Netflix, etc. tend to use a much lower bitrate for HD, or use an SD signal which means much smaller file sizes, and they are easier to stream.

Try using DirecTV's on demand for an SD show and I think you will see that you will be able to start watching it pretty much immediately.
Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy

#8 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 08 August 2012 - 03:05 PM

my on demand is pretty much simultaneously....just a coupleminutes and i can start viewing
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#9 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 04:20 PM

i understand connection speed is a factor, but somehow netflix and amazon manage to *stream* movies instantly over the same internet connection that directv takes an hour to download a 30-minute tv show.

I don't know what your connection speed is, nor whether your ISP is throttling your downloads.
I do know my speed and that my ISP isn't throttling me.
I can start watching OnDemand HD almost as soon as it shows up in my playlist. I think I normally get at least 1 min of program before I start watching.
"All those streaming" suppliers aren't going to look as good and Ondemand does on my HD TV. They still look a bit crappy on the PC monitor.
A.K.A VOS

#10 OFFLINE   jfam54

jfam54

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Aug 16, 2012

Posted 16 August 2012 - 07:17 PM

I'm having difficulty with the On Demand downloads. I have the Directv Whole home DVR. I also have a content filter which is also whole home called Bsecure. I have them to communicate with each other and it allows me to access the internet (ie, Pandora and YouTube.) However, it won't download on demand programming. It just stays at 0% for 24 hours and then disappears. I have had to "allow" certain websites at times for Bsecure to allow it, but not sure if that is the problem now. I've already allowed Directv.com and that didn't work. (If I turn off the filter and change the DNS numbers it will work.) Any ideas?

#11 OFFLINE   camo

camo

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 616 posts
Joined: Apr 15, 2010

Posted 16 August 2012 - 08:00 PM

I was surprised at what Directv was charging for a movie you download with services (like cable internet)we are already paying for. $7.99 for a movie you can't keep . With Amazon prime I get movies for free when I feel the need. Movies just aren't that high on my need list..Much of the old stuff is better quality anyway. IMO of course....I'm probably in the wrong forum saying movies just aren't that important. LOL I got directv for sports....

2-HR24-500
SWM Slimline Dish, MRV Ethernet, media share
70" Sharp AQUOS LC70LE640U
55"LG LH90, 47"JVC LCD's 32" Vizio plasma.
Onkyo SR876 SR receiver

Dish Hopper with sling

Wireless Joey


#12 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 16 August 2012 - 08:14 PM

I was surprised at what Directv was charging for a movie you download with services (like cable internet)we are already paying for. $7.99 for a movie you can't keep . With Amazon prime I get movies for free when I feel the need. Movies just aren't that high on my need list..Much of the old stuff is better quality anyway. IMO of course....I'm probably in the wrong forum saying movies just aren't that important. LOL I got directv for sports....

Fortunately not all the OnDemand is the PPV, as I don't watch PPV "unless" it comes with a credit before hand. ;)
A.K.A VOS

#13 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 21 August 2012 - 06:15 AM

I had AT&T DSL, but the 6 Mb/s service that tested at 5. It beat the hell out of the cable modem service I had before.
3 meg, is going to be just about 1 min for every min of an SD recording. You can start watching before it finishes though.
6 Meg [or 5 in my case] took 1.5 x for HD, so a one hour show would finish in 90 mins.
I'm on a 12 Meg now and HD comes at 1:1.


VOS i wanted to ask if you have "tuned" your modem/router to get these download speeds? I have the same speed from clink and I am no where near 1:1 on hd. Maybe im just always downloading whats popular and the server is the issue but when i had 20 meg(or even 12 meg) from the company formerly known as qwest my on demand was much quicker. I dont live in the same place so this may be a factor but my net speed tests at 11.5

any thoughts?

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#14 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 07:29 AM

VOS i wanted to ask if you have "tuned" your modem/router to get these download speeds? I have the same speed from clink and I am no where near 1:1 on hd. Maybe im just always downloading whats popular and the server is the issue but when i had 20 meg(or even 12 meg) from the company formerly known as qwest my on demand was much quicker. I dont live in the same place so this may be a factor but my net speed tests at 11.5

any thoughts?

My modems/routers haven't had any tweaks, and run default settings.
My 3 Mb/s cable modem service was horrible. I would have to download in the middle of the night to get a decent speed. I worked with them for a year trying to improve my service, but the last weekend I had it, SD was taking 14 to 20+ hrs.
I moved to AT&T 6 Mb/s DSL, which tested @ 5 Mb/s. SD came at 1:1 or better, and HD was about 1.5:1, any time of the day or night.
I'm now on their U-Verse with 11+ Mb/s tested connection. HD comes in at 1:1 or slightly better.
A.K.A VOS

#15 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:20 AM

My modems/routers haven't had any tweaks, and run default settings.
My 3 Mb/s cable modem service was horrible. I would have to download in the middle of the night to get a decent speed. I worked with them for a year trying to improve my service, but the last weekend I had it, SD was taking 14 to 20+ hrs.
I moved to AT&T 6 Mb/s DSL, which tested @ 5 Mb/s. SD came at 1:1 or better, and HD was about 1.5:1, any time of the day or night.
I'm now on their U-Verse with 11+ Mb/s tested connection. HD comes in at 1:1 or slightly better.


Lucky... I wonder if upload is my problem. Clink is 896k up and 12 meg down. While it tests fine I wonder how it really plays out in practical applications. What is you upload like VOS?

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#16 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 10:37 AM

Lucky... I wonder if upload is my problem. Clink is 896k up and 12 meg down. While it tests fine I wonder how it really plays out in practical applications. What is you upload like VOS?

If you're having problems, "I'd say" it may be your ISP.
Upload isn't your problem, because I've had much less without any.
500k was common before I got my current 12/1.5.
The old cable modem ISP clearly played games with me over the year I was working with them to improve my OnDemand.
At first I could tell the number of users online by testing my connection.
"They fixed this", by spoofing the test so it would always show full speed.
Downloading from Microsoft [large service packs] would download fine, but a SD VOD from DirecTV was being throttled by them. They clearly weren't going to support a TV service that was competing with their crappy cable TV service.
A.K.A VOS

#17 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,172 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 21 August 2012 - 11:57 AM

If you're having problems, "I'd say" it may be your ISP.
Upload isn't your problem, because I've had much less without any.
500k was common before I got my current 12/1.5.
The old cable modem ISP clearly played games with me over the year I was working with them to improve my OnDemand.
At first I could tell the number of users online by testing my connection.
"They fixed this", by spoofing the test so it would always show full speed.
Downloading from Microsoft [large service packs] would download fine, but a SD VOD from DirecTV was being throttled by them. They clearly weren't going to support a TV service that was competing with their crappy cable TV service.



What you are suggesting his provider is doing would run afoul of fcc regulations. I would doubt any reputable provider would be willing to do that and face the negative publicity.

Are you sure your issues weren't more a function of D*'s crappy servers. When DOD first came out, they were awful.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#18 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:13 PM

What you are suggesting his provider is doing would run afoul of fcc regulations. I would doubt any reputable provider would be willing to do that and face the negative publicity.

Are you sure your issues weren't more a function of D*'s crappy servers. When DOD first came out, they were awful.

ISP throttling is a known fact.

"Am I sure"?
Definitely, in my case.
I had both the cable service and the DSL for a few days/week and know for a fact it wasn't on the DirecTV end.
A.K.A VOS

#19 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,172 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:17 PM

ISP throttling is a known fact.


Throttling because going over a limit? Sure. Throttling in violation of net neutrality, I need more than just a statement saying it is so.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#20 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:25 PM

Throttling because going over a limit? Sure. Throttling in violation of net neutrality, I need more than just a statement saying it is so.

Fine, you need what you need.
I don't need more than what I experienced [and tested] to know for the cable company I had at the time.
I can't/won't say what another ISP is doing, until I could test it.
A.K.A VOS

#21 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 21 August 2012 - 12:40 PM

Throttling in violation of net neutrality,

Let me start by saying I'm in no way a "tinfoil hat" type, but in "the real world" a violation of "net neutrality" seems almost laughable.
Every company will have their own needs first, and then someone else's.
A.K.A VOS

#22 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 22 August 2012 - 09:11 AM

ISP throttling is a known fact.

"Am I sure"?
Definitely, in my case.
I had both the cable service and the DSL for a few days/week and know for a fact it wasn't on the DirecTV end.


I dont know if they are throttling per se, but not giving a decent upload speed does that automatically. I also know that they know how to recognize certain packet types and on occasion do slow those packets to perserve quality of service for other consumers. But i do think its not fair to sell 12 meg service if they arent prepared to back it up. Just my opinion.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...


#23 OFFLINE   veryoldschool

veryoldschool

    Lifetime Achiever

  • Moderators
  • 42,135 posts
Joined: Dec 09, 2006

Posted 22 August 2012 - 10:03 AM

I dont know if they are throttling per se, but not giving a decent upload speed does that automatically. I also know that they know how to recognize certain packet types and on occasion do slow those packets to perserve quality of service for other consumers. But i do think its not fair to sell 12 meg service if they arent prepared to back it up. Just my opinion.

"And they'll say" we only list it as "up to" speeds.
I got so pissed at my cable service for the same reason. "Sure I have 3 Mb/s" but only at 2 AM! :eek2:
At this time, they had way over sold the service and there were over 500 modems/customers on one node.
A year or two after I dumped them, they finally ran some more fiber and split the node.
A.K.A VOS

#24 OFFLINE   brett_the_bomb

brett_the_bomb

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 182 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 22 August 2012 - 01:04 PM

"And they'll say" we only list it as "up to" speeds.
I got so pissed at my cable service for the same reason. "Sure I have 3 Mb/s" but only at 2 AM! :eek2:
At this time, they had way over sold the service and there were over 500 modems/customers on one node.
A year or two after I dumped them, they finally ran some more fiber and split the node.


I remember when our local cable co sold a minimum speed and it could burst 20x faster if the node wasn't busy.

My setup: HR 44, HR34, 2x HR 24, 2x HR 23-700, 4x C31's, Nomad...





Protected By... spam firewall...And...