Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Reusing recycled drive from HR20


  • Please log in to reply
32 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 12:43 PM

I am trying to recycle the hard drive from a defunct HR20-100 Directivo. I tried it in Windows, OS X and Linux and although it showed as a 2.2 TB drive (odd, it's a Western Digital SATA 320GB drive) I couldn't get anywhere near reformating or erasing it; I get messages I can't write to it, that it has no partition map, etc. I've used it with 2 different USB enclosures; same result.

Is there any way to make this usable? It was working before I took the DVR out of play.

Rob

PS: I do have the right to mess with this drive; no need to replay with posts about leased equipment, yada yada.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,080 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 August 2012 - 02:02 PM

You'll need to get a partition program and remove the existing partitions then set it up for use with Windows. If you have a Linux box you can do it. Do a quick search for partition programs and you can find some free ones out there. I can't remember the one I used.

Also these drives are not the best for performance as the firmware is setup differently for DVR usage. If you use it as storage only you'll be fine but if you're using it for other things the performance won't be on par to other drives.

#3 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 02:26 PM

Thanks, but NONE of the partition or disk utility programs work. Not gparted, not fdisk, not diskutil, HP USB. It doesn't show any partition map, and any attempts to write to it at all fail. Is it somehow password protected?

I just wanna use it for archiving stuff.

#4 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,080 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 04 August 2012 - 02:34 PM

Last I checked no but I haven't done this in a long time as the performance wasn't worth the time and HD's are so cheap. There's a thread around here about copying them so you might want to read the part on how to mount and copy as that would let you mount and format.

#5 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 August 2012 - 02:35 PM

You need to unlock the drive. If the HR20 it was in was not shutdown properly then the drive is locked. You can search "drive unlock" and you should find the info you need.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#6 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 03:26 PM

Not sure what you mean. But the HR20 has an on/off button, and chose "off" and it shut down. I don't have Directv service any longer so there aren't any other options.

#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 August 2012 - 04:53 PM

Not sure what you mean. But the HR20 has an on/off button, and chose "off" and it shut down. I don't have Directv service any longer so there aren't any other options.


He just parroting some not knowledgeable ppl who post they BS here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ht=drive unlock
Worst case (usually the drives are OK for using anywhere) - you'll need run once a Linux cmd hdparm -s0 /dev/sdb

#8 OFFLINE   billsharpe

billsharpe

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,428 posts
  • LocationSouthern California
Joined: Jan 25, 2007

Posted 04 August 2012 - 05:03 PM

If you put any dollar value on the time spent working on this problem you'll no doubt be better off just buying a new drive.

Of course, what fun is that?
Bill

Family room: Sony Bravia KDL-40SL130
Living room: Sceptre 32 inch

#9 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 05:30 PM

He just parroting some not knowledgeable ppl who post they BS here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ht=drive unlock
Worst case (usually the drives are OK for using anywhere) - you'll need run once a Linux cmd hdparm -s0 /dev/sdb


Standby? I tried that. I keep getting the same error:

SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, yada yada.

And doesn't seem to spin up at all, although it will boot the old DVR.

Shows in gparted, but any attempts to partition get an error that it doesn't have a partition map, and it can't create on.

#10 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 August 2012 - 05:54 PM

Post SMART data here. Or bring it to Pebble Beach ;).

#11 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 07:07 PM

SMART data...as if.

But the spin advice is on the right track. There was a BTW in one of hdparm man pages I was looking at; I think that the puppy has a hardware pin setting to remain in standby and not spin up. So I connected it back to the DVR, and turned it on. As soon as it spun up, I yanked the data cord and attached it to my Mac. It showed up and I reformatted it.

But of course it wasn't that simple. If I tried to use it with my normal USB cabling, it wouldn't spin up. The simple format I did obviously didn't change the spin parameter. There are no obvious external jumpers or anything, so I assume this is still the firmware sensing a pin or something. The DVR might throw it some instruction to spin up; it can apparently reinstall some software from the DVR.

#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:29 PM

Not sure what you mean. But the HR20 has an on/off button, and chose "off" and it shut down. I don't have Directv service any longer so there aren't any other options.


There is no off button, only standby. If you pulled the plug while it was in standby you most certainly did not do a proper shutdown and the drive is locked.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:31 PM

He just parroting some not knowledgeable ppl who post they BS here: http://www.dbstalk.c...ht=drive unlock
Worst case (usually the drives are OK for using anywhere) - you'll need run once a Linux cmd hdparm -s0 /dev/sdb


I'm not "parroting" anything and it's NOT "BS". The drives get locked if you do not do a proper shutdown. I've had to unlock quite a few.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#14 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,359 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 04 August 2012 - 08:32 PM

Standby? I tried that. I keep getting the same error:

SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, yada yada.

And doesn't seem to spin up at all, although it will boot the old DVR.

Shows in gparted, but any attempts to partition get an error that it doesn't have a partition map, and it can't create on.


If it's not spinning up it is most certainly locked.

Do yourself a favor, save some time, and find a copy of MHD3 and unlock the drive.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#15 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:46 PM

Found that software but you have to put it into a PC; won't run but on master or slave internal cables, apparently, not from a USB drive. I least I couldn't get it to recognize a drive. And I can't tell if it is really locked; as I said, if I start it up within the DVR I can then reattach a USB/serial connector and format it.

It just won't stay that way when restarted outside the DVR. Gonna try a low-level format.

#16 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 August 2012 - 10:53 PM

Any formatting will NOT change the standby mode.

You are talking about a content of normally using sectors, while the mode(s) stored in service track , what is not available to you. Try to get hdparm -s0 working first.

BTW, what exactly model number? Please post all letters (not that way as you posted SMART data ).

Oh, last thing first - "HR20-100 Directivo" ?! Seems to me it's normal DTV DVR HR20-100, not a TiVo ... Perhaps you mangled with numbers ? ;)

In case you mistyped the numbers and it is really UTV, then try the mhd3 from here http://www.dealdatab...nlocker-for-UTV
but I have my doubts: the program from 2003, written for UTV drives, these drives are IDE/PATA and you'll need to find [Asus or Abit] motherboard what have in BIOS setting to treat SATA drives as IDE.

Edited by P Smith, 04 August 2012 - 11:05 PM.


#17 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:07 PM

Oops, sorry. Just a DTV DVR.

Drive is wd3200js, lba625142448

Still get that "SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, sb[]: " error when trying -s0

#18 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 04 August 2012 - 11:41 PM

Oops, sorry. Just a DTV DVR.

Drive is wd3200js, lba625142448

Still get that "SG_IO: bad/missing sense data, sb[]: " error when trying -s0


I did emphasize on FULL model name, but you gave reduced info. It has more letters after dash.

And where is SMART data ?

Try bootable CD with MHDD 4.5 or 4.6; press Shift-F2 to obtain extended info about security level and its status.

#19 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:36 AM

It has a mdl no of wd3200js-63pdb1.

DCM isdhbaca2chn, if that matters.

And as noted previously, none of the tools I have used can access any SMART info on this drive. Not even the serial no. Which is probably diagnostic. This is true of both the drives I've been testing.

And the symptoms persist whether I used the SATA power connection or the legacy power.

thanks for the help. I'm working on MHDDset up; good suggestion.

#20 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 August 2012 - 01:04 PM

I will wait for MHDD's info ...

#21 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 07 August 2012 - 01:21 PM

Finally got it:

smartctl 5.41 2011-06-09 r3365 [i686-linux-3.0.0-23-generic] (local build)
Copyright © 2002-11 by Bruce Allen, http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net

ATA device successfully opened

Use 'smartctl -a' (or '-x') to print SMART (and more) information
...
smartctl 5.41 2011-06-09 r3365 [i686-linux-3.0.0-23-generic] (local build)
Copyright © 2002-11 by Bruce Allen, http://smartmontools.sourceforge.net

=== START OF INFORMATION SECTION ===
Model Family: Western Digital Caviar SE Serial ATA
Device Model: WDC WD3200JS-63PDB1
Serial Number: WD-WCAPD5176403
Firmware Version: 21.00M22
User Capacity: 320,072,933,376 bytes [320 GB]
Sector Size: 512 bytes logical/physical
Device is: In smartctl database [for details use: -P show]
ATA Version is: 7
ATA Standard is: Exact ATA specification draft version not indicated
Local Time is: Sun Aug 5 14:39:27 2012 PDT
SMART support is: Available - device has SMART capability.
SMART support is: Enabled

=== START OF READ SMART DATA SECTION ===
SMART overall-health self-assessment test result: PASSED

General SMART Values:
Offline data collection status: (0x82) Offline data collection activity
was completed without error.
Auto Offline Data Collection: Enabled.
Self-test execution status: ( 0) The previous self-test routine completed
without error or no self-test has ever
been run.
Total time to complete Offline
data collection: ( 9600) seconds.
Offline data collection
capabilities: (0x7b) SMART execute Offline immediate.
Auto Offline data collection on/off support.
Suspend Offline collection upon new
command.
Offline surface scan supported.
Self-test supported.
Conveyance Self-test supported.
Selective Self-test supported.
SMART capabilities: (0x0003) Saves SMART data before entering
power-saving mode.
Supports SMART auto save timer.
Error logging capability: (0x01) Error logging supported.
General Purpose Logging supported.
Short self-test routine
recommended polling time: ( 2) minutes.
Extended self-test routine
recommended polling time: ( 111) minutes.
Conveyance self-test routine
recommended polling time: ( 6) minutes.
SCT capabilities: (0x103f) SCT Status supported.
SCT Error Recovery Control supported.
SCT Feature Control supported.
SCT Data Table supported.

SMART Attributes Data Structure revision number: 16
Vendor Specific SMART Attributes with Thresholds:
ID# ATTRIBUTE_NAME FLAG VALUE WORST THRESH TYPE UPDATED WHEN_FAILED RAW_VALUE
1 Raw_Read_Error_Rate 0x000f 200 200 051 Pre-fail Always - 0
3 Spin_Up_Time 0x0003 218 190 021 Pre-fail Always - 4091
4 Start_Stop_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 51
5 Reallocated_Sector_Ct 0x0033 200 200 140 Pre-fail Always - 0
7 Seek_Error_Rate 0x000f 200 200 051 Pre-fail Always - 0
9 Power_On_Hours 0x0032 049 049 000 Old_age Always - 37655
10 Spin_Retry_Count 0x0013 100 253 051 Pre-fail Always - 0
11 Calibration_Retry_Count 0x0013 100 253 051 Pre-fail Always - 0
12 Power_Cycle_Count 0x0032 100 100 000 Old_age Always - 41
190 Airflow_Temperature_Cel 0x0022 068 047 000 Old_age Always - 32
194 Temperature_Celsius 0x0022 118 097 000 Old_age Always - 32
196 Reallocated_Event_Count 0x0032 200 200 000 Old_age Always - 0
197 Current_Pending_Sector 0x0012 200 200 000 Old_age Always - 1
198 Offline_Uncorrectable 0x0010 200 200 000 Old_age Offline - 1
199 UDMA_CRC_Error_Count 0x003e 200 200 000 Old_age Always - 0
200 Multi_Zone_Error_Rate 0x0009 200 200 051 Pre-fail Offline - 1

SMART Error Log Version: 1
No Errors Logged

SMART Self-test log structure revision number 1
No self-tests have been logged. [To run self-tests, use: smartctl -t]


SMART Selective self-test log data structure revision number 1
SPAN MIN_LBA MAX_LBA CURRENT_TEST_STATUS
1 0 0 Not_testing
2 0 0 Not_testing
3 0 0 Not_testing
4 0 0 Not_testing
5 0 0 Not_testing
Selective self-test flags (0x0):
After scanning selected spans, do NOT read-scan remainder of disk.
If Selective self-test is pending on power-up, resume after 0 minute delay.


I saw a post with info about using MHDD to run a script to reset the PUIS setting, which I've read gets stuck on even without the jumper attached, and due to a bug in the firmware and controller. One problem for me though is that the only way I can access this is via USB, and some solutions require booting with the drive attached to internal SATA cables, which I don't have.

I'm doing some of this with virtual Linux/DOS/Windows on a Mac. Kinda of an interesting trip to the past, especially since I can't remember any DOS commands. Since the virtuals are on the Mac, it might be worthwhile to note that restarting the Mac with the drive attached via usb, but spun up, the Mac refused to boot...removed the drive's USB connector and it booted fine.

Obviously this has become an obsession :nono2:

#22 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:01 PM

Try get MHDD running - I'm waiting Security attributes off the drive...

#23 OFFLINE   rob_gendeau

rob_gendeau

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 18 posts
Joined: Dec 04, 2005

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:15 PM

Virtually impossible...literally, I think. Just couldn't get any DOS to run and see a USB/serial adapter. Got HDAT2 to see it on a PC, but when I tried a USB stick with the PUIS script, it crashed the whole PC, taking the XP installation on the hard drive with it (should've manually uncabled it I guess, but really).

Finding a bootable DOS combo that could get the machine running just so I could run that script might be possible, might not, on the equipment I had. Just wasn't worth it. Can't believe that tools don't exist to fix it, but WD isn't gonna make it available. Remind me not to buy any of there drives in the future.

Ended up reformatting by using Ryobi Variable Speed Drill; it's a great tool, easy to use interface and you can't beat the secure erase :hurah:

#24 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,386 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:42 PM

"Ended up reformatting by using Ryobi Variable Speed Drill"- eeeeh ! Are you really broke the drive ?

Told yeah - bring it here. You would have another good drive to your PC.

#25 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    DaBears

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 6,080 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 07 August 2012 - 06:53 PM

HD platters make good coasters




Protected By... spam firewall...And...