Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

Signal Strength Question


  • Please log in to reply
12 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   Opie

Opie

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:43 PM

I've been getting pixelation during the Olympics on NBC on DirecTV. Is this is a signal strength problem? I am in Raleigh, NC. I was installed about five years ago. Thanks for any advice you have.

Satellite transponders (32 total at 101º)
1-8 98 98 98 96 97 100 98 100
9-16 97 99 99 91 98 100 98 100
17-24 98 85 98 95 98 100 98 100
25-32 98 0 97 99 98 100 96 100


Satellite transponders (3 total at 110º)
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA 94
9-16 NA 95 NA 94 NA NA NA NA


Satellite transponders (11 total at 119º)
17-24 NA NA NA NA NA 97 98 99
25-32 0 100 100 97 0 98 100 97


Satellite transponders (14 total at 99º(c or a))
1-8 95 96 92 95 93 95 91 95
9-16 90 95 89 95 94 95 NA NA


Satellite transponders (6 total at 99º(s or B))
1-8 0 77 25 76 82 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 95 92
17-24 56 33 93 95 94 95 95 96


Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(s or B))
1-8 0 94 0 73 0 0 NA NA
9-16 NA NA NA NA NA NA 0 57
17-24 0 0 73 61 95 89 0 10


Satellite transponders (16 total at 103º(c or a))
1-8 NA NA NA NA NA NA NA NA
9-16 95 95 95 92 95 95 94 95
17-24 92 95 95 95 95 93 96 95


SWM
1-8 96 94 95 94 95 92 95
9-16 95 95 93 95 95 95 NA NA


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Davenlr

Davenlr

    Geek til I die

  • Registered
  • 9,090 posts
Joined: Sep 16, 2006

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:48 PM

I would say it is not a signal strength issue.

Tivo Premier XL4, Tivo Premier, Tivo HD whole home on Xfinity HD, DirecTv Whole Home with 39" high gain KaKu dish, Roku3,SageTv 8 TB Win8 Server -> DVDO Edge-> Denon AVR, Klipsch KB15's/Panasonic 55ST60 plasma"


#3 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:55 PM

I've been getting pixelation during the Olympics on NBC on DirecTV. Is this is a signal strength problem? I am in Raleigh, NC. I was installed about five years ago. Thanks for any advice you have.
...


You'll spent less time and get more info, if you'll take the channel(s) number and will find in gct's XLS table on which sat/tpn it located, then just check the one transponder and watch its fluctuations of a signal for a few minutes.

#4 OFFLINE   Opie

Opie

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:57 PM

Thank you - will look for that now...

Edited by Opie, 05 August 2012 - 10:03 PM.


#5 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 August 2012 - 09:58 PM

Take it from gct's thread/tables.

#6 OFFLINE   Opie

Opie

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 05 August 2012 - 10:29 PM

Thank you for this - looks like it is 103s #21 - strength looks good there - assuming signal strength is not the issue, can you point me to a thread to chase down the real issue? I'm using a HR20-700.

Edited by Opie, 05 August 2012 - 10:37 PM.


#7 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Registered
  • 20,051 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 05 August 2012 - 11:43 PM

Ah ... I can answer now - your DVR's tuner(s) dying (typical for HR20-700). Time to replace the old horse. :)

#8 OFFLINE   Opie

Opie

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 06 August 2012 - 06:29 AM

Which box should I ask for? I have an antenna as well so I'd like to be able to switch between the dish and the antenna if needed. I also have an older HDTV that doesn't have HDMI - only component video. And the new box should be free, right?

#9 OFFLINE   carl6

carl6

    Hall Of Fame

  • Moderators
  • 11,232 posts
  • LocationSeattle, WA
Joined: Nov 15, 2005

Posted 06 August 2012 - 08:16 AM

You can't specify what replacement you will get. If you must have OTA, then you might get another HR20. If not, if you get an HR21, 22, 23 or 24, then you will need to add the AM21 tuner (an external box).

As to cost, if you have the equipment replacement plan, there should be no cost. If not, you will probably have to pay cost of shipping for the replacement.

#10 OFFLINE   Opie

Opie

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 21 posts
Joined: Nov 29, 2006

Posted 06 August 2012 - 01:23 PM

Thank you for the responses. I called D* and ordered an HR34. I can still cancel so I'm debating it - I only have two TVs connected to D* - the one currently connected to the HR20-700 (which I will disconnect), and an OLD Tivo box connected upstairs (SD). Will I need a new multiplexer (or anything else) to connect the new HR34?

Edited by Opie, 06 August 2012 - 03:21 PM.


#11 OFFLINE   JoeTheDragon

JoeTheDragon

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,243 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2008

Posted 06 August 2012 - 01:48 PM

Thank you for the responses. I called D* and ordered an HR34. I can still cancel so I'm debating it - I only have two TVs connected to D* - the one currently connected to the HR20-700 (which I will disconnect), and an OLD Tivo box connected upstairs (SD). Will I need a new multiplexer (or anything else) to connect the new HR34?

Also I'm using a Linksys router in bridge mode (with DD-WRT) as my "cinema connection kit" with the HR20 - will this work with the HR34?


Old tivo box does not work with SWIM but the HR20 does.
I want CLTV / CLTV HD on direct tv.

#12 OFFLINE   darklight

darklight

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 45 posts
Joined: Feb 06, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:26 PM

I have a HR-22 in Charlotte, having the exact same issue with NBC and only NBC. Having to watch the SD channel really blows.
DTV Gear: HR-20, R15
HDTV: Sony Grand Wega KDF-50WE655 50", HDMI
Receiver: Onkyo TX-SR606
Speakers: Yes

#13 OFFLINE   rta53

rta53

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 103 posts
Joined: Apr 10, 2010

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:02 PM

I have a HR-22 in Charlotte, having the exact same issue with NBC and only NBC. Having to watch the SD channel really blows.


Having the same issue. I'm Mebane.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...