Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

HR34 VOD and recordings freezing


  • Please log in to reply
72 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   meckems

meckems

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2012

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:04 PM

During playback of a VOD show or movie, the playback will freeze for 20-30 seconds and then jump ahead in the show 3-4 minutes. It will do this throughout the show. It makes the show unwatchable. I will sometimes have to download the show 5-8 times before I get a watchable one. During playback of a recorded tv show, there are sometimes 2-3 second pauses in the video. There are no pixalation or signal issues.



This is not due to my setup or my equipment. This is my 2nd DVR and it is doing the same thing the first DVR was doing. The technician that came to the house also put the deca adaptor on. My internet is 25Mbps down and 3Mbps up. Everthing is hard wired, no wireless. My network is sound since I manage and install networks for a living. HDMI to the tv and I have tried several cables.



I have called and complained numerous times and nothing happens. I sometimes think that half the tech support at Directv should be fired with the advice they give. The last one I spoke with actually seemed to know what he was doing and he told me that others were having the same problems and that their engineers were working on the software. From what I have read, the problem should have been fixed with this last update but it was not??


Has anyone out there heard anything about this issue or when it may be fixed or am I just doomed to continue to pay for lousy service? I don't want to have to pay to break my contract because they can't seem to fix whatever is wrong with the box. Any suggestions??

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:07 PM

:welcome_s to DBSTalk!

Sorry to ask a silly question but have you tried downloading a completely different program? On Demand downloads to your hard drive, so your internet speed only determines how long it takes.

I have no doubt that everything is fine with your home network, and I have to wonder if the problem is with the source material or the server that's feeding it to you.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#3 OFFLINE   meckems

meckems

    New Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 3 posts
Joined: Aug 07, 2012

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:13 PM

Anything that I download that is VOD can have the problem. Every now and then I get one that is perfect, but that is rare. It is really bad when I download a SD program. The HD programs freeze, but not as often as the SD programs.

#4 OFFLINE   Yoda-DBSguy

Yoda-DBSguy

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 1,081 posts
  • LocationA Galaxy Far, Far Away.....
Joined: Nov 04, 2006

Posted 07 August 2012 - 03:29 PM

The HR34 has a known issue/bug with VOD content skipping forward several mins then playing for a tad then skipping again.....

This should be addressed in upcomming firmware updates.

If you have other HD DVRS (any HR2x model) a temp work around is to d/l the vod on them, then the playback from the HR34 is normal and watchable.

#5 OFFLINE   T-Mac

T-Mac

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:44 AM

I've had this same issue several times with my 34. I've completely abandoned VOD because of it, it is totally useless.

As for a fix coming soon, I hope so.

#6 OFFLINE   ndole

ndole

    Problem Solver

  • Registered
  • 1,892 posts
Joined: Aug 26, 2009

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:38 AM

The HR34 has a known issue/bug with VOD content skipping forward several mins then playing for a tad then skipping again.....

This should be addressed in upcomming firmware updates.

If you have other HD DVRS (any HR2x model) a temp work around is to d/l the vod on them, then the playback from the HR34 is normal and watchable.


Bingo.
"He that is good for making excuses is seldom good for anything else."

#7 OFFLINE   slacker_x

slacker_x

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 50 posts
Joined: Oct 08, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:01 AM

I've had this same issue several times with my 34. I've completely abandoned VOD because of it, it is totally useless.

As for a fix coming soon, I hope so.


I myself have also abandoned VOD for the time being. It makes me angry that VOD doesn't work as with the HBO change to have all their old programs I would like to be able to watch some of the shows but it doesn't work on the HR34 so there's no point. I have called to complain and would like it if more people did so they realized its something they need to fix.

#8 OFFLINE   kepper

kepper

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 01:59 PM

I myself have also abandoned VOD for the time being. It makes me angry that VOD doesn't work as with the HBO change to have all their old programs I would like to be able to watch some of the shows but it doesn't work on the HR34 so there's no point. I have called to complain and would like it if more people did so they realized its something they need to fix.


I'm in the same situation with my HR34 that was installed two weeks ago and spoke to DTV about it... They indicated this is a known problem after I spent 45 minutes on the phone waiting in queue and speaking to several people.

Call D if you want, but there are MANY more productive ways to spend time IMHO.

As someone recommended, I have been recording shows on my other DVRs instead of the HR34 and playing them back on the HR34.

#9 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:24 AM

Does this problem exists on both wired and wireless setups? My wife depends a lot on VOD and I am to get the HR34 next week and remove my two other DVR's

#10 OFFLINE   T-Mac

T-Mac

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:31 AM

My setup is wired. I've had the freezing/skipping issue with the cck wired to the router and also when the HR34 is wired directly to router (no cck).

#11 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,822 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:48 AM

There is new firmware this morning for HR34. You might want to see if it fixes your problem.
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.

#12 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:24 AM

There is new firmware this morning for HR34. You might want to see if it fixes your problem.


Don't hold your breath guys. :(
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#13 OFFLINE   T-Mac

T-Mac

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 92 posts
Joined: Feb 16, 2012

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:42 AM

Don't hold your breath guys. :(


Are you saying you've tested VOD on the new firmware and still had the problem?

#14 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 08:59 AM

Are you saying you've tested VOD on the new firmware and still had the problem?


Yup, even with a brand new VOD download from this morning.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#15 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:35 AM

During playback of a VOD show or movie, the playback will freeze for 20-30 seconds and then jump ahead in the show 3-4 minutes. It will do this throughout the show. It makes the show unwatchable. I will sometimes have to download the show 5-8 times before I get a watchable one. During playback of a recorded tv show, there are sometimes 2-3 second pauses in the video. There are no pixalation or signal issues.



This is not due to my setup or my equipment. This is my 2nd DVR and it is doing the same thing the first DVR was doing. The technician that came to the house also put the deca adaptor on. My internet is 25Mbps down and 3Mbps up. Everthing is hard wired, no wireless. My network is sound since I manage and install networks for a living. HDMI to the tv and I have tried several cables.



I have called and complained numerous times and nothing happens. I sometimes think that half the tech support at Directv should be fired with the advice they give. The last one I spoke with actually seemed to know what he was doing and he told me that others were having the same problems and that their engineers were working on the software. From what I have read, the problem should have been fixed with this last update but it was not??


Has anyone out there heard anything about this issue or when it may be fixed or am I just doomed to continue to pay for lousy service? I don't want to have to pay to break my contract because they can't seem to fix whatever is wrong with the box. Any suggestions??


I have dealt with the same issue with VOD for months. Finally did a RBR after being just sick of it and have had no problems since then.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#16 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,313 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:37 AM

Yup, even with a brand new VOD download from this morning.


I guess I feel lucky that a RBR a few weeks ago seemed to cure my problems. That being said I have not tried it today.
Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-200 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR34-700 Leased. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800

#17 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,675 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 11:44 AM

I guess I feel lucky that a RBR a few weeks ago seemed to cure my problems. That being said I have not tried it today.


It doesn't happen on every VOD download so you may have just gotten lucky. I've been downloading Deadwood episodes and it seems like every other episod has at least one issue.
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#18 OFFLINE   reubenray

reubenray

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 437 posts
Joined: Jun 26, 2002

Posted 18 August 2012 - 03:29 PM

I had my HR34 installed this week and the VOD stutters on every SD show that is recorded. I have not tested a HD recording yet. I have also had some freezing up of recordings occur today. It has the latest firmware installed. Will the RBR help what is already recorded?

#19 OFFLINE   kepper

kepper

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 19 posts
Joined: Nov 17, 2005

Posted 18 August 2012 - 09:01 PM

I had my HR34 installed this week and the VOD stutters on every SD show that is recorded. I have not tested a HD recording yet. I have also had some freezing up of recordings occur today. It has the latest firmware installed. Will the RBR help what is already recorded?


It did not resolve the same problem for me- it is a known issue.

#20 OFFLINE   misbe

misbe

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 1 posts
Joined: Feb 13, 2012

Posted 09 September 2012 - 06:45 AM

When will we know that D* has in fact fixed the problem? Or if they are even working on the problem?




spam firewall