Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

new contract with hd dvr even if you dont sign for it?


  • Please log in to reply
71 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   suncom3

suncom3

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 12:48 AM

called dtv about issues I was having with a older hd dvr,they wanted to swap it out,I was out of contract at the time and didnt want to commit to anothter 2 yrs,after some time talking with csa they agreed to that. They sent a install guy out with the new hd dvr to swap,he asked me sign the new agreement when he was done,I said no,I worked that out with dtv,he said alright and left.

a month later I called them about a billing issue and they say im in a new 2 yr contract? how is that possible?

They do shady things in the way they operate...so in lieu of going to court what are the ways out of a contract,moving to a location where they wont let you have a dish or the dish wont work,the house burns down,military deployment,any others?

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#2 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,279 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 02:08 AM

Follow the link in my signature to the tips and resources page if you look through there you'll find a link to DirecTV's website where you can send an email explaining the situation to Ellen's team who deals with issues such as this. You shouldn't of had to start a new contract it is just a simple mistake unfortunately not everybody knows how to fix these mistakes. The people at that email will be able to fix your issue with ease.

#3 OFFLINE   n3vino

n3vino

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 374 posts
  • LocationLeon Valley(San Antonio), Texas
Joined: Oct 02, 2011

Posted 08 August 2012 - 06:55 AM

called dtv about issues I was having with a older hd dvr,they wanted to swap it out,I was out of contract at the time and didnt want to commit to anothter 2 yrs,after some time talking with csa they agreed to that. They sent a install guy out with the new hd dvr to swap,he asked me sign the new agreement when he was done,I said no,I worked that out with dtv,he said alright and left.

a month later I called them about a billing issue and they say im in a new 2 yr contract? how is that possible?

They do shady things in the way they operate...so in lieu of going to court what are the ways out of a contract,moving to a location where they wont let you have a dish or the dish wont work,the house burns down,military deployment,any others?


You are not supposed to get into a contract for them exchanging out a bad box, usually with a compatible box. However, you will get into a contract if you upgrade your equipment. I believe an HR34 would be an upgrade since those are the only HR's that you can request by model. Did you upgrade any receivers such as from SD to HD or to DVR? Was anything else done in order to handle the new Box before swapping it out?

1 HDR 34

1 HDR 24-500
2 HD 25's
Slimline Dish 3LNB
Whole Home DVR

 

Epa, Epa, Andale, Andale, Arriba, Arriba, Eeeha


#4 OFFLINE   CCarncross

CCarncross

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 7,058 posts
  • LocationJackson
Joined: Jul 19, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:15 AM

What older model HD DVR did you have replaced, and what was it replaced with? ANswer that question and it will pretty much determine if you should have had a 2 year extension.

#5 OFFLINE   bigmike200587

bigmike200587

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 44 posts
Joined: Oct 24, 2009

Posted 08 August 2012 - 07:35 AM

called dtv about issues I was having with a older hd dvr,they wanted to swap it out,I was out of contract at the time and didnt want to commit to anothter 2 yrs,after some time talking with csa they agreed to that. They sent a install guy out with the new hd dvr to swap,he asked me sign the new agreement when he was done,I said no,I worked that out with dtv,he said alright and left.

a month later I called them about a billing issue and they say im in a new 2 yr contract? how is that possible?

They do shady things in the way they operate...so in lieu of going to court what are the ways out of a contract,moving to a location where they wont let you have a dish or the dish wont work,the house burns down,military deployment,any others?


You need to call and ask the following. When the order was placed for this receiver was it submitted as an ERP (Equipment Replacement Program) or was it done as an Upgrade? There are still some issues in the DTV system that shows an erp with a contract. This happens when the technician does not actually close out the erp order instead makes a shortcut and just puts that they are activating a receiver and then puts in the information so it looks like he done an upgrade while at your house. (i don't think they do this for money reasons just a shortcut to make the activation faster instead of pulling the order) I run into it several times a week. If it can be determined that it should have been an ERP instead of an upgrade the contract will always show on there but it can be documented that it is invalid and if you ever go to cancel you would just refer back to the date and it will be all good.


Mike
Self Built Xion Intel Core 2 Quad 2.4 GHz
Windows 7 64bit, 8 GB Ram

I am a DIRECTV employee however all views, expressions, opinions, facts, platitudes, conjecture, compliments, criticisms, are mine even if logic dictates otherwise and are not on behalf of DIRECTV, TiVo, Thompson/RCA, Technicolor, LG, Samsung, Zinwell, or any company that may or may not be affiliated, contracted with, in the same country, making money, not for profit, or a government entity.

#6 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,251 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:49 AM

called dtv about issues I was having with a older hd dvr,they wanted to swap it out,I was out of contract at the time and didnt want to commit to anothter 2 yrs,after some time talking with csa they agreed to that. They sent a install guy out with the new hd dvr to swap,he asked me sign the new agreement when he was done,I said no,I worked that out with dtv,he said alright and left.

a month later I called them about a billing issue and they say im in a new 2 yr contract? how is that possible?

They do shady things in the way they operate...so in lieu of going to court what are the ways out of a contract,moving to a location where they wont let you have a dish or the dish wont work,the house burns down,military deployment,any others?

Standard operating procedure. These aren't mistakes. It's done on purpose, and they hope you won't notice. Every time I swapped out a defective box for the same model, they re-upped my contract. I always had to call to get it fixed. I think it's very dishonest.

#7 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,560 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:53 AM

Standard operating procedure. These aren't mistakes. It's done on purpose, and they hope you won't notice. Every time I swapped out a defective box for the same model, they re-upped my contract. I always had to call to get it fixed. I think it's very dishonest.


If its SOP then it would happen to everyone. I've had several swap outs over the years. None changed my contract.

#8 OFFLINE   GerryC

GerryC

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
Joined: Aug 25, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 08:58 AM

If its SOP then it would happen to everyone. I've had several swap outs over the years. None changed my contract.


I agree. I replaced two defective receivers in the last year and it did not change my contract.

Slimeline,  SWM-16

1 HR44-500

1 HR20-100
2 HR22-100


#9 OFFLINE   iceman2a

iceman2a

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 541 posts
  • LocationBOSTON, MA.
Joined: Dec 30, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:19 AM

Standard operating procedure. These aren't mistakes. It's done on purpose, and they hope you won't notice. Every time I swapped out a defective box for the same model, they re-upped my contract. I always had to call to get it fixed. I think it's very dishonest.


NEVER had this happen when replacing a def. box! So it's not SOP!
_______________
Slimline5 ODU
swm16
HR34/700/AM21
HR21-200
HR20/700
2 H21-200

#10 OFFLINE   joshjr

joshjr

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 4,378 posts
  • LocationNE Oklahoma
Joined: Aug 02, 2008

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:25 AM

NEVER had this happen when replacing a def. box! So it's not SOP!


Your lucky. I have had it happen more times then i can count. Granted part of my problems are that they activate the replacement as a leased box instead of owned for owned but I call the Access Card Department as soon as they leave and have it corrected every time.

Directv & Sunday Ticket Sub Since 8/19/2008
HR24-200 Leased, HR24-100 Owned, R22-200 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR22-100 Owned, HR44-500 Owned. 5 LNB Setup W/SWM 16 Switch
Sony KDL-46HX800


#11 OFFLINE   Barry in Conyers

Barry in Conyers

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 354 posts
Joined: Jan 14, 2008

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:44 AM

"Mistakes" like this don't just happen; they are either caused to happen or allowed to happen. Either way, it is a sign of sloppy management.

#12 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,393 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:46 AM

I just ordered a replacement box yesterday and as part of the closing spiel, the CSR specifically stated that since this was a replacement DVR, it would not extend my contract.

#13 OFFLINE   trh

trh

    This Space for Sale

  • Registered
  • 3,393 posts
  • LocationNE FL
Joined: Nov 02, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:51 AM

...so in lieu of going to court what are the ways out of a contract,moving to a location where they wont let you have a dish or the dish wont work,the house burns down,military deployment,any others?


I think the best and cheapest way out if a contract is to pay the ETF you agreed to in the contract. I'm not sure if any of your items would get you out of the contract.

#14 OFFLINE   mdavej

mdavej

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,251 posts
Joined: Jan 30, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:57 AM

If its SOP then it would happen to everyone. I've had several swap outs over the years. None changed my contract.


I agree. I replaced two defective receivers in the last year and it did not change my contract.


NEVER had this happen when replacing a def. box! So it's not SOP!

My guess is you guys always activate through the access card department. If you go through the normal channels like us other poor schmucks who don't know any better, then you get re-upped. I've had more than one CSR tell me that ALL receivers automatically start a new contract unless you call back to get it fixed, or unless you activate through the access card department to begin with. Not that I believe anything a CSR says, but it has proven to be true for me and many others. So I still contend it's SOP. It's happened to at least 3 people in this thread alone.

#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,560 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:07 AM

My guess is you guys always activate through the access card department. If you go through the normal channels like us other poor schmucks who don't know any better, then you get re-upped. I've had more than one CSR tell me that ALL receivers automatically start a new contract unless you call back to get it fixed, or unless you activate through the access card department to begin with. Not that I believe anything a CSR says, but it has proven to be true for me and many others. So I still contend it's SOP. It's happened to at least 3 people in this thread alone.


I have never talked to the access card department. I had some issue, they sent me a new box, installed and activated the new one, returned the bad one. No contract and through a regular CSR.

#16 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 535 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 08 August 2012 - 10:14 AM

i had box replaced more then 10 times, (long story) without no new contract

#17 OFFLINE   suncom3

suncom3

    Cool Member

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 16 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:19 AM

so to get this fixed months later you can either call and ask for the accsess dept or email ellens team?
I had a older hd dvr dont know the model,one of the original ones for hd..It was having issues,very slow,I called in and they wanted to swap it out for "up to date" hd dvr,I didnt request anything but ended up with a hr25.I was upfront with them about not wanting another contract if they were to do this,they did agree to this before hand.

while the tech was here,he said i had a older lnb,he swapped it out for the swm type and set it up to work with my wireless internet.

#18 OFFLINE   sdirv

sdirv

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 524 posts
Joined: Dec 14, 2008

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:45 AM

My comments here will probably make me "unpopular" (again).

I don't understand the obsession people have to being "out of contract".

I've been with D* for several years and could care less whether I'm "in contract" or "out of contract".....since I want D*'s services, have no desire in any of my wildest dreams to switch to Dish or a variety of local, available cable TV carriers, and am not interested in "cutting the cord" (I supplement my Premier Package with Netflix)......

Being "in contract" or "out" is pretty meaningless to me.....I've been in this house for 15 years. I originally had Qwest's (my phone company) cable TV offering until they discontinued it and replaced it with D*. Been happily with D* ever since.

To me, it's the same as my cell phone service. I like the service and the hardware. why would it matter if I'm in contract or out????

Edited by sdirv, 08 August 2012 - 11:53 AM.


#19 OFFLINE   celticpride

celticpride

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 968 posts
Joined: Sep 06, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:47 AM

That was one of the reasons i left directv 2 years ago,I had a bad dvr exchanged ,I was mad because i only had a few months to go on my contract and they extended me another 2 years or was it one year? ,Anyway i couldnt renegotiate a new deal for that time period,so when it ended i went to verizon fios,now i want to comeback to directv. I'm waiting to see if verizon will carry all the nba league pass channels in HD,my only hurdle is my wife likes the fios but i always loved directv! stupid me i should never had left!,BUT i was upset at all the problems i was having with D*

#20 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,279 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 08 August 2012 - 11:50 AM

Standard operating procedure. These aren't mistakes. It's done on purpose, and they hope you won't notice. Every time I swapped out a defective box for the same model, they re-upped my contract. I always had to call to get it fixed. I think it's very dishonest.


Sorry but I have a problem with anyone saying its done on purpose. I have had and know others that have had to swap out a unit and not have this happen to them. I think it's either poor or not enough training or a csr gets paid different if there is a re up and they do it for themselves in which case they should be fired.




Protected By... spam firewall...And...