Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk, like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community, but don't worry this is a simple free process that requires minimal information for you to signup. Be a part of DBSTalk by signing in or creating an account.
  • Start new topics and reply to others
  • Subscribe to topics and forums to get email updates
  • Get your own profile page and make new friends
  • Send personal messages to other members.
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Charge remotes for upgrade??


  • Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   jbci

jbci

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 28 posts
Joined: Jan 28, 2007

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:36 PM

I just received 2 replacement HD DVR's for an old SD Tivo reveiver and a SD tuner. The only thing that came in the box was the receivers and card. No cables or converters, no remote and not even a power cord.

I called DTV and the rep told me I had to use the old ones from my old receivers. She didn't quite understand why the 10 year old Tivo remote wouldn't work with the new receiver. I asked to speak with someone else and was transferrred.

The new agent I spoke to apologized and after almost 40 minutes on the phone agreed to send the cables and converters but insisted on charging me for remotes. At that point I told him to cancel my service if he expected me to have 200+ channels and have to get up and walk to the TV every time I wanted to change them. He realized how stupid that sounded and after 20 more minutes figured out how to send me the remotes for free.

What is DirecTV thinking???

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   spartanstew

spartanstew

    Dry as a bone

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,426 posts
  • LocationWylie, Texas
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 08 August 2012 - 09:37 PM

I'm glad you got it straightened out.

I'm sure Directv can't wait to get their hands on your unit.

 
Directv customer since 2000

#3 OFFLINE   rsblaski

rsblaski

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 801 posts
Joined: Jul 06, 2003

Posted 10 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

What is DirecTV thinking???


Nobody really knows, including D*.
I got my "anniversary" dvr for the cost of shipping. I told them it was going to be an addition, not a replacement. I got an HR21 with no remote and no DECA. I called and got them shipped without any problem or cost.
When taking an order, the CSR can see on the screen what equipment and service the caller has, and what is needed to connect the dvr to the customer's system. The remote and DECA should have been added to the original order.
Remember, when it comes to audio/video, more is always better. (This does NOT apply to remote controls!)

#4 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 11,895 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 10 August 2012 - 12:56 PM

Maybe they aren't expecting people to actually use their remote. That's about all I can come up with. But yeah, if it's not a replacement for a similar box, it should come with the remote and cables.

#5 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 921 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 10 August 2012 - 04:59 PM

Upgrades should always come with a remote....and replacements if an upgraded model....yeah shouldn't be that hard
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.




spam firewall