Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S221/Joey S271 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   broeddog

broeddog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:24 PM

This is being discussed in the satellite guys forum.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:41 PM

This is being discussed in the satellite guys forum.


Please, restrain from such own posts here. It giving nothing valuable here.

#28 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 11 August 2012 - 06:13 PM

This is being discussed in the satellite guys forum.


That's nice... but as this is the DBSTalk forum, it is not very helpful to know that there may or may not be additional information elsewhere.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#29 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 12 August 2012 - 02:09 AM

Dang it, my Joey that's linked to the S221 Hopper won't update to S271... :( I noticed that it hiccups a lot since the Hopper it's linked to got S221. They will probably go away if the Joey ever updates to S271...

Other Hoppers are still on S217. Can't wait for them to update...

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#30 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 12 August 2012 - 05:17 AM

Dang it, my Joey that's linked to the S221 Hopper won't update to S271... :( I noticed that it hiccups a lot since the Hopper it's linked to got S221. They will probably go away if the Joey ever updates to S271...

Other Hoppers are still on S217. Can't wait for them to update...


This happened to my Joeys after a Hopper update. I went thru the Joey reset sequence that was posted in March when Joeys had problems. I think it was

Unplug the joey from power.
Unplug cable from joey.
Plug joey into power.
When it boots, put in standby (hit power button).
Unplug from power.
Connect coax cable.
Plug into power.
Wait for it to boot back up, it should boot back into standby mode.
Unplug from power.
Plug into power.

This updated my Joys. Maybe it'll work for you.

2H/1J


#31 OFFLINE   bigdog9586

bigdog9586

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 109 posts
Joined: Jan 17, 2008

Posted 12 August 2012 - 08:45 AM

Does anyone know if the bug that tells what the recorded show says it is has been fixed? Highlight a recorded show and it says one thing which is the true show but once playing it and you hit info and it says another thing.

#32 OFFLINE   broeddog

broeddog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 12 August 2012 - 08:50 AM

I come to many forums to get as much information as I can about the hopper system I have. I didn't mean to offend anybody by mentioning a different site but if my input wasn't helpful neither was the two of yours, get over yourself. I have found that it is better have access to as much information as possible and being able to choose what is applicable to my needs, instead of having others make that decision for me.

#33 OFFLINE   356B

356B

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 903 posts
  • LocationNorthern California
Joined: Oct 11, 2008

Posted 12 August 2012 - 09:21 AM

I come to many forums to get as much information as I can about the hopper system I have. I didn't mean to offend anybody by mentioning a different site but if my input wasn't helpful neither was the two of yours, get over yourself. I have found that it is better have access to as much information as possible and being able to choose what is applicable to my needs, instead of having others make that decision for me.

No offense to me...in fact I have been a slap down victim for daring to mention the "other place". "When in Rome"...I suppose....If you care about that type of thing.....:lol:
Thank you and
Best of luck

#34 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 12 August 2012 - 10:39 AM

I come to many forums to get as much information as I can about the hopper system I have. I didn't mean to offend anybody by mentioning a different site but if my input wasn't helpful neither was the two of yours, get over yourself. I have found that it is better have access to as much information as possible and being able to choose what is applicable to my needs, instead of having others make that decision for me.


I think you missed the point. There is nothing wrong with mentioning ANY site that has valuable information... but you aren't contributing to the discussion in a meaningful way just to say "Web site WWW is talking about this."

You could just as well have said:

"Dish Web site has info about this"
"Joe's Web site is talking about this"
"I read a book about this"

The point being... IF you were elsewhere and found useful information about a topic... you should post something about that information here and then mention the site where you found the info.

Ex:

I was on satguys and someone there said to configure the xxx with the yyy and that worked... Here is where I read that [LINK].

See the difference?

Post meaningful information, add to the conversation, and link to any site you want... but just post that some other site is talking about something doesn't really help anyone.

Now... let's get back to the topic of Hopper/Joey firmware.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#35 OFFLINE   broeddog

broeddog

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 86 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2009

Posted 12 August 2012 - 01:12 PM

I'm sure you could have given me the exact same feedback in your first response minus the sarcasm and I would have taken it differently. Respect goes a long way when your trying to teach somebody how to do something the correct way, sarcasm not so much. I will make a concerted effort to give more information in the future or I will keep my thoughts to myself.

#36 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 12 August 2012 - 06:56 PM

No offense to me...in fact I have been a slap down victim for daring to mention the "other place". "When in Rome"...I suppose....If you care about that type of thing.....:lol:

I've also had this occur twice, apparently there's some sort of rivalry that went on before I even came to the scene but I never had this issue anywhere else so I'm not sure what the problem is.

This happened to my Joeys after a Hopper update. I went thru the Joey reset sequence that was posted in March when Joeys had problems. I think it was

Unplug the joey from power.
Unplug cable from joey.
Plug joey into power.
When it boots, put in standby (hit power button).
Unplug from power.
Connect coax cable.
Plug into power.
Wait for it to boot back up, it should boot back into standby mode.
Unplug from power.
Plug into power.

This updated my Joys. Maybe it'll work for you.


Did it update your Joeys immediately? If so, didn't work for me :( . Hopefully it'll update after the nightly reboot.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#37 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 13 August 2012 - 02:58 AM

Did it update your Joeys immediately? If so, didn't work for me :( . Hopefully it'll update after the nightly reboot.


It did. Hopefully yours will update overnight.

2H/1J


#38 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 13 August 2012 - 06:37 AM

I'm still missing kangaroos on some PTAT network series shows which should have them. CC also disappears at times, especially after 30 sec skip.

2H/1J


#39 OFFLINE   Stewart Vernon

Stewart Vernon

    Excellent Adventurer

  • Moderators
  • 20,440 posts
  • LocationKittrell, NC
Joined: Jan 07, 2005

Posted 13 August 2012 - 02:25 PM

I'm still missing kangaroos on some PTAT network series shows which should have them. CC also disappears at times, especially after 30 sec skip.


Which ones? And did you have any signal outages at the time?

Besides some shows being excluded... if there are any signal outages I believe that also breaks the Kanagaroo for that episode.

-- !rotaredoM mA eM

What I do when I'm not here


#40 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 02:43 PM

It did. Hopefully yours will update overnight.


Nope :( . What the heck Dish!!!

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#41 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 03:18 PM

Are your H/J devices busy during night's windows of FW spools ?

#42 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 03:24 PM

Are your H/J devices are busy during night's windows of FW spools ?


Naw... Sometimes the H is on and it will ask to update and I always let it, but the J is always off during the 1am hours... I suspect it has to do with the R18 #'s... I initially had 2H/2J installed, their R18 #'s are higher than the 3rd Hopper that I self-installed. So I suppose that's why they're still on S217 and it's on S221. The J's were installed at the same time of the S217 H's so I suspect that it's just not time for them to get the update just yet. Still annoying as the S268 J hiccups with the S221 H and also when the S221 H is recording the S268 J can't tell that it's recording unless I press RED button.

What's the holdup Dish?

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#43 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 04:28 PM

If you could remap these J to H with S2.21 ...

#44 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 13 August 2012 - 04:50 PM

Which ones? And did you have any signal outages at the time?

Besides some shows being excluded... if there are any signal outages I believe that also breaks the Kanagaroo for that episode.


No outages. I deleted what I don't watch already, but The Simpsons is one show which didn't get the kangaroo last night. The 2 episodes from the week before did get 'rood.

2H/1J


#45 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 41,412 posts
  • LocationMichiana
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 13 August 2012 - 05:52 PM

No outages. I deleted what I don't watch already, but The Simpsons is one show which didn't get the kangaroo last night. The 2 episodes from the week before did get 'rood.

My recording from last night (episode 541 The Spy Who Learned Me) has the kanagroo. I wonder if DISH is having problems matching the skips with your local affiliate?

#46 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:42 PM

If you could remap these J to H with S2.21 ...


Yeah one of the Js is linked to the S221 H at all times. No update on it (still S268.) The other J is always linked to another H, which has S217.

The S221 H says available J software is S271, yet the S268 J linked to it won't update (3rd night in a row.)

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#47 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:46 PM

I would delete the J's downloaded image from H's drive [with S2.21], to force new download...

#48 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:56 PM

I would delete the J's downloaded image from H's drive [with S2.21], to force new download...


I have no idea how to do that without opening up the H. Don't plan on doing that anytime soon either... I guess all I can do about it at the moment is sit on my hands...

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#49 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 20,289 posts
  • LocationMediterranean Sea
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:22 PM

If you have long SATA cable and will not move out the drive (void label slapped to the drive and its holder), then doing hot-swap the internal SATA cable to your cable and booting Linux, you'll see all files and do at your please ...

#50 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 472 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:41 PM

Yeah don't plan on doing that anytime soon. Too lazy :P .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)





Protected By... spam firewall...And...