Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Hopper - S221/Joey S271 Software Experiences/Bugs


  • Please log in to reply
84 replies to this topic

#41 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 03:18 PM

Are your H/J devices busy during night's windows of FW spools ?

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#42 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 03:24 PM

Are your H/J devices are busy during night's windows of FW spools ?


Naw... Sometimes the H is on and it will ask to update and I always let it, but the J is always off during the 1am hours... I suspect it has to do with the R18 #'s... I initially had 2H/2J installed, their R18 #'s are higher than the 3rd Hopper that I self-installed. So I suppose that's why they're still on S217 and it's on S221. The J's were installed at the same time of the S217 H's so I suspect that it's just not time for them to get the update just yet. Still annoying as the S268 J hiccups with the S221 H and also when the S221 H is recording the S268 J can't tell that it's recording unless I press RED button.

What's the holdup Dish?

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#43 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 04:28 PM

If you could remap these J to H with S2.21 ...

#44 OFFLINE   oldengineer

oldengineer

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 455 posts
Joined: May 25, 2008

Posted 13 August 2012 - 04:50 PM

Which ones? And did you have any signal outages at the time?

Besides some shows being excluded... if there are any signal outages I believe that also breaks the Kanagaroo for that episode.


No outages. I deleted what I don't watch already, but The Simpsons is one show which didn't get the kangaroo last night. The 2 episodes from the week before did get 'rood.

2H/1J


#45 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,310 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 13 August 2012 - 05:52 PM

No outages. I deleted what I don't watch already, but The Simpsons is one show which didn't get the kangaroo last night. The 2 episodes from the week before did get 'rood.

My recording from last night (episode 541 The Spy Who Learned Me) has the kanagroo. I wonder if DISH is having problems matching the skips with your local affiliate?

#46 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:42 PM

If you could remap these J to H with S2.21 ...


Yeah one of the Js is linked to the S221 H at all times. No update on it (still S268.) The other J is always linked to another H, which has S217.

The S221 H says available J software is S271, yet the S268 J linked to it won't update (3rd night in a row.)

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#47 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:46 PM

I would delete the J's downloaded image from H's drive [with S2.21], to force new download...

#48 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 08:56 PM

I would delete the J's downloaded image from H's drive [with S2.21], to force new download...


I have no idea how to do that without opening up the H. Don't plan on doing that anytime soon either... I guess all I can do about it at the moment is sit on my hands...

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#49 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:22 PM

If you have long SATA cable and will not move out the drive (void label slapped to the drive and its holder), then doing hot-swap the internal SATA cable to your cable and booting Linux, you'll see all files and do at your please ...

#50 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 13 August 2012 - 10:41 PM

Yeah don't plan on doing that anytime soon. Too lazy :P .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#51 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:06 AM

Sometimes laziness pays off... All H's are on S221 and all Js are on S271 now :D . No more hiccups, MRV so far so good! Will mess with it more when I get a chance.

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#52 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:31 PM

Last night spooling of S2.21 expanded for all SN XiP813 [H2k] with conditions below:
PID=08E0h 08/13/12 23:27:10
DownloadID:3KNA
Upgrading parts of new FW with filters:
S221:'S040'-'S220'
S221:'1[A-D0-2]1[A-B0-1]'&'S040'-'S221'
New FW:'S221'&'S221'
List of BootStraps and BuildConfigs and SN:
'1...'&'NA[CF].': R0000000001-R2147483647

#53 OFFLINE   jerry downing

jerry downing

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 521 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Mar 07, 2004

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:41 PM

Sometimes laziness pays off... All H's are on S221 and all Js are on S271 now :D . No more hiccups, MRV so far so good! Will mess with it more when I get a chance.


What is MRV?

#54 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 14 August 2012 - 03:16 PM

What is MRV?


Multi-Room Viewing (ability to see/view recordings from another receiver in another room :) .)

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#55 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 August 2012 - 04:49 PM

Multi-Room Viewing (ability to see/view recordings from another receiver in another room :) .)


The acronym is well known in DTV forums, seems to me it slowly coming to dish...

#56 OFFLINE   3HaloODST

3HaloODST

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 469 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2010

Posted 14 August 2012 - 07:48 PM

The acronym is well known in DTV forums, seems to me it slowly coming to dish...


Yeah even though technically the dual tuner DVRs were capable of MRV, just SD on TV2 :) .

2 Hoppers w/Sling / 2 Hopper 2000s / 1 Joey

1 ViP722k (separate account)


#57 OFFLINE   James Long

James Long

    Ready for Uplink!

  • Super Moderators
  • 39,310 posts
Joined: Apr 17, 2003

Posted 14 August 2012 - 08:18 PM

Although DISH pioneered multi-room viewing with the inclusion of a "Home Distribution" output on their receivers (going back to at least 2006's 622) the term "MRV" has been used more on the other side of the fence.

The term is just beginning to make inroads on the DISH side of the fence.

#58 OFFLINE   P Smith

P Smith

    Mr. FixAnything

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 19,727 posts
  • LocationBay Area
Joined: Jul 25, 2002

Posted 14 August 2012 - 09:28 PM

I wouldn't bring that model here, in context of the MRV features...

For honest point I would compare HR34 and H2k, but it would lead in favor of HR34.

#59 OFFLINE   dtvgone

dtvgone

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 49 posts
Joined: Jul 21, 2007

Posted 15 August 2012 - 09:12 AM

selecting BB or on demand would initially fail on my 2 joeys after these hopper/joey SW upgrades, returning to prior active channel display, but normal function on the hopper. resolved by hard resets on each joey. now the hopper has done the same twice, cleared by soft resets, didn't check the joeys these times. don't recall having this problem with prior SW upgrades on either the hopper or joeys

#60 OFFLINE   RoboDad

RoboDad

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 17 posts
Joined: Aug 15, 2008

Posted 22 August 2012 - 06:24 PM

Looks like PTAT on my Hopper is seriously screwed up since getting 221. It is not automatically saving ANY new recordings, and it also appears to be arbitrarily deleting some saved ones when the 8 day window expires.

I had two episodes of Grimm saved, and went to watch the season premiere today, but found it gone. It was recorded nine days ago. So then I got curious, and went to the timer schedule to see what it was going to do for the next episode. It showed the episode as skipped, even though it is clearly a new episode. Then I checked several other summer shows I have set up to save new eps from PTAT, and ALL of them are showing up as skipped. Prior to 221, they showed up correctly on the schedule, and of course, the were actually saved.

I am not a happy camper right now.

Just a quick update - I confirmed that it is definitely PTAT that is the problem. If I disable PTAT, and then check the timer schedule, the recordings show up correctly. Re-enable it, and they show up as skipped. Oh, and I have two Hoppers, and both do the same thing (although I don't normally have PTAT enabled on the second Hopper).

Edited by RoboDad, 22 August 2012 - 06:55 PM.





spam firewall