Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

What happend to my HR34!


  • Please log in to reply
130 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:21 PM

Of the update today and the screen is pink and no sound!!
Trying a restart to to see if it gets fixed.

Attached Thumbnails

  • image-3734302020.jpg


...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 OFFLINE   JACKIEGAGA

JACKIEGAGA

    N.Y. FOOTBALL GIANTS

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 5,177 posts
Joined: Dec 11, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:38 PM

Did the Restart work?

JACK,
 
 


#3 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 03:57 PM

RBR reset worked. I thought the update killed my HR34.

#4 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,030 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:15 PM

Next time,first try going to a different input on the tv and back, or turning off the HR34 and then turning it back on. I doubt a reset was actually required to get it to re sync.

#5 OFFLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,065 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:17 PM

I've notice a simple power cycle of the tv and receiver can help issues like this.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#6 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:33 PM

It's back again!! I shut if off, ate dinner, etc. now it's back!! WTF type of update is this??? NOT HAPPYY!!!

#7 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 09 August 2012 - 05:37 PM

pink screens are usually an hdmi issue try changing the hdmi inputs and power cycling both....how is your receiver connected?
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#8 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:09 PM

pink screens are usually an hdmi issue try changing the hdmi inputs and power cycling both....how is your receiver connected?


I dont have a receiver connected. I will try another HDMI port. But the TV has been FINE until this update. The DVR and TV have been off since the update. This is NOT a TV issue, it a DVR issue and I am not thrilled.

#9 OFFLINE   wahooq

wahooq

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 922 posts
Joined: Oct 19, 2011

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:12 PM

by receiver i mean ..satellite receiver...changing ports.... recycling ...try another hdmi cable or component cable...if not then the receiver is toast
My comments and opinions are my own and not necessarily those of DirecTV.

#10 OFFLINE   raott

raott

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,128 posts
Joined: Nov 23, 2005

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:25 PM

by receiver i mean ..satellite receiver...changing ports.... recycling ...try another hdmi cable or component cable...if not then the receiver is toast


The pink screen issue is a known issue with the current software.
SONY KDS-55A3000 and a couple of Vizios; SWM16; HR34 NR; HR22 NR; HR20-700 NR; H23-600 NR; R22 NR

#11 OFFLINE   tgater

tgater

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 266 posts
Joined: Jul 24, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:28 PM

It's back again!! I shut if off, ate dinner, etc. now it's back!! WTF type of update is this??? NOT HAPPYY!!!


The best part of this was that my HR 34 was acting sluggish yesterday. I went into the setup menu and I was poking around checking out various settings and I came across a section that seemed like it would let us know when software updates would be pushed and that field said NONE PLANNED.
Already killed the power save. Very annoying feature IMHO.

#12 OFFLINE   V'ger

V'ger

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 549 posts
Joined: Oct 03, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:33 PM

If the TV menu allows you to force the data type over HDMI, try each option and see what matches your DVR. Then leave it set (rather than let it negotiate) and it shouldn't have issue again. My TV displays correct color when set to 4:4:4.

#13 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,030 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:33 PM

I dont have a receiver connected. I will try another HDMI port. But the TV has been FINE until this update. The DVR and TV have been off since the update. This is NOT a TV issue, it a DVR issue and I am not thrilled.


Again. Turn on the tv, and then after its fully on, the DIRECTV box. If that doesn't work, try changing inputs on the tv and then back again on the remote. You can also try powering the HR34 off and then on again when this happens to see if that fixes the issue.

What tv do you have. This has to do with hdmi and how it syncs, and could be either one of them causing the issue. I know you disagree with that, but it's true, as DIRECTV coil distill be within specs, and maybe your tv isn't. However, I have a feeling this is more of a timing issue with when the two power up and expect to sync.

#14 OFFLINE   inkahauts

inkahauts

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,030 posts
Joined: Nov 13, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 06:34 PM

The best part of this was that my HR 34 was acting sluggish yesterday. I went into the setup menu and I was poking around checking out various settings and I came across a section that seemed like it would let us know when software updates would be pushed and that field said NONE PLANNED.
Already killed the power save. Very annoying feature IMHO.


Software update has been their for all Hi Definition receivers forever, and yet I don't think anyone has ever seen any thing there.

#15 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,742 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:10 PM

The best part of this was that my HR 34 was acting sluggish yesterday. I went into the setup menu and I was poking around checking out various settings and I came across a section that seemed like it would let us know when software updates would be pushed and that field said NONE PLANNED.
Already killed the power save. Very annoying feature IMHO.


Annoying for some, useful for others.

#16 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:23 PM

If the TV menu allows you to force the data type over HDMI, try each option and see what matches your DVR. Then leave it set (rather than let it negotiate) and it shouldn't have issue again. My TV displays correct color when set to 4:4:4.

Nope, no setting like this on my Panny Plasmas.

#17 OFFLINE   gio12

gio12

    Icon

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 836 posts
Joined: Jul 31, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:24 PM

Again. Turn on the tv, and then after its fully on, the DIRECTV box. If that doesn't work, try changing inputs on the tv and then back again on the remote. You can also try powering the HR34 off and then on again when this happens to see if that fixes the issue.

What tv do you have. This has to do with hdmi and how it syncs, and could be either one of them causing the issue. I know you disagree with that, but it's true, as DIRECTV coil distill be within specs, and maybe your tv isn't. However, I have a feeling this is more of a timing issue with when the two power up and expect to sync.


I have a Panasonic Plasma. Well you say its the TV or HDMI. Another poster says this is an KNOWN issue. if this was known in CE, how could tis be released. Please don't tell me this never happened during CE releases.

I will try other inputs and other suggestions, net time it happens.

#18 OFFLINE   lacubs

lacubs

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 514 posts
Joined: Sep 11, 2010

Posted 09 August 2012 - 07:54 PM

try another HDMI cable, that what i did when i got it!

#19 OFFLINE   TBlazer07

TBlazer07

    Grumpy Grampy

  • Registered
  • 4,777 posts
Joined: Feb 05, 2009

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:44 PM

I have a Panasonic Plasma. Well you say its the TV or HDMI. Another poster says this is an KNOWN issue. if this was known in CE, how could tis be released. Please don't tell me this never happened during CE releases.

I will try other inputs and other suggestions, net time it happens.

I have a 1yr old Panny 50" VT25 PDP and have had some weird HDMI issues. Powering TV off/on usually resolves it.

#20 OFFLINE   Stuart Sweet

Stuart Sweet

    The Shadow Knows!

  • Super Moderators
  • 36,861 posts
Joined: Jun 18, 2006

Posted 10 August 2012 - 08:30 AM

Folks,

I have deleted several posts that refer to pre-release testing. It's not appropriate
Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, DISH, The Signal Group, or any other company.




spam firewall