Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

Turn off the screen saveron HR34


  • Please log in to reply
26 replies to this topic

#1 OFFLINE   lehozle

lehozle

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:40 PM

Once other update the screen saver is coming on while watching recorded shows and, I think, live TV. Is there any way to turn it off?

Thanks

...Ads Help To Support This SIte...

#2 ONLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,062 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:41 PM

Sorry there is no way to turn off the screen saver.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#3 ONLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,062 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:43 PM

Once other update the screen saver is coming on while watching recorded shows and, I think, live TV. Is there any way to turn it off?

Thanks


What version is this on the newest release or the old one, I'm a little confused. :)

If it is the newest version it may help to report this in the newest HR34 issues/discussion thread found in the sticky.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#4 OFFLINE   lehozle

lehozle

    AllStar

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 55 posts
Joined: Sep 04, 2007

Posted 09 August 2012 - 04:45 PM

It's the newest - wasn't and issue with the previous version.

#5 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:34 PM

Ours too. There should be a default no screen saver and only those who want it turn it on. But then that would be what is on a TiVo.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#6 OFFLINE   PokerJoker

PokerJoker

    Godfather

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 474 posts
  • LocationLas Vegas
Joined: Apr 12, 2008

Posted 09 August 2012 - 09:46 PM

I don't mind the auto screen saver, but it sure as heck shouldn't come on while a recording is being played! That's got to be a bug.

Keith

#7 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:15 PM

Recording and live tv both. What a pain.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#8 OFFLINE   RunnerFL

RunnerFL

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 15,794 posts
Joined: Jan 04, 2006

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:20 PM

You guys who have the screen saver pop up, do you have power saving on or off?
THIS SPACE FOR RENT

#9 ONLINE   Scott Kocourek

Scott Kocourek

    On the edge

  • Super Moderators
  • 9,062 posts
  • LocationWisconsin
Joined: Jun 13, 2009

Posted 11 August 2012 - 05:46 PM

Please don't forget to post these issues in the HR34 Issues/Discussion thread that is in the sticky.

Opinions expressed by me are my own and do not necessarily reflect
those of DBSTalk.com, DIRECTV, Dish Network, or any other company.
Become a DBSTalk.com member or join the CE program HERE


#10 OFFLINE   Deftones

Deftones

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 August 2012 - 09:11 AM

Glad to know I'm not the only one having this happen. Was watching Shipping Wars and it came on during both episodes. Annoying.

#11 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,968 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 16 August 2012 - 09:41 AM

You guys who have the screen saver pop up, do you have power saving on or off?


As I believed was implied in RunnerFL's question earlier, try turning the "Power Saving" option off. This worked for me as a workaround on my HR34 with those spontaneous SS starts during live and recorded programming.

#12 OFFLINE   Deftones

Deftones

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:31 AM

As I believed was implied in RunnerFL's question earlier, try turning the "Power Saving" option off. This worked for me as a workaround on my HR34 with those spontaneous SS starts during live and recorded programming.


FWIW, it doesn't matter if power saving is on or off. I've tried both and I continue to get the screen saver popping up while I'm watching a recorded show.

#13 OFFLINE   Shades228

Shades228

    Hall Of Fame

  • Banned User
  • 5,914 posts
Joined: Mar 18, 2008

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:24 PM

Are you using IP based remotes? How long before it kicks on?
All comments are my own. Unless specifically stated, my views do NOT represent the views of DIRECTV

#14 OFFLINE   bjthadj

bjthadj

    New Member

  • Registered
  • 8 posts
Joined: Jul 04, 2007

Posted 16 August 2012 - 11:56 PM

I watched my HR34 for all of one hour tonight...and the SS popped on 3 times. It was a recording. Extremely obnoxious.

#15 OFFLINE   Deftones

Deftones

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 131 posts
Joined: Sep 05, 2006

Posted 17 August 2012 - 08:49 AM

Are you using IP based remotes? How long before it kicks on?


IP based remote? Like a phone or a tablet? No. Logitech Harmony 650 for me.

#16 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,734 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 17 August 2012 - 09:10 AM

Even if the screensaver could be disabled, it wouldn't mean that this wouldn't happen. It's a bug. It isn't supposed to come up in this scenario anyway. Same thing could happen if it could be disabled.

#17 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 17 August 2012 - 12:53 PM

Even if the screensaver could be disabled, it wouldn't mean that this wouldn't happen. It's a bug. It isn't supposed to come up in this scenario anyway. Same thing could happen if it could be disabled.


If there were no code at all for a screen saver it could never ever come up. That would suit us just fine.

At least give us the option to turn it off. We hate it. We like to have the freeze frame displayed so we know what we have tuned or playing before we resume.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD

#18 OFFLINE   dpeters11

dpeters11

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 12,734 posts
  • LocationCincinnati
Joined: May 30, 2007

Posted 17 August 2012 - 01:52 PM

And others would be upset if the screensaver was removed. Especially if they forgot about it one day and got burn in.

#19 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 31,667 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 17 August 2012 - 01:57 PM

And others would be upset if the screensaver was removed. Especially if they forgot about it one day and got burn in.

Agree.

It just needs to work properly, and then it's the best of all worlds.
DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#20 OFFLINE   Jerry_K

Jerry_K

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 433 posts
Joined: Oct 21, 2006

Posted 17 August 2012 - 06:22 PM

Agree.

It just needs to work properly, and then it's the best of all worlds.


It does not work properly if you cannot turn it off.
Genie (nee HR34) 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1601, Sharp 40" LED
HR24 2TB Internal, Magnavox NR1501, Sansui 32" LCD




spam firewall