Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo
- - - - -

DirecTV Regional Uplink Centers?


  • Please log in to reply
41 replies to this topic

#26 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2012 - 07:53 AM

Okay, that's the LRF (Local Receive Facility)... as I stated earlier, my local NBC/ABC affiliate's studio is my LRF.

That page doesn't list the uplink centers.

~Alan

Most LRFs are installed inside the building of one of the local TV stations, DirecTV rents the space. And the only LRF I have seen was unmanned, just equipment in a secured rack.....some channels received at the LRF via fiber, others by receiving the off-air signal.

...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#27 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 528 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 14 August 2012 - 11:39 AM

I thought that's what this list was... http://www.directv.c...eive_facilities

What is this one then?

#28 OFFLINE   xzi

xzi

    Icon

  • Registered
  • 528 posts
Joined: Sep 18, 2007

Posted 14 August 2012 - 11:41 AM

I thought that's what this list was... http://www.directv.c...eive_facilities

What is this one then?


Ahh I see it now... got it.

#29 OFFLINE   maartena

maartena

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 2,828 posts
Joined: Nov 01, 2010

Posted 14 August 2012 - 12:09 PM

I thought that's what this list was... http://www.directv.c...eive_facilities

What is this one then?


What do these local receive facilities do? I checked some of them on Google Earth, the one in Buffalo is in a downtown high rise, the one in Hurricane, WV seems to be in the middle of a residential area with the only commercial structure in the area being a Animal Hospital. The one in Detroit seems to be on a Golf Course. (:?) The one in Fort Meyers is a tiny little commercial building, and the street view shows it to be completely gated in, with no markings whatsoever.
[Disclaimer] The definition of "soon" is based solely on DirecTV's interpretation of the word, and all similarities with dictionary definitions of the word "soon" are purely coincidental and should not be interpreted as a time frame that will come to pass within a reasonable amount of time.

I am the Stig.

#30 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 August 2012 - 12:18 PM

What do these local receive facilities do? I checked some of them on Google Earth, the one in Buffalo is in a downtown high rise, the one in Hurricane, WV seems to be in the middle of a residential area with the only commercial structure in the area being a Animal Hospital. The one in Detroit seems to be on a Golf Course. (:?) The one in Fort Meyers is a tiny little commercial building, and the street view shows it to be completely gated in, with no markings whatsoever.


It is where the local channels are received, and then sent from there to DirecTV.

~Alan

#31 OFFLINE   texasbrit

texasbrit

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 4,537 posts
Joined: Aug 09, 2006

Posted 14 August 2012 - 12:28 PM

They are often inside the offices or the transmission building of one of the local TV stations.

In general, there has to be an LRF in each DMA. It's a location where all the signals from the local stations are collected by DirecTV and then sent to one of the uplink centers.
Because DirecTV collects many of the local signals by capturing the off-air signals (others are received on fiber) the LRF is generally in the coverage area for the local off-air transmissions.

Edited by texasbrit, 14 August 2012 - 12:34 PM.


#32 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 14 August 2012 - 01:03 PM

While much of which has been posted in this thread is no doubt interesting, I really think its largely drifted from the thread topic question Alan originally posted which has to do with what happens to the collected local signals *after* the LRF point?

Is it a direct fiber feed back to the main broadcast stations at Los Angeles and Castle Rock?

Or is it from the LRFs first to regional LiL aggregation points like I posted earlier in Atlanta ("SE"), NY ("NE"), Castle Rock ("Central"), Seattle ("NW"), Los Angeles, Boise, Kanas City, etc. for satellite back-haul (excepting LA and CR of course) to the main broadcast centers at LA and CR?

Or a mixture of both? And is there any way to identify where these local aggregation centers are for a look by Goggle Earth?

#33 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 August 2012 - 01:06 PM

Most LRFs are installed inside the building of one of the local TV stations, DirecTV rents the space. And the only LRF I have seen was unmanned, just equipment in a secured rack.....some channels received at the LRF via fiber, others by receiving the off-air signal.


Yeah... I know.



OK, here's the deal folks.

I've been talking to local station folks regarding my local channels. The official word from DirecTV as to why they are not carrying my local ABC affiliate in HD is due to capacity constraints. I'm trying to make sense of this, because the data provided by doctor j and gct does not show this to be an issue. Given some other information I'm privy to (which I won't share), I'm wondering if it's an uplink issue instead of a downlink issue. The discussion got me to wondering HOW my locals were sent to DirecTV from the LRF.

For fits and giggles, here's a little LiL history for my market:

My locals launched on August 4, 2010. We received the following channels:

Network 513, Market 2, Albany, GA Now Available
NET|NAME|CHL|NOTES0|NOTES1
513|WALB|10|A3 Albany, GA 10 WALB NBC|NBC television services from WALBDT-TV, 10, Albany, GA.
513|GPB|14|A3 Albany, GA 14 WABW PBS|PBS television services from WABWDT-TV, 14, Albany, GA.
513|CW|17|A3 Albany, GA 17 WCWJ CW|The CW television services from WCWJDT-TV, 17, Jacksonville, FL.
513|WJXX|25|A3 Albany, GA 25 WJXX ABC|ABC television services from WJXXDT-TV, 25, Jacksonville, FL.
513|WFXL|31|A3 Albany, GA 31 WFXL FOX|FOX television services from WFXLDT-TV, 31, Albany, GA.
513|WSST|55|A3 Albany, GA 55 WSST IND|IND television services from WSSTDT-TV, 55, Cordele, GA.


On October 6, 2010, CBS joined the lineup:

Network 513, Market 2, Albany, GA Now Available
NET|NAME|CHL|NOTES0|NOTES1
513|WSWG|44|A3 Albany, GA 44 WSWG CBS|CBS television services from WSWGDT-TV, 44, Albany, GA.


This was everything in my market, but MyNetworkTV (WSWG-DT2), and a few other assorted sub-channels.

WCWJ, the CW-HD affiliate from Jacksonville, FL would be replaced on January 26, 2011 with the newly launched CW affiliated WSWG-DT3.

On May 4, 2011, DirecTV replaced the Jacksonville, FL ABC affiliate (WJXX) in HD, with WALB-DT2 which had just started their ABC affiliation. An HD feed is provided for satcos and cablecos, and is carried immediately by Dish Network and Mediacom, but SD only via DirecTV even though the DirecTV LRF is in the WALB studio.

In mid August, 2011, DirecTV removed GPB (it's a statewide PBS) from the transponder carrying the rest of my locals, and remapped it from a Jacksonville, FL HD-LiL transponder (where it's also carried) to this DMA's channel numbering.

So... let me break it down since the above doesn't do a good job of specifying:

August 4, 2010: - Locals launched
  • 3 MPEG4 HD channels on local transponder.
  • 2 MPEG4 HD channels on neighboring transponder.
  • 1 MPEG4 SD channel on local transponder.

October 6, 2010: - CBS-HD added
  • 4 MPEG4 HD channels on local transponder.
  • 2 MPEG4 HD channels on neighboring transponder.
  • 1 MPEG4 SD channel on local transponder.

January 26, 2011: - Imported CW-HD replaced with local CW-SD
  • 4 MPEG4 HD channels on local transponder.
  • 1 MPEG4 HD channels on neighboring transponder.
  • 2 MPEG4 SD channel on local transponder.

May 4, 2011: - Imported ABC-HD replaced with local ABC-SD
  • 4 MPEG4 HD channels on local transponder.
  • 3 MPEG4 SD channel on local transponder.

August 26, 2011: - PBS-HD swapped transponders
  • 3 MPEG4 HD channels on local transponder.
  • 1 MPEG4 HD channels on neighboring transponder.
  • 3 MPEG4 SD channel on local transponder.


My local CW affiliate will be going HD sometime next year apparently. I'm hoping that DirecTV will carry it... especially since I can't receive it OTA, and CW DNS probably won't be available in HD anytime soon. I believe that 5 MPEG4 HD channels and an MPEG4 SD channel is being done on a single transponder in some markets, though there may be some technological differences allowing them to. I'm aware I'm a smaller market with little market share compared to Dish Network, so I'm aware that DirecTV might not be in a hurry to upgrade any equipment in my market, but DirecTV has proven that they can offer 4 MPEG4 HD (3 1080i, and 1 720p) channels and 3 MPEG4 SD channels, so I'm confused as to how capacity would be an issue with 4 MPEG4 HD (2 1080i and 2 720p) channels and 2 MPEG4 SD channels on a spot-beam. :confused:


  • My local channels (aside from PBS which is remapped to my market) are on SpaceWay-1, Transponder #1. It carries 3 HD channels, 3 SD channels. That's 2 1080i HD channels, and a 720p HD channel.
  • My neighboring DMA of Tallahassee, FL has their local channels on SpaceWay-1, Transponder #3, and it has 5 HD channels on it, and another one in testing. That's 4 1080i HD channels and two 720p HD channels.


If it was contractual, I'd understand. If it was monetary reasons (additional encoder costs, etc.), I'd understand. I'm just confused by the capacity issue unless it's an uplink issue, and that got me interested in the process.


~Alan

Edited by Alan Gordon, 25 August 2012 - 05:33 PM.


#34 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,255 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:03 PM

Alan, IIRC DIRECTV has been busy upgrading all their LRF's recently so I'd guess your right about a back haul issue vs. download.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#35 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:44 PM

Alan, IIRC DIRECTV has been busy upgrading all their LRF's recently so I'd guess your right about a back haul issue vs. download.


Interesting...


I realize after I posted that that I should have asked a question.

Do you know exactly HOW they are upgrading the LRFs? Better encoders, better fiber, what?

Given that my market was launched only 2 years and 2 weeks ago, you'd think mine would be fairly up-to-date...

~Alan

#36 OFFLINE   RAD

RAD

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 16,255 posts
  • LocationDripping Springs, TX
Joined: Aug 05, 2002

Posted 14 August 2012 - 02:55 PM

I realize after I posted that that I should have asked a question.

Do you know exactly HOW they are upgrading the LRFs? Better encoders, better fiber, what?

Given that my market was launched only 2 years and 2 weeks ago, you'd think mine would be fairly up-to-date...

~Alan

I forget where exactly I heard it, I think it was on a conference call. I know the Austin TX LRF wass moved a few months ago, it was located in one hosting site and moved to another one and after then we got three more HD locals.

See post My Setup for configuration info.


#37 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:01 PM

I'm just confused by the capacity issue unless it's an uplink issue, and that got me interested in the process.


Well... I haven't had a very good day today. Not that I really felt like it, but I did talk to someone else regarding my local channels, and once again, my thinking is that it's an uplink issue.

I mentioned elsewhere in the post quoted above that my curiosity was piqued about regional uplink centers when I started looking into my local channels situation.

Well, I spoke to someone with DirecTV about it today, and the information given to me was the same I've been getting elsewhere. It's a capacity issue. The person I spoke rather fast given that I'm from the South, so I didn't have time to fully register a couple of things, but he stated that the satellite that provides my locals also offers locals to other markets.

Long story short, I don't think I'm ever going to get an exact reason as to why it's a capacity issue, but I'm going to go with the uplink theory. I asked him to forward my channel requests for local ABC-HD, and since he stated that it was no problem, he forwarded a request for when my local CW goes HD next year. :(

~Alan

#38 OFFLINE   HoTat2

HoTat2

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,842 posts
  • LocationLos Angeles, CA.
Joined: Nov 16, 2005

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:22 PM

Well... I haven't had a very good day today. Not that I really felt like it, but I did talk to someone else regarding my local channels, and once again, my thinking is that it's an uplink issue.

I mentioned elsewhere in the post quoted above that my curiosity was piqued about regional uplink centers when I started looking into my local channels situation.

Well, I spoke to someone with DirecTV about it today, and the information given to me was the same I've been getting elsewhere. It's a capacity issue. The person I spoke rather fast given that I'm from the South, so I didn't have time to fully register a couple of things, but he stated that the satellite that provides my locals also offers locals to other markets.

Long story short, I don't think I'm ever going to get an exact reason as to why it's a capacity issue, but I'm going to go with the uplink theory. I asked him to forward my channel requests for local ABC-HD, and since he stated that it was no problem, he forwarded a request for when my local CW goes HD next year. :(

~Alan


Sorry you're having a bad one today, particularly on festivus day for the new basic HD channels.

Not having the greatest day here myself what with plumbing problems I'm dealing with right now. :(

Anyway, that part of the guy's statement;

... that the satellite that provides my locals also offers locals to other markets.


What's that really supposed to mean? Of course the Spaceways offer locals to other markets ... Duh .... :rolleyes:

Did he mean on the same spotbeam transponder or something?

#39 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 15 August 2012 - 01:53 PM

Anyway, that part of the guy's statement;

What's that really supposed to mean? Of course the Spaceways offer locals to other markets ... Duh .... :rolleyes:

Did he mean on the same spotbeam transponder or something?



I too wondered if he was referring to the same spot-beam transponder. I was not aware of this being the case, so I looked at my neighboring markets on the LiL TPN map, and found what I felt to be the situation, that none of them that I looked at listed SW1 TPN #1 as a location they were using.

I came to the conclusion that maybe his statement had something to do with the uplink?! :confused:

~Alan

#40 OFFLINE   doctor j

doctor j

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 1,568 posts
  • LocationBirmingham, Al.
Joined: Jun 14, 2006

Posted 15 August 2012 - 03:26 PM

I too wondered if he was referring to the same spot-beam transponder. I was not aware of this being the case, so I looked at my neighboring markets on the LiL TPN map, and found what I felt to be the situation, that none of them that I looked at listed SW1 TPN #1 as a location they were using.

I came to the conclusion that maybe his statement had something to do with the uplink?! :confused:

~Alan


The only way i can make your data fit relates to the Spaceway bandwidth question at it's basic level. It's fairly clear that SW-1 KA slots were originally 1-8 at 62.5 MHz. When D-12 was launched a portion of that original bandwidth was usurped. SW-1 became 6 TPN's but the bandwidth was unclear. I postulated 1/2 and 3/4 were 62.5 and 5/6 was a half TPN only 31.75 MHz wide. Something in the LOA gave me that suspicion, but i can't put my fingers on that data. Maybe all 6 TPN's are compressed and that's why fewer channels available at this time. The spaceways are beaming almost exclusively East of Mississippi river so our west coast gurus and there ocillascopes can't help us.

At any rate, all is not lost, as certainly some bandwidth can be found for a channel or two in the surrounding D10/12 or D11 spots if by no other way than the new encoders and efficiency or when D14 comes and realignment gives additional LIL bandwidth.

Keep up your faith.
Sorry about the dog.
Our family dog may be more needed than me.

Doctor j

MFH-2 System : 2 Major Viewing Areas. 2 x HR20-700's & H21 in each area via E2/SWM-8. Hardwire gigabit switch to 30 mb/sec internet.


#41 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 15 August 2012 - 04:16 PM

The only way i can make your data fit relates to the Spaceway bandwidth question at it's basic level. It's fairly clear that SW-1 KA slots were originally 1-8 at 62.5 MHz. When D-12 was launched a portion of that original bandwidth was usurped. SW-1 became 6 TPN's but the bandwidth was unclear. I postulated 1/2 and 3/4 were 62.5 and 5/6 was a half TPN only 31.75 MHz wide. Something in the LOA gave me that suspicion, but i can't put my fingers on that data. Maybe all 6 TPN's are compressed and that's why fewer channels available at this time. The spaceways are beaming almost exclusively East of Mississippi river so our west coast gurus and there ocillascopes can't help us.


That's an awesome theory, and one I've considered as well to possibly explain why SW1/TPN #3 has six HD channels (one's in testing) on it, yet SW1/TPN #1 isn't capable of doing four HD and two SD channels.

The problem though is that history is not kind to that theory. From May 4, 2011 to sometime the middle of August, 2011, we had four HD channels (three 1080i, one 720p) and three SD channels on that exact same transponder. So... my miniscule amount of understanding of the process tells me that four HD channels (two 1080i, two 720p) and two SD channels should fit just fine.

At any rate, all is not lost, as certainly some bandwidth can be found for a channel or two in the surrounding D10/12 or D11 spots if by no other way than the new encoders and efficiency or when D14 comes and realignment gives additional LIL bandwidth.


When our locals were first launched, we had ABC and The CW from Jacksonville, FL. The Jacksonville, FL DMA LiL uses TWO transponders, one of which provides the Albany, GA market (since last August) with the statewide Georgia PBS. The other is what The CW and ABC uses. The transponder with The CW and ABC shares that transponder with only the FL PBS from the Jacksonville, FL, so unless there's any plans to offer additional Jacksonville, FL LiL, it can be done now... but if there was no interest in doing that last year, and no interest in doing that now, D14 might be what I have to wait on. Given that I have multiple ways to access ABC in HD, that's not a big deal for me personally (at this time), but there will be wailing and gnashing of teeth once WSWG provides The CW in HD and I have no access to it! ;)

I was talking to two co-workers yesterday about switching to DirecTV from Mediacom. One's probably not going to be getting HD, but the other probably is. Considering that most everyone around here keeps getting steered toward Dish, DirecTV having a handicapped LiL package is not (DirecTV provides PBS in HD, but Dish provides ABC in HD, and the ABC programming is far more popular here) a good way to help even the score... especially since they've started making progress since providing locals here.

Sorry about the dog.
Our family dog may be more needed than me.


She's my Uncle's dog (he and my aunt live next door) and she stayed here in my home an equal amount of time. Her prescence has been greatly missed today. It has not been a good day... :(


~Alan

#42 OFFLINE   Alan Gordon

Alan Gordon

    Chancellor

  • Topic Starter
  • Registered
  • 9,081 posts
  • LocationDawson, Georgia
Joined: Jun 07, 2004

Posted 17 August 2012 - 01:31 PM

Anyway, that part of the guy's statement;

...that the satellite that provides my locals also offers locals to other markets.


What's that really supposed to mean? Of course the Spaceways offer locals to other markets ... Duh .... :rolleyes:

Did he mean on the same spotbeam transponder or something?


...that the satellite that provides my locals also offers locals to other markets.


I too wondered if he was referring to the same spot-beam transponder. I was not aware of this being the case, so I looked at my neighboring markets on the LiL TPN map, and found what I felt to be the situation, that none of them that I looked at listed SW1 TPN #1 as a location they were using.

I came to the conclusion that maybe his statement had something to do with the uplink?! :confused:


I was done by this thread, but I wanted to mention this.

I got a call back from the guy who was doing something else for me. We mentioned the locals conversation, and he stated that because the satellite that provides my locals also provides locals to other markets, the satellite is now full.

Nice guy, good at his job, but... :rolleyes: He passed on my requests for local ABC-HD and local CW-HD (once launched), so that was the main thing.

~Alan




Protected By... spam firewall...And...