Jump to content


Welcome to DBSTalk


Sign In 

Create Account
Welcome to DBSTalk. Our community covers all aspects of video delivery solutions including: Direct Broadcast Satellite (DBS), Cable Television, and Internet Protocol Television (IPTV). We also have forums to discuss popular television programs, home theater equipment, and internet streaming service providers. Members of our community include experts who can help you solve technical problems, industry professionals, company representatives, and novices who are here to learn.

Like most online communities you must register to view or post in our community. Sign-up is a free and simple process that requires minimal information. Be a part of our community by signing in or creating an account. The Digital Bit Stream starts here!
  • Reply to existing topics or start a discussion of your own
  • Subscribe to topics and forums and get email updates
  • Send private personal messages (PM) to other forum members
  • Customize your profile page and make new friends
 
Guest Message by DevFuse

Photo

DIRECTV for Android App v2.2.3 Issues & Discussion


  • Please log in to reply
88 replies to this topic

#51 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 23 November 2013 - 10:23 AM

Do you have a GenieGo?

I logged out of the app and signed back in and then had to manually enter in my IP address. That worked at least for the HR34. 

 

Are all shows in the playlist supposed to be viewable on a phone/tablet? I tried two different ones and it says the "show is currently not available On Demand on your Phone." 

 

I thought the point of having the playlist available on the app was so you could watch recorded content on any device. Is DirecTV requiring the purchase of a GenieGo just to view content in an individual's playlist on a mobile device while on his or her home network? If so, that seems to defeat the purpose of allowing the playlist to be viewed in the app. 


Edited by VelvetUn, 23 November 2013 - 10:32 AM.


...Ads Help To Support This Site...

#52 OFFLINE   dlleno

dlleno

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 59 posts
Joined: Sep 17, 2008

Posted 23 November 2013 - 04:36 PM

I have very little use for the app;  I use it rarely to schedule a recording from OOH when I've forgotten to do so before leaving home, but thats about it.   There' just too many hands in my pocket as regards streaming remote. i.e. the content that is so licensed is such a small subset of what is available in-home, and understanding what is and is not licensed is so confusing to me  that  I just gave up on it for that purpose. I do use GenieGo, however, for remote streaming, and thats much closer to meeting my needs becuase it gives me access to content I've already chosen to record.  the content they promote for live streaming is just never of interest.  BTW  If you want remote control of a receiver via your mobile device,  there are attractive options out there free in the playstore (I use one called "remote lite"). 

 

so... yea the remote streaming that is promoted for the directv app itself is about downloading content from the directv website to your device, and is restricted to only that content that they have chosen, licensed or is legal for them to do so.  GenieGo is an altogether different solution requiring a separate piece of hardware on your home network that transcodes recorded DVR content into low resolution format, and  either uploads it to your mobile device while OOH via the pubilc internet, or downloads a copy onto your device via your home network.

 

ALso,  I saw a comment earlier about an IP interface to the power distribution in the home.  at best, this may or may not work, i.e YMMV and I dont think it is supported by Directv.  at worst, it will be unreliable and in any case it wikl place all of your network activity onto the power distribution wires in your home, which of course do not stop at the boundaries of your property :-)


Edited by dlleno, 23 November 2013 - 05:07 PM.


#53 OFFLINE   peds48

peds48

    🙈🙉🙊📡

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 13,898 posts
  • LocationLong Island, NY
Joined: Jan 10, 2008

Posted 23 November 2013 - 04:55 PM

I logged out of the app and signed back in and then had to manually enter in my IP address. That worked at least for the HR34. 

 

1. Are all shows in the playlist supposed to be viewable on a phone/tablet? I tried two different ones and it says the "show is currently not available On Demand on your Phone." 

 

2. I thought the point of having the playlist available on the app was so you could watch recorded content on any device. Is DirecTV requiring the purchase of a GenieGo just to view content in an individual's playlist on a mobile device while on his or her home network? If so, that seems to defeat the purpose of allowing the playlist to be viewed in the app. 

1. Because you need the GenieGo 

2. The playlist is there so you can use it as a "remote". find your show on the playlist and select "watch on TV"


Here’s to the crazy ones.
The misfits. The rebels.
The the troublemakers.
The round pegs in the square holes.

The ones who see things different.
They’re not fond of rules, and they have no respect for the status quo.


Think Differently 

#54 OFFLINE   VelvetUn

VelvetUn

    Mentor

  • Registered
  • 40 posts
Joined: Aug 02, 2007

Posted 25 November 2013 - 07:03 AM

1. Because you need the GenieGo 

2. The playlist is there so you can use it as a "remote". find your show on the playlist and select "watch on TV"

Thank you for clarifying. 



#55 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,361 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 25 November 2013 - 07:24 AM

 

It takes about 30 seconds for the app to find the receiver.  perhaps you are not waiting long enough.....

 

After I posted, I also had the same log-in problem.  The receiver is grayed-out and I need to reenter the IP address.  I have an HR24-100 receiver.  The app works great once I can link it to the receiver.  As I mentioned in my post, setup instructions would be helpful.

It sounds like something other than the app itself is causing issues...as I see none of those symptoms.

 

What is known is that the firmware on certain HD DVRs might impact app operation...at least until a fix is implemented.

 

A few considerations:

 

1) Try rebooting the HD DVR that is showing a delay in connectivity.

2) Try rebooting the device with the app on it.

3) IF #1 and #2 don't change the results...try a reinstall of the latest DirecTV app for your device.


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#56 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,361 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 25 November 2013 - 07:28 AM

Your complaint seems to be the number one complaint in the reviews about this recent update. Seems everyone using this update has the same issue. Then there is a tie between the pathetic remote and streaming is broken. Directv needs to issue a update to fix these issues.

Yet not everyone is seeing these same symptoms. This has not happened at all - yesterday it was being used for more than 6 hours without any of these things occurring. That implies something else (besides the app) might be contributing, otherwise everyone would see the same thing...and all the time.


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#57 OFFLINE   mrdobolina

mrdobolina

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
  • LocationA Mile High
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 26 November 2013 - 09:50 AM

I was having the same issues with the latest update to the DirecTV app.  I updated the app, and it was no longer detecting my receivers.  I put in each receiver's IP address and validated them which got it working.  Next time I used the app, it again did not see any of my receivers.  Last night I cleared all data, deleted the app, and reinstalled it.  Immediately after I logged in to the app, it saw all of my receivers without me having to validate IPs.

 

I use a Samsung GS III.


DirecTV Customer Since 1997

#58 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,269 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 26 November 2013 - 10:36 AM

Yet not everyone is seeing these same symptoms. This has not happened at all - yesterday it was being used for more than 6 hours without any of these things occurring. That implies something else (besides the app) might be contributing, otherwise every.

 

And that may not be true for everyone having issues.  As the post above this seems to indicate just updating without clearing the cache maybe the issue, which is an issue connected with the app update. If clearing the cache is required for the proper functioning of the app then the developers failed to included that bit of information in the update information. 


Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#59 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,361 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 26 November 2013 - 11:13 AM

And that may not be true for everyone having issues.  As the post above this seems to indicate just updating without clearing the cache maybe the issue, which is an issue connected with the app update. If clearing the cache is required for the proper functioning of the app then the developers failed to included that bit of information in the update information. 

Thanks - agree.

 

My point was there could be secondary obstacles, and you named a good one as an example.


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#60 OFFLINE   acostapimps

acostapimps

    Hall Of Famer

  • Registered
  • 1,866 posts
  • LocationIllinois
Joined: Nov 05, 2011

Posted 30 November 2013 - 06:38 PM

When I try to use the Directv android app and go to the remote control icon, it says "no receivers found" Then I tried to manually add ip address for each receiver but it doesn't work, all it shows is the loading screen and nothing else, I checked streaming on cellular but nothing works in regards to networked receiver detection, But when I use the app again using wifi it instantly recognize it, meaning it works on wifi but not on cellular 4G LTE, Using on Note 2.


Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I317 using DBSTalk mobile app


Directv Genie DVR HR44-700
Directv HD DVR HR24-500
Directv HD Receiver H24-200
Directv Wireless Mini Client C41W-100 (Deactivated)
Directv Standard SD Receiver D12-700 

SWM 16  SWM 8-Way Splitter  SWM 2-Way Splitter  Slimline 5LNB  

Directv Subscriber From 2009-?


#61 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,269 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 01 December 2013 - 05:10 AM

In the app description it is stated that wifi is needed for certain functions, the remote is one of those functions.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#62 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,269 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 01 December 2013 - 08:00 AM

It appears that the update to the update fixed the issue. After clearing the cache, which didn't solve the ip retention issue before the recent first update, fixed the ip search and retention.
Interestingly, the app for tablets has always found and retained the ip addresses of my dvrs on my Note2. Now both apps work fine.


Edited by BubblePuppy, 03 December 2013 - 03:13 PM.

Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#63 OFFLINE   hdtvfan0001

hdtvfan0001

    Hall Of Fame

  • DBSTalk Club
  • 32,361 posts
Joined: Jul 28, 2004

Posted 01 December 2013 - 08:16 AM

It appears that the update to the update fixed the issue. After clearing the cache, which didn't solve the ip retention issue before the recent first update.
Interestingly, the app for tablets has always found and retained the ip addresses of my dvrs on my Note2. Now both apps work fine.

Same experiences here.


DBSTalk CHAT ROOM MODERATOR
DirecTV Customer Since 1996

#64 OFFLINE   marty45714

marty45714

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 01:06 PM

I seem to still be having the issue even after taking the November 26th update, plus clearing the data and cache. Can you tell me what I need to do? I still have to put in the IP address manually each time I start the app, or the receiver will remain greyed out.



#65 OFFLINE   mrdobolina

mrdobolina

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 345 posts
  • LocationA Mile High
Joined: Aug 28, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 02:10 PM

Perhaps clear data/cache and then uninstall and reinstall the app, marty.  That's what worked for me. 


DirecTV Customer Since 1997

#66 OFFLINE   marty45714

marty45714

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 03:32 PM

I'm gonna give this a shot tonight. Some even suggested a reboot in between. It won't hurt anything...



#67 OFFLINE   BubblePuppy

BubblePuppy

    Good night dear Smoke... love you & "got your butt...&a

  • Registered
  • 5,269 posts
Joined: Nov 03, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 06:47 PM

There is a new update to the previous updates that is supposed to fix the ip retention and detection issues. Just downloaded it but haven't tried it yet.
Thanks to Google search, people can appear to be smarter than they really are.

#68 OFFLINE   thebigeazy

thebigeazy

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 48 posts
  • LocationSouth Louisiana
Joined: May 12, 2006

Posted 03 December 2013 - 08:04 PM

The app updated tonight and it does fix the ip retention issue.  It is running an an ASUS 7" Memo tablet with no problems.  



#69 OFFLINE   marty45714

marty45714

    Godfather

  • Registered
  • 417 posts
Joined: Dec 15, 2006

Posted 04 December 2013 - 08:20 PM

Just confirming what others have shared. I deleted the cache and data for the app, reinstalled the app, and since verifying my IP address once, it is now reconnecting to the receiver every time I restart the app. Thanks everyone for the suggestions.

Sent from my SM-N900V using DBSTalk mobile app



#70 OFFLINE   Struff

Struff

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 62 posts
Joined: Dec 23, 2008

Posted 08 December 2013 - 06:23 PM

I have two HD DVRs on my network and neither my primary phone or primary tablet have EVER found either unless I manually enter the IP addresses every time. 



#71 OFFLINE   balboadave

balboadave

    Legend

  • Registered
  • 196 posts
Joined: Mar 03, 2010

Posted 09 December 2013 - 11:30 PM

There are two DirecTV apps. The one for tablets worked for me perfectly. It even worked on my phone, although the screen didn't fit. The updated phone app would not recognize my WiFi network, and forgot the settings when entered manually. I deleted the phone app, re-installed it, and it works like it should, recognizing my receivers right away.


  • Struff likes this

#72 OFFLINE   Bohica

Bohica

    Cool Member

  • Registered
  • 32 posts
Joined: Jan 05, 2008

Posted 10 December 2013 - 02:22 PM

Where is the default Android storage location for the GenieGo app?   I can seem to find it with my file explorer.



#73 OFFLINE   kbxm

kbxm

    AllStar

  • Registered
  • 66 posts
Joined: Mar 15, 2007

Posted 28 January 2014 - 01:15 PM

I'm still having issues with the Android app and was wondering if anyone had any suggestions on getting it working.  Keep in mind the iPhone and iPad apps both work fine.

 

The app sees the IP but if I try to stream all but a small number of programs it tells me that I have to enable access (which has already been done) and tells me that "No Connected Receivers Found".  If I go into the settings it shows the IP status as Valid/Found Receiver.

 

Signal strength is not an issue nor is network speed in the house, I'm wired for gigabit and have the wireless point in my office about 15 feet LOS to the device.

 

I've done pretty much everything listed here.  Cleared the cache, deleted and re-installed the app etc.  Still no go.

 

If anyone has any other suggestions, I'm all ears.

 

Thx

 



#74 OFFLINE   hasan

hasan

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 5,920 posts
  • LocationOgden, IA
Joined: Sep 22, 2006

Posted 07 February 2014 - 11:50 AM

I just checked the version on my Galaxy S4 and it is version 3.3.005

 

It picks up all 3 of my DVrs (HR44 and 2 HR24s)

 

I have scheduled recordings with the app and watched some live TV with it, without issue.

 

I haven't found a single program from my Playlist that says anything other than, "This show is currently not available On Demand on your Phone", when I attempt to "Watch on Phone"

 

So, watching some stuff live from the Guide works fine, but watching my own recordings does not appear to work...it doesn't look buggy, it looks like something is missing from the process to actually let me watch my own recordings.

(I am on WIFI, in the house). I really don't care much about that feature, as I'm unlikely to watch TV on a screen that small.


...hasan, N0AN

SlimLine5-SWiMLNB/DECA/WHDVR
HR44-700, WD20EURX 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Max 5 Enclosure

HR24-200, WD20EVDS 2 TB eSATA/ThermalTake Dock
HR24-200, H21-200. Samsung UN60C6400 60" LED/LCD
DirecTV since 1995

#75 OFFLINE   Beerstalker

Beerstalker

    Hall Of Fame

  • Registered
  • 3,200 posts
Joined: Feb 09, 2009

Posted 07 February 2014 - 12:02 PM

You need a Genie Go in order to watch your recordings on your phone/tablet.


Sometimes when I reflect back on all the beer I drink I feel ashamed. Then I look into the glass and think about the workers in the brewery and all of their hopes and dreams. If I didn’t drink this beer, they might be out of work and their dreams would be shattered. Then I say to myself, "It is better that I drink this beer and let their dreams come true than be selfish and worry about my liver."
-by Jack Handy




Protected By... spam firewall...And...